We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gaia Porto Hostel
Nearby Hotels
Mercure Porto Gaia(Vila Nova de Gaia)
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Black Tulip(Vila Nova de Gaia)
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia(Vila Nova de Gaia)
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Novotel Porto Gaia(Vila Nova de Gaia)
US$97
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Porto Gaia(Vila Nova de Gaia)(Great Value!)
US$72
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cliphotel(Vila Nova de Gaia)(Great Value!)
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Park Hotel Porto Gaia(Vila Nova de Gaia)(Great Value!)
US$60
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Ibis Budget Vila Nova De Gaia(Vila Nova de Gaia)(Great Value!)
US$51
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$49
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Yeatman(Vila Nova de Gaia)
US$622
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (242)
Filter reviews
242 results
Traveller rating
232
7
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
232
7
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswonderful view of the cityport wineshared bathroomthe rivermiddle aged couplerooftop terracedouble roomwonderful hostsshort walkhome away from hometwo night staywelcome drinkstayed here for three nightswould definitely stay here againevery morningperfect staycity centre
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 242 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the Hostel Gaia Porto in March 2014 and we had a wonderful time. We had a warm welcome and joined one evening for a wonderful local dinner.
Everything was totally clean, we had a charming room and from the terrace a good view over the city.
The owners Joao and Marta are really nice and give good advice what to do and see in the city.
Probably the best hostel I have been to.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

GaiaPorto was a great choice!! It is the perfect hostel for a week-end trip in Porto. I had never been welcomed that good in a hostel before. The hosts are so friendly, give good advices. We had a great portugese dinner and drank good wine :-) The hostel looks great inside, rooms are clean, breakfast is good... there is a garden in summer where you can do a barbecue or have breakfast. It is very well located near the metro, you can also walk to downtown. I cannot think of any negative thing! We paid only 20€ per person for a double room. It's very good value for money. We recommend this hostel for anyone that goes on a trip to Porto!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We have visited about 15 countries in Europe and have travelled a lot all over the world and staying in hostels and b&bs, I can say that this place is at the TOP of our list. We have loved our stay from the moment we got here. We were welcomed with good glasses of port wine and cookies, and then got to see the beautiful and clean room we had. The room and bed was clean (impeccably clean)and comfortable, the views from the terraces are amazing, the service from the owners is impeccable.
The hostel is in a great location. It was easy to get there by public transit, and we walked everywhere our entire stay. It is close to the port wine cellars, so it is easy to walk from place to place (and drink:) without having to worry about transport (driving especially). We also walked easily across the bridge to porto city.
The owners were very welcoming, giving us impeccable service, (in many languages, French and English), recommending great places for us to see. They even prepared breakfast earlier than usual just for us because we had an early tour.
The breakfast is very good, with breads and jams and cold cuts, coffee and tea, all in their beautiful kitchen with good and relaxing music.
This place was so peaceful, we got to relax and forget about our hectic lives at home the moment we got here.
Thank you to marta and Joao for our wonderfull stay!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alias44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed 4 nights in Hostel Gaia Porto in March 2014 and this was a very good decision! We arrived at night and got a warm welcome, hot tea and even something to eat! Our room was as good as new, everything was absolutely clean (also the bath room). You could have eaten from the floor.

The owner of the hostel Marta and João are so warm and welcoming people. You will get the best tips where to eat, the best tours for sight-seeing etc... If you have any question you can always come to them and they will help you. They do their job with passion - you can feel that in many details. One of the best points about the hostel is the garden. After climbing the stairs, there are quite a lot of them, you will be rewarded with a great view to the historical city of Porto. By enjoying a Caipi Porto (you should try one or two or three in the Hostel), it is one of the best places in the city. If you get the possibility to take part in dinner they offer, you should really snap the chance. Then you will get delicious (Marta is a good cook!) food and drinks for a very good price. So you will really get to know Portugal better.

All in all we had a amazing stay and will come back soon!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anja H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

People in Porto are lovely, and they are exemplified by Joao and his family at Gaia Porto hostel.

To begin with, there had been a mistake and we had been able to book an entire room for £10! It should have been £20, for two of us, but Joao said he would honour the price we had booked at. He carried our suitcases upstairs, gave us free drinks and an incredible breakfast, and we realised we had to pay the proper price because £20 for two of us is an incredible bargain, let alone half that! And Joao wasn't going t otake it, we had to insist. These people are very kind and would never rip you off - the principle in operation in Porto seems to be one of generosity, kindness and respect.

I have to say hat the place was gorgeous and very homely. It was decorated to a standard I have never seen before in a hostel. And the roof gardens - well you just have to see them! On this trip we discovered that Porto really is best viewed from the Gaia side of the river. So next time we're heading back to this place!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missmittens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews