We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gaia Porto Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gaia Porto Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Semiliguda
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed for two nights in a double room and it was a pleasure! Everyone who is thinking, that this Hostel might be not exactly in the centre of action is definitely right, but it is also true, that you can sleep with open windows, and have a breathtaking view from the rooftop-terrace at Portos old town. And with breakfast included its quit a deal.

To the metro its just five minutes, and to the old town, you can take the "Ponte Luis I" with its amazing bridge which makes every walk there a pleasure. Even if you walk slowly and enjoy the view, you will be there in less than 30 Minutes, if you are one of the faster ones, you might do it in 20 Minutes or less. And at night, the light + river is just awesome!

Room Tip: We had the room on the first floor and where more than happy, but I can imagine, that the room at to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GermaninIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
108
29
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Amazing stay in this hostel, ultimate hospitable owners. Personal care, very clean, great view and terrace on the roof top. The place to meet new people and enjoy Porto to the fullest! The breakfast is great, especially when Marta prepares a wonderful chocolate cake. Everyday I met people from different nationalities and the owners are very open-minded. The room is very clean and the beds are good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IJsebaert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Having seen the amazing reviews on TripAdvisor, it seemed too good to be true. Actually, I now understand. From the welcome (Joao met us at the airport), to the lovely rolls at breakfast, to the very high quality and excellent condition of all furniture and fittings, to the garden overlooking Porto...

Well done Joao and Marta for the standard that you have set and maintain. Keep it up!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Farmlabourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

I have been travelling for the last 2 years around the world and have stayed in many hostels. This was the best one - it is bright, fresh, quiet, good facilities, fantastic views from the roof terraces and super friendly hosts. A friend and I stayed 3 nights in the bunk rooms and in the double room. The best experience was having a picnic dinner on one of the 4 terraces, enjoying local port served by Joao and his father with a wonderful view over Porto at night. Joao was very helpful with directions to local restaurants and sights and was always there if you needed anything. Great place if you prefer a quiet hostel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliaexternal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

It`s already the second time I stay here in the Hostel and I really have to say that I love it. It`s such a beautiful,cosy and clean place. The hostel has three amazing roof terraces. where you have an amazing view all over the city. The owners are more than friendly and day by day you see that they put all their energy and love in this hostel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Els0lita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Vlaams-Brabant, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

There are a lot of different words you could describe this hostel with, but the one we prefer is 'AMAZING'. From arrival to leaving the hostel, we were astonished by how much love and kindness we received from Joao and Marta. They were there every single blink of an eye to make sure we got the best experience out of our stay. Rooms are lovely decorated and tidy, bathrooms looked like they were stolen from a 5 star hotel, and last but not least: the fantastic view from the terrace over the city of Porto. This is definitely the most beautiful hostel we visited in Portugal, and probably one of the cheapest too. We would recommend this hostel to everyone looking for a cosy experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

I many hostels that I have been into I allways saw something that should be improved.... In this one there was no such thing, everything was just perfect. Beautiful, comfirtable rooms, amazing teraces and very king hosts. And good price too!
It imroved our Porto expirience a lot, that much that we unplaned stay a bit longer :)
thumbs up for Villa Nova de Gaia hostel!

Room Tip: manage with manager :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lukas08669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila Nova de Gaia
0.1 mi away
The Yeatman
The Yeatman
#1 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,589 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Porto River Apartments
Porto River Apartments
#3 of 103 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia
#2 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cliphotel Gaia Porto
Cliphotel Gaia Porto
#6 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaia Porto Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaia Porto Hostel

Property: Gaia Porto Hostel
Address: Rua Candido dos Reis 374 376, Vila Nova de Gaia 4400-070, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Vila Nova de Gaia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Vila Nova de Gaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Gaia Porto Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GaiaPorto Hostel is a friendly house, where you can stay and have a nice journey in Gaia and Oporto cities. You have the best views to oporto city,and you are near the most important port winw companies, where you can taste our best port wine. You are 5min walking from Douro River where you can catch a boat and have a nice trip along the river. You are 5 min walking from Metro station(General Torres)from where you are in Oporto Center in 5min. In this hostel you have nice and friendly people just taking care of you and making your stay the best you have in the last years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Gaia Porto Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaia Porto Hostel Portugal/Vila Nova De Gaia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing