We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Cliphotel(Vila Nova de Gaia)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Black Tulip(Vila Nova de Gaia)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Yeatman(Vila Nova de Gaia)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Park Hotel Porto Gaia(Vila Nova de Gaia)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (866)
Filter reviews
866 results
Traveller rating
399
358
85
14
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
399
358
85
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverroom servicemetro stationfantastic citybusiness hotelreception staffhotel is beautifulcity centreminute walkbusiness tripliving roomstar hotellarge roomclose to the hotelrental carold cityby foot
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
161 - 166 of 866 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This hotel is located in Gaia on the South side of the Douro river, about 40-45 minutes walk from central Porto, and about 30 minutes' walk from the old Port wine lodges. Alternatively, the excellent and cheap Metro system is a 15 minute walk from the Hotel (Euro 1.20 per journey for Zone 2 which covers central Porto out as far as the seaside town of Foz), and you can change Metro lines or hop on a bus to continue your journey so long as it is completed within the hour. The hotel itself, standing as it does on a hill, is visible from most of Porto, so a good landmark for fixing your position. The hotel itself is excellent: modern, stylish, with pleasant en-suite rooms (ask for a higher floor room with a river view for excellent panoramic views cross the city and river). Because the hotel is located in Gaia, where a lot of locals live, prices are cheaper than in central Porto so it is worth exploring the local area. We had breakfast at a bakery near the Metro station (Joao de Deus) where a coffee and freshly-baked croissant (often still warm from the oven) cost Euro 1.40, and became so well-known to staff that after a couple of days they brought us our order without even asking! Similarly, a local Chinese restaurant offered an excellent all-you-can-eat buffet for 12 Euros including drinks. El Corte Ingles department store is also adjacent to the local Metro station (with an entrance direct from the Metro station itself). The Reception staff in the hotel were very helpful with local information, and happily printed off our boarding cards for our onward flights. The hotel also has a very pleasant, spacious bar lounge area near Reception and also a few tables on an outdoor terrace near the main entrance. I would not recommend this hotel for those who do not like walking or for the less mobile; however, if you don't mind a short walk to the Metro, or even a longer walk after breakfast downhill to the beautiful river gorge that Porto stands on, I recommend this hotel: the local neighbourhood will give a more authentic experience of Porto in contrast to the scenic city centre and World Heritage area. It has a very nice spa too where use of the hydrotherapy pool, sauna and steam room costs only Euros 15 per person for hotel residents. A relaxing and reviving alternative to sightseeing in case of a rainy day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor with a river view.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller31B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn Por... H, Gerente de relações com clientes at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment regarding Holiday Inn Porto Gaia. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgement of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team’s efforts and takes the time to write a comment. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make Holiday Inn Porto Gaia a leader in excellence.

Thank you for your comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Best regards,

Rita Cruz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This hotel is in a residential area in Gaia on the south side of the river from Porto itself . For this reason it may not be suitable for the less active as it is at least a ten minute walk to the nearest metro station . Otherwise friendly staff and good sized rooms make this a really good place to stay as long as you are prepared to travel into Porto by taxi .

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank CanaryHucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn Por... H, Gerente de relações com clientes at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment regarding Holiday Inn Porto Gaia. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgement of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team’s efforts and takes the time to write a comment. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make Holiday Inn Porto Gaia a leader in excellence.

Thank you for your comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Best regards,

Rita Cruz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We spent two nights here earlier this month during our visit to Portugal. I am a Platinum Elite member with IHG so I try to stay in their properties when possible but was a bit apprehensive due to this hotel's distance from Oporto's center. However, it turned out to be the perfect choice. The hotel is a short walk [about 10 min] from the Metro and the views of Oporto across the river are stunning.

We stayed in a suite on the 19th floor and could not have been more pleased. The suite was HUGE, with separate living room and bedroom. The decor was somewhat traditional but everything was clean and well-kept. The bathroom was tasteful in dark green marble with dual sinks and separate toilet and bidet. Access to the Executive Lounge on the 22nd floor was also included; a small but comfy space with coffee and biscuits available.

The staff here was extremely friendly and spoke perfect English in case your Portuguese is rusty [or non-existent]. The lobby is a bit modern in design but somehow it worked to provide a cool experience for the senses.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn Por... H, Gerente de relações com clientes at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment regarding Holiday Inn Porto Gaia. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgement of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team’s efforts and takes the time to write a comment. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make Holiday Inn Porto Gaia a leader in excellence.

Thank you for your comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Best regards,

Rita Cruz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

A beautiful hotel, all glass and marble and very modern.
Hotel staff at the front desk were amazingly helpful and friendly.
Rooms were large and we overlooked the Duoro River, which was amazing.
Only downside was the restaurant. Food we ordered was minimal and service was almost non existant,and only 6 people in the restaurant.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the Duoro River. It was amazing.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathleenw920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn Por... H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment regarding your experience during your recent stay at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to my attention and apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced at our restaurant.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose Holiday Inn for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Rita Cruz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Spent a week in Holiday Inn Porto Gaia and had a great time.Customer service absolutely 1st class, really lovely friendly people. Taxis cheap and readily available.Would certainly recommend this hotel. Grahams Port Lodge really worth a visit, lunches avaible there if required. All in all excellent for 5 to 7 days stay and only 2 hour flight from Gatwick.

Uncle Reg,Lyn and Michelle

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Lyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn Por... H, Gerente de relações públicas at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment regarding Holiday Inn Porto Gaia. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgement of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team’s efforts and takes the time to write a comment. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make Holiday Inn Porto Gaia a leader in excellence.

Thank you for your comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Best regards,

Rita Cruz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews