We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good indeed, BUT...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Vila Nova de Gaia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed for two nights end of July 2014. Room excellent, service outstanding, restaurant very good, bar handy and well stocked, location out of center of old city, yet very good in my opinion, with very good taxy service. HOWEVER, the surprise came at check out: For international telephone call the charge was 4 yes FOUR Euros per minutes. That is about $5.50. The fact that I got a 40% reduction in charge does not change the price or the very bitter (80 Euro bitter) feeling. Also, charge of 3 Euro for use of a computer for 15 minutes is unreasonable, should be a service free of charge.
As a comparison: At Holiday Inn Lisbon, a few days later, international calls to same country were charged at 74 Euro cents a minute, a perfectly reasonable charge.

Room Tip: Unbelievable over charging of international telephone calls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JosefLav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn Por... H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your mention regarding Holiday Inn Porto Gaia. We appreciate you taking the time to comment your experience during your recent stay.

It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team’s efforts and takes the time to write a comment. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make Holiday Inn Porto Gaia a leader in excellence.

We are truly sorry to realize that you were not pleased with the solution provided at the time and for the inconvenience you may have experienced. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose Holiday Inn for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Rita Cruz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (830)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

150 - 156 of 830 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

Together with my friends we stayed at the Holiday Inn for two nights at the start of July 2014. The hotel is generally good. The rooms are spacious. However, there was some trouble with the electronic keys that did't always work and had to be changed twice. The breakfasts were good with the exception of the coffee which was really bad. We tried pressing all the buttons on the machine but the result was the same.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Marjal38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn Por... H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment regarding your experience during your recent stay at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to my attention and apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose Holiday Inn for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Rita Cruz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Chose this hotel, for our visit to Porto, what a good choice! We had an extremely comfortable room on the 20th floor, so had fantastic views over the river towards Porto and the town of Porto Gaia as well .Metro Station about 10-15 mins walk from the hotel right next to the Department store of El Corte Ingles. Only booked in the first instance for two nights but ended up staying for five nights. We got a red bus tour for two days 20 Euros which included being able to use the blue bus as well, a river cruise and a visit to Porto Cruz wine. Lots of small bakery shops, that also serve good coffee and delicious pastries.
The hotel itself is extremely clean and comfortable and the staff could not be more helpful, especially Carla Inacio the Reservations Manager, she was extremely efficient, pleasant and helpful certainly a credit to the Holiday Inn.
Will be sorry to leave, really enjoyed our stay here, would certainly recommend it to anyone wanting to visit the lovely town of Porto.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 20th floor have an excellent view. A corner room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ConnorDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn Por... H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment regarding Holiday Inn Porto Gaia. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgement of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team’s efforts and takes the time to write a comment. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make Holiday Inn Porto Gaia a leader in excellence.

Thank you for your comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Best regards,

Rita Cruz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This hotel is located in Gaia on the South side of the Douro river, about 40-45 minutes walk from central Porto, and about 30 minutes' walk from the old Port wine lodges. Alternatively, the excellent and cheap Metro system is a 15 minute walk from the Hotel (Euro 1.20 per journey for Zone 2 which covers central Porto out as far as the seaside town of Foz), and you can change Metro lines or hop on a bus to continue your journey so long as it is completed within the hour. The hotel itself, standing as it does on a hill, is visible from most of Porto, so a good landmark for fixing your position. The hotel itself is excellent: modern, stylish, with pleasant en-suite rooms (ask for a higher floor room with a river view for excellent panoramic views cross the city and river). Because the hotel is located in Gaia, where a lot of locals live, prices are cheaper than in central Porto so it is worth exploring the local area. We had breakfast at a bakery near the Metro station (Joao de Deus) where a coffee and freshly-baked croissant (often still warm from the oven) cost Euro 1.40, and became so well-known to staff that after a couple of days they brought us our order without even asking! Similarly, a local Chinese restaurant offered an excellent all-you-can-eat buffet for 12 Euros including drinks. El Corte Ingles department store is also adjacent to the local Metro station (with an entrance direct from the Metro station itself). The Reception staff in the hotel were very helpful with local information, and happily printed off our boarding cards for our onward flights. The hotel also has a very pleasant, spacious bar lounge area near Reception and also a few tables on an outdoor terrace near the main entrance. I would not recommend this hotel for those who do not like walking or for the less mobile; however, if you don't mind a short walk to the Metro, or even a longer walk after breakfast downhill to the beautiful river gorge that Porto stands on, I recommend this hotel: the local neighbourhood will give a more authentic experience of Porto in contrast to the scenic city centre and World Heritage area. It has a very nice spa too where use of the hydrotherapy pool, sauna and steam room costs only Euros 15 per person for hotel residents. A relaxing and reviving alternative to sightseeing in case of a rainy day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller31B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn Por... H, Gerente de relações com clientes at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment regarding Holiday Inn Porto Gaia. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgement of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team’s efforts and takes the time to write a comment. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make Holiday Inn Porto Gaia a leader in excellence.

Thank you for your comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Best regards,

Rita Cruz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This hotel is in a residential area in Gaia on the south side of the river from Porto itself . For this reason it may not be suitable for the less active as it is at least a ten minute walk to the nearest metro station . Otherwise friendly staff and good sized rooms make this a really good place to stay as long as you are prepared to travel into Porto by taxi .

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank CanaryHucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn Por... H, Gerente de relações com clientes at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment regarding Holiday Inn Porto Gaia. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgement of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team’s efforts and takes the time to write a comment. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make Holiday Inn Porto Gaia a leader in excellence.

Thank you for your comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Best regards,

Rita Cruz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We spent two nights here earlier this month during our visit to Portugal. I am a Platinum Elite member with IHG so I try to stay in their properties when possible but was a bit apprehensive due to this hotel's distance from Oporto's center. However, it turned out to be the perfect choice. The hotel is a short walk [about 10 min] from the Metro and the views of Oporto across the river are stunning.

We stayed in a suite on the 19th floor and could not have been more pleased. The suite was HUGE, with separate living room and bedroom. The decor was somewhat traditional but everything was clean and well-kept. The bathroom was tasteful in dark green marble with dual sinks and separate toilet and bidet. Access to the Executive Lounge on the 22nd floor was also included; a small but comfy space with coffee and biscuits available.

The staff here was extremely friendly and spoke perfect English in case your Portuguese is rusty [or non-existent]. The lobby is a bit modern in design but somehow it worked to provide a cool experience for the senses.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn Por... H, Gerente de relações com clientes at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment regarding Holiday Inn Porto Gaia. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgement of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team’s efforts and takes the time to write a comment. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make Holiday Inn Porto Gaia a leader in excellence.

Thank you for your comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Best regards,

Rita Cruz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

A beautiful hotel, all glass and marble and very modern.
Hotel staff at the front desk were amazingly helpful and friendly.
Rooms were large and we overlooked the Duoro River, which was amazing.
Only downside was the restaurant. Food we ordered was minimal and service was almost non existant,and only 6 people in the restaurant.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the Duoro River. It was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathleenw920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn Por... H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment regarding your experience during your recent stay at Holiday Inn Porto Gaia. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to my attention and apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced at our restaurant.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose Holiday Inn for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Rita Cruz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vila Nova de Gaia hotels
1.9 mi away
Novotel Porto Gaia
Novotel Porto Gaia
#6 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
1,083 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Solverde Spa & Wellness Center
Hotel Solverde Spa & Wellness Ce...
#5 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
510 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Yeatman
The Yeatman
#1 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
1,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Mercure Porto Gaia
Mercure Porto Gaia
#4 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
524 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cliphotel Gaia Porto
Cliphotel Gaia Porto
#8 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
542 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ibis Porto Gaia
Ibis Porto Gaia
#3 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Porto Gaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Porto Gaia

Address: Rua Diogo Macedo 220, Vila Nova de Gaia 4400-107, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Vila Nova de Gaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#2 Spa Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#2 Family Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#5 Business Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
Price Range: £68 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Porto Gaia 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Holiday Inn Porto Gaia and enjoy the magnificent views over the Vila Nova Gaia and Porto cities. The Holiday Inn Porto Gaia is a four star deluxe hotel located in the heart of Vila Nova de Gaia - Porto. The hotel is only a short distance from the worldwide famous port wine cellars, the historical city center of Oporto, blue flag beaches and also train and metro station. We welcome you into our inviting and ample lobby where you can enjoy different sensations. Try the flavors of typical Portuguese food in our restaurant and bar "Food & Friends." Our rooms and suites are the perfect place to disconnect from the outside world and appreciate the small details like the complimentary internet access. Our executive floor located on the 22nd floor is an experience that you need to try. All the bedrooms located in this floor have access to the executive lounge, to the gym and the amazing panoramic view over the river Douro and the cities of Vila Nova de Gaia e Porto. The hotel Holiday Inn is the perfect choice for your meeting or event. We have at your disposal a congress center with 1500 m2 and 16 meeting rooms equipped with stat of the art audiovisual technology and a group of specialized professionals that will help you. Its strategic location with Porto Congress center, the short distance from the Trade Fair Centers - Exponor and Europarque and the airport Sá Carneiro make Holiday Inn Porto Gaia the perfect choice for leisure as well as business trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Porto Gaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia Hotel Vila Nova De Gaia
Melia Hotel Gaia Porto
Sol Melia Gaia Porto
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia Portugal/Vila Nova De Gaia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing