We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia
Nearby Hotels
Ibis Porto Gaia(Vila Nova de Gaia)(Great Value!)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mercure Porto Gaia(Vila Nova de Gaia)
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Novotel Porto Gaia(Vila Nova de Gaia)
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Black Tulip(Vila Nova de Gaia)
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Ibis Budget Vila Nova De Gaia(Vila Nova de Gaia)(Great Value!)
US$51
ibis Budget
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cliphotel(Vila Nova de Gaia)(Great Value!)
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Park Hotel Porto Gaia(Vila Nova de Gaia)(Great Value!)
US$63
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
The Yeatman(Vila Nova de Gaia)
US$623
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$144
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (866)
Filter reviews
866 results
Traveller rating
399
358
85
14
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
399
358
85
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverroom servicemetro stationfantastic citybusiness hotelreception staffhotel is beautifulcity centreminute walkbusiness tripliving roomstar hotellarge roomclose to the hotelrental carold cityby foot
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
173 - 178 of 866 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Wow - it was the biggest room we got in Portugal. The family suite is really comfortable, unfortunately ours was without balcony. The only shortcoming was a bit noisy air condition, which of course you're able to turn off.
The breakfast was great with a very good selection. Kids were pleased with variety of sweet rolls.
The lobby area is very stylish.
It is not located it the tourist area, but walk to the center is easy and not long.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank leigif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn Por... H, Gerente de relações com clientes at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment regarding Holiday Inn Porto Gaia. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team’s efforts and takes the time to write a comment. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make Holiday Inn Porto Gaia a leader in excellence.

Thank you for your comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Best regards,

Rita Cruz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Stayed in the 2bed family duplex suite for 5 nights over Xmas.

Aside from a few minor glitches (heating in the ensuite bedroom was not working properly, not the easiest access by car without gps, main bathroom downstairs far from the bedrooms which means kids have to go down the steps in the middle of the night or enter the parents room if they need the toilet), the experience was fabulous. Views of the city from the 12th floor are breathtaking, 2 bed family suite room is enormous and literally a 2 bed flat in a hotel, staff is excellent, responsive, respectful, attentive, fast and smily, all the usual excellence you often find in Portugal.

Value for money is impressive for families and food is really good in the restaurant.

A memorable experience to be repeated. Best Holiday Inn I have ever stayed in.

Highly recommended as nothing comes close to it for value for money

Room Tip: 2 bed family suite if you're travelling with kids. Your children will love it no doubt Views are breathtaking
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank genevatopreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn Por... H, Gerente de relações com clientes at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment regarding Holiday Inn Porto Gaia. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your stay last Christmas.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgement of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team’s efforts and takes the time to write a comment. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make Holiday Inn Porto Gaia a leader in excellence.

Once again, thank you for your comment. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again in the future.

Best regards,

Rita Cruz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Enjoyed our stay in a Suite during the Christmas Period. It was my 75 birthday and the staff made a fuss of me. We had an excellent meal in the dining room, which was sadly very empty on the night of the 26 th Dec. Service as a result was 100% spot on. We enjoyed our three days in Oporto, lovely city and so much to see. The location was very good and just a short taxi ride from the action. Could have walked had the weather been kinder. Would certainly use this hotel again. We stayed on an offer which was good value for money and even had an upgrade. Staff all very nice and this made the holiday. Well done.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view. the view of Porto at night is fantastic from this elevation
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrankCoimbra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn Por... H, Gerente de relações com clientes at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment regarding Holiday Inn Porto Gaia. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgement of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team’s efforts and takes the time to write a comment. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make Holiday Inn Porto Gaia a leader in excellence.

Thank you for your comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Best regards,

Rita Cruz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Above average for the brand, still having some limitations to be considered premium as plain breakfast, poor wifi signal in the room or too tiny gim.
The room was huge and very comfortable, very nice sleep quality. Very competitive price too.
The hotel is out of Oporto downtown, not maybe the best option to explore the city but very well located for a business traveller. Also in walking distance to El Corte Ingles, the best department store by far in the city.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ercole_Sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn Por... H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment regarding Holiday Inn Porto Gaia. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your experience during your recent stay.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target areas to improve. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to progress.

Once again, thank you for your comments. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make Holiday Inn Porto Gaia a leader in excellence.

We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Best regards,

Rita Cruz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Had a mini break here to explore Porto. Price was very reasonable however the hotel is a little bit out from the action (but within walking distance or short metro ride as others have said). Very pleasant lobby and staff keen to help. The room was a good size and was kept immaculately clean throughout our stay. Drinks and food were pricey compared to outside (there is a suburban shopping street a few minutes walk away with lots of cafes and a couple of good restaurants), but was not at all unusual for a 4* hotel. Quiet neighbourhood and good beds gave a great nights sleep. Did not get a river view but looked west at the gorgeous sunset over the sea.

There were a couple of minor detractions - the hotel seemed to keep very tight reins on tea and coffee. I had to ask for a second cup, coffee, sugar and milk each day and gave up after the second to buy a carton of milk in the supermarket. - worse than a travelodge! The small pool was offered as a spa for 15 euros an hour for guests - no other swimming pool was available which was strange for the huge size of the hotel.

Otherwise though I would return without a doubt.

Room Tip: Overlook Porto on high floors or if not the sunset on west side
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nr8209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn Por... H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment regarding Holiday Inn Porto Gaia. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgement of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team’s efforts and takes the time to write a comment. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make Holiday Inn Porto Gaia a leader in excellence.

The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, also enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for your comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Best regards,

Rita Cruz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews