We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Why do we go back?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Solverde Spa & Wellness Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Solverde Spa & Wellness Center
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Vila Nova de Gaia
Certificate of Excellence
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Why do we go back?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We have been going to Solverde regularly since it opened. It started life as a very modern luxurious hotel, aged a little to the extent of being almost dowdy. I am pleased to report on the basis of our last visit that it is regaining its former status. The changes are minor but meaningful - new carpets in some areas, re-tiling and superb poolside towels. The staff was always a strong point of the hotel but even here there is evidence of additional training. When our granddaughter needed to see a doctor staff on the desk did everything - and kept enquiring after her health after the consultation. By Portuguese standards the food may seem expensive but the superbly presented dinners are very cheap by British standards. Except for an awkward shower head I can think of no adverse points. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Go for a room with sea view balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    169
    69
    15
    7
See reviews for
122
172
13
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

A good hotel for a short break. The Internet is good and free. The parking is free for the car which is a plus. Despite being an old hotel, the rooms are new and are very comfortable. The SPA is very good. The gardens are good spaces for those with small children. Expected more from a 5 star hotel for breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank João Miguel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pishtico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed for 5 nights and picked the hotel for its location ( 30 minute train ride from Porto)
It was perfectly adequate for our stay.
The breakfast room certainly not a cattle market and it suited our taste.
We spent most of our days out walking into Esprinho and along the beach broadwalks either side of the hotel.
The staff were attentive and pleasant while we were in and around the hotel and on the one day we used the outdoor pool we enjoyed and we already knew it was salty sea water it was clean and the surrounding area of the pool was well manicured and kept.
While i generally agree it was not a 5 star hotel hey what do i know about 5 star hotels anyway having never stayed in one!!

Certainly they could improve the rooms with complimentary water and maybe tea/coffee making facilities but the room was big enough.

You see as you find and we found the hotel a very pleasant and reasonably priced place to be for our time there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pishtico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

No tea / coffee making facilities in room.

You have to wear a shower cap to use the pool indoors but you don't have to if you want to use the pool outdoors, both pools are sea water.

Extremely poor people / staff management. The lovely girl on the bar was doing drinks for room service / the pool area / the bar area and I even saw her doing breakfast service.

There are nowhere near enough staff for this hotel. I had a conversation with the duty manager who said they were at full occupancy, this was a lie as I asked a couple of other members of staff who said they were 40% full. The manager even admitted that this hotel should not be 5star, it should be a 4star.

No complimentary water in the room.

There is nowhere else to go in the area apart from Lidl supermarket and it's expensive to eat in the hotel.

This hotel has the setting and look of a 5star but is severely let down by poor management and lack of professionally trained staff.

Breakfast buffet is like a cattle market, nothing gets topped up and you start the day hungry and stressed out.

We went to the pool bar / restaurant, sat down for 10 mins then left because the poor chap was too busy making drinks for other people. Again, not enough staff.

The positive, on the first night we were invited to the Casino (owned by same company) where we got a 20% discount in the restaurant and a fantastic Brazilian show. Although no transport was provided, we had to pay for taxis both ways.

If you want 5 star, stay away as you will massively disappointed. We just stayed at Epic Sana in Lisbon which was a world apart from here, absolutely stunning and everything was executed perfectly.

Another positive is that it is close to the beach (which is why we came from Porto) but it's a ghost town, small and strange.

Couldn't wait to get back to Porto to be honest.

Get a refurb and a fresh management team!!!

Good Luck!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank mandb007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We have stayed here 3 times now first in 2008 then at about 4 year intervals. The Hotel is showing signs of age but this does not detract from the excellent service and facilities offered and if you book early you can get a very good deal. Food is good and the Bar has a very good multi lingual Barman who knows your order.
All in all a very pleasant stay as usual.

Room Tip: Try and get a sea facing room to enjoy the sun in the afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martenh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Had five great nights at this hotel in 446.
The staff are friendly and polite. The facilities are very good.
The restaurant is excellent quality and the menu of the day very good value.
The rooms are of a good size with great views of both nearby espinho and the ever changing sea.
A great stay even though the weather wasn't great

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank essexlizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Lovely spot outside the hustle and bustle of the city of Porto. Go for a place away from the city center, stay for the amazing spot right on the beach. The room was beautiful. We especially liked the way they curtained off the entrance to the balcony. The restaurant is absolutely first class. the food terrific and the service spot on.The breakfast buffet was extensive and the staff very helpful. Although we didn't have time to use the spa, it did look beautiful. The grounds of the hotel are lovely. I wish I had time to play mini golf, and the money to land my copter on the heliport!

Room Tip: The rooms that are closer to the beach feature ocean view - that is the balcony is sideways to the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila Nova de Gaia
7.4 mi away
The Yeatman
The Yeatman
#1 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Solverde
9.1 mi away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia
#2 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
7.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Porto Gaia Hotel and Spa
Golden Tulip Porto Gaia Hotel an...
#12 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
10.8 mi away
Furadouro Boutique Hotel Beach & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Solverde Spa & Wellness Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solverde Spa & Wellness Center

Property: Hotel Solverde Spa & Wellness Center
Address: Avenida de Liberdade 212 | São Félix da Marinha, Vila Nova de Gaia 4410-154, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Vila Nova de Gaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#3 Spa Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#4 Business Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#4 Family Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#5 Luxury Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Solverde Spa & Wellness Center 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Solverde Spa & Wellness Center is one of the most attractive hotels of greater Porto. With a privileged location, 2 minutes from the city of Espinho and only 15 minutes from Porto, it stands on modern infrastructures providing a service of excellence and bringing together the ideal conditions for leisure and business tourism in the North of Portugal. Inside a 20,000 m2 complex and with direct access to the beach, it offers a pleasant atmosphere of relaxation enriched with the aroma of the salt spray, the magnificent view of the sea and the surrounding landscape. The cuisine is also one of the points of attraction of the first Solverde Hotel, offering a rich and varied range of the tastiest Northern delicacies. The Spa & Wellness Center is one of the most complete and modern in the country, providing the perfect symbiosis between body and mind and featuring exclusive treatments associated to the Thalgo and Terrake brands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Solverde Spa & Wellness Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solverde Hotel
Hotel Solverde Spa & Wellness Center Portugal/Vila Nova De Gaia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing