We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonder Oporto Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Vila Nova de Gaia
Certificate of Excellence
Bend, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
464 reviews
239 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 364 helpful votes
“Wonder Oporto Hotel”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

If you drive to Oporto this a great option. I found it hard to imagine what one would do with a car if you stayed in the narrow street filled center of Oporto. We were here for 3 nights. We parked the car right in front of the hotel (no charge) and left it there. One can get across the river by taxi or walk to the metro, just 15-20 minutes away. The walk is not that bad (we are in our 60's). We had a room on the Executive Floor and loved the view of the city. Staff spoke great English and were very helpful. The internet worked great and breakfast was quite good. They have a huge breakfast room and can accommodate large numbers. My only small irritation was that the air conditioning took a long time to really get the room at a decent temperature and it still felt a bit stuffy. Otherwise this is a great property to consider.

Room Tip: A view of the city is quite nice. All rooms are at least on the 12th. floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank highdesertbadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn Por... H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia.

Thank you for giving such detailed information about how to travel around from our Hotel. We know how important that is to our dear Guests. Effectively it is really easy and fast to get to Porto or other cities.

We are really glad to know you appreciated the spectacular view of your bedroom, where you can see the Douro River and Ribeira and, in fact, all the entire city of Porto and, on the left horizon, the sea.

Thank you for mentioning our staff. They were very happy to read your review.

We are also glad you appreciated our breakfast and internet service.

Once again, thank you for your kind review. We hope to receive you again soon.

Best regards,
Rita Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    326
    80
    13
    9
See reviews for
166
256
34
185
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kennewick, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We had a very nice stay, used our points and treated well. Room was large suite with fantastic view. Close to buses, taxis waiting. It was a 15 minute walk downhill to catch the hop on hop off bus at the El Corte Ingles shopping center. The staff was the best world wide. This hotel is mostly used for business , so quiet at times, but really lovely.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimsterandPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn Por... H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia.

We are glad to know you appreciated our staff. Your words are very important for our Team and all our Team members were delighted to read your review. It motivates us all to keep doing a good job and always provide an excellent service.

Thank you for mentioning the hotel’s localization and the easy access to transportation. It is really very easy to get anywhere and fast to Porto or other cities.

Once again, thank you for your kind review. We hope to receive you again soon.

Best regards,
Rita Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in a family duplex room. Really good for families, two double rooms, 2 bathrooms and a lounge. Everything very clean and comfortable. Breakfast very good choice and quality. Hotel staff friendly and knowledgable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 463DaniA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn Por... H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia.

We are delighted to know you and your family felt comfortable at our family suite and enjoyed our breakfast.

Our staff was really happy with your acknowledgement of their good work and friendliness and hope to receive you again soon.

Best regards,
Rita Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vila Nova de Gaia, Porto, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

I was in this hotel in the last month (from 25th to 28th) with my family to spend my holidays. I arrived at this hotel without a reservation, was a taxi driver who suggested me to stay there and in fact the hotel is doing really good. The lobby is very spacious and the staff, specially from the front desk, was really helpfull. I stayed in a riverview room and the view is magnificient, the rooms are ok, nice bed and tv. The breakfast is also good.

We wanted to try the spa but there was no time for it but we had dinner in the restaurant in the last night and we asked for a steak, gotta say that it was really good and was cooked right in front of us.

Room Tip: Try the riverview rooms, the views are magnificient
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ilídio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn Por... H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia.

We appreciate your kind comments about our hotel, breakfast and restaurant. If you have the time, next time please doesn’t miss the SPA.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write your kind review.

We hope to receive you again soon.

Best regards,
Carla Inácio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acton, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

I will be staying here the end of March before embarking on a river cruise. Could someone please tell me how far this hotel is from the cruise terminal at the Cais de Gaia? Is there also a recommended city tour I could take? Any guidance would be appreciated.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank travelqueen26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn Por... H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Dear future Guest,

Thank you for your preference and interest in our Hotel.

Holiday Inn Porto Gaia is located only 5 minutes away from the cruise terminal at Cais de Gaia. You can take a taxi right in front of the Hotel and the price is very low.

There are also very nearby city tour stops. Our Staff members, and myself, will be glad to help you with the reservations and other suggestions once you arrive.

See you soon!

Best regards,
Rita Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Obidos, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

The location is very good and convenient, the view to Oporto and the Douro river from the top floors is quite amazing. The rooms are very good and all the decoration of the Hotel very interesting. The staff very friendly and efficient.

Room Tip: Ask the top floors with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank antonio c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn Por... H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia.

We are pleased to know you enjoyed our Hotel and its convenient location just a few minutes away from Porto.

We are also glad you appreciated our comfortable and spacious bedrooms and their astonishing view to Ribeira and the Douro River.

Thank you for mentioning our interesting decoration. It was designed to be comfortable, so you can relax and be yourself. We hope you have felt like you were at home.

Our Team was delighted to read your review mentioning they are friendly and efficient. It is an important motivation for all of us to keep working hard to keep providing an excellent service.

Once again, thank you for your kind review. We all hope to receive you again soon.

Best regards,
Rita Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

After a long trip we were welcomed, with a smile, a glass of port and a an upgrade, who could ask for more from a hotel. Will definitely stay here again, not completely central but an easy jump to the centre and avoids crazy parking costs in the centre of Porto.

Room Tip: Higher room obviously have a great view, we were lucky with large corner suite so could see al over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kifus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn Por... H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia.

We are pleased to know you appreciated the way our Team welcomed you.

We hope to receive again soon.

Best regards,
Rita Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila Nova de Gaia
0.7 mi away
The Yeatman
The Yeatman
#1 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
1,725 reviews
1.9 mi away
Novotel Porto Gaia
Novotel Porto Gaia
#4 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
1,034 reviews
1.5 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
6.7 mi away
Hotel Solverde Spa & Wellness Center
Hotel Solverde Spa & Wellness Ce...
#6 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
466 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cliphotel Gaia Porto
Cliphotel Gaia Porto
#7 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Porto Gaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Porto Gaia

Property: Holiday Inn Porto Gaia
Address: Rua Diogo Macedo 220, Vila Nova de Gaia 4400-107, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Vila Nova de Gaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#2 Family Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#2 Spa Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#5 Business Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Porto Gaia 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Holiday Inn Porto Gaia and enjoy the magnificent views over the Vila Nova Gaia and Porto cities. The Holiday Inn Porto Gaia is a four star deluxe hotel located in the heart of Vila Nova de Gaia - Porto. The hotel is only a short distance from the worldwide famous port wine cellars, the historical city center of Oporto, blue flag beaches and also train and metro station. We welcome you into our inviting and ample lobby where you can enjoy different sensations. Try the flavors of typical Portuguese food in our restaurant and bar "Food & Friends." Our rooms and suites are the perfect place to disconnect from the outside world and appreciate the small details like the complimentary internet access. Our executive floor located on the 22nd floor is an experience that you need to try. All the bedrooms located in this floor have access to the executive lounge, to the gym and the amazing panoramic view over the river Douro and the cities of Vila Nova de Gaia e Porto. The hotel Holiday Inn is the perfect choice for your meeting or event. We have at your disposal a congress center with 1500 m2 and 16 meeting rooms equipped with stat of the art audiovisual technology and a group of specialized professionals that will help you. Its strategic location with Porto Congress center, the short distance from the Trade Fair Centers - Exponor and Europarque and the airport Sá Carneiro make Holiday Inn Porto Gaia the perfect choice for leisure as well as business trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Porto Gaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia Hotel Vila Nova De Gaia
Melia Hotel Gaia Porto
Sol Melia Gaia Porto
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia Portugal/Vila Nova De Gaia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing