We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully placed on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Solverde Spa & Wellness Center
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Vila Nova de Gaia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Unfortunately I just came over for one night, on a Business trip.

Reception, breakfast, rooms all really excellent. Very quiet Location with a beautiful view to the sea. I arrived late evening and left early morning, so only could see the Panorama in the dark, which even was very nice.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Uwe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (496)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Solverde Spa & Wellness Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

77 - 83 of 496 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed here for a week with 2 teenage kids. In the end we didn't use the spa facilities, which was probably a mistake, but we're too busy going in to Porto or exploring along the beachfront. The 3 best bits were:
1. Big, comfortable rooms
2. Very friendly staff
3. Location... Great pool, right by the beach, nice walk along the boardwalk to Espinho.
The 3 things we thought could make it better were:
1. No outside terrace / bar for the evenings
2. Selection on the menu is limited (although plenty of alternatives close by)
3. Overcrowding at breakfast...

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Matt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The hotel is in a prime location, but make no mistake it is not a 5 star. Decent size room, but the bed is not as comfortable. Also found some dirt in the bathroom.Breakfast is great! Reception indifferent and not so helpful. The hotel shows its age, deserves a huge reform and modernization of their rooms and facilities. Found the FC Porto squad while I was there :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jorge S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We have been going to Solverde regularly since it opened. It started life as a very modern luxurious hotel, aged a little to the extent of being almost dowdy. I am pleased to report on the basis of our last visit that it is regaining its former status. The changes are minor but meaningful - new carpets in some areas, re-tiling and superb poolside towels. The staff was always a strong point of the hotel but even here there is evidence of additional training. When our granddaughter needed to see a doctor staff on the desk did everything - and kept enquiring after her health after the consultation. By Portuguese standards the food may seem expensive but the superbly presented dinners are very cheap by British standards. Except for an awkward shower head I can think of no adverse points. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Go for a room with sea view balcony.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

A good hotel for a short break. The Internet is good and free. The parking is free for the car which is a plus. Despite being an old hotel, the rooms are new and are very comfortable. The SPA is very good. The gardens are good spaces for those with small children. Expected more from a 5 star hotel for breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank João Miguel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed for 5 nights and picked the hotel for its location ( 30 minute train ride from Porto)
It was perfectly adequate for our stay.
The breakfast room certainly not a cattle market and it suited our taste.
We spent most of our days out walking into Esprinho and along the beach broadwalks either side of the hotel.
The staff were attentive and pleasant while we were in and around the hotel and on the one day we used the outdoor pool we enjoyed and we already knew it was salty sea water it was clean and the surrounding area of the pool was well manicured and kept.
While i generally agree it was not a 5 star hotel hey what do i know about 5 star hotels anyway having never stayed in one!!

Certainly they could improve the rooms with complimentary water and maybe tea/coffee making facilities but the room was big enough.

You see as you find and we found the hotel a very pleasant and reasonably priced place to be for our time there.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank pishtico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

No tea / coffee making facilities in room.

You have to wear a shower cap to use the pool indoors but you don't have to if you want to use the pool outdoors, both pools are sea water.

Extremely poor people / staff management. The lovely girl on the bar was doing drinks for room service / the pool area / the bar area and I even saw her doing breakfast service.

There are nowhere near enough staff for this hotel. I had a conversation with the duty manager who said they were at full occupancy, this was a lie as I asked a couple of other members of staff who said they were 40% full. The manager even admitted that this hotel should not be 5star, it should be a 4star.

No complimentary water in the room.

There is nowhere else to go in the area apart from Lidl supermarket and it's expensive to eat in the hotel.

This hotel has the setting and look of a 5star but is severely let down by poor management and lack of professionally trained staff.

Breakfast buffet is like a cattle market, nothing gets topped up and you start the day hungry and stressed out.

We went to the pool bar / restaurant, sat down for 10 mins then left because the poor chap was too busy making drinks for other people. Again, not enough staff.

The positive, on the first night we were invited to the Casino (owned by same company) where we got a 20% discount in the restaurant and a fantastic Brazilian show. Although no transport was provided, we had to pay for taxis both ways.

If you want 5 star, stay away as you will massively disappointed. We just stayed at Epic Sana in Lisbon which was a world apart from here, absolutely stunning and everything was executed perfectly.

Another positive is that it is close to the beach (which is why we came from Porto) but it's a ghost town, small and strange.

Couldn't wait to get back to Porto to be honest.

Get a refurb and a fresh management team!!!

Good Luck!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank mandb007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila Nova de Gaia
1.5 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Solverde
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia
#2 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
812 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel PraiaGolfe
Hotel PraiaGolfe
#3 of 3 in Espinho
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
The Yeatman
The Yeatman
#1 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
1,794 reviews
10.8 mi away
Furadouro Boutique Hotel Beach & SPA
7.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Porto Gaia Hotel and Spa
Golden Tulip Porto Gaia Hotel an...
#12 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Solverde Spa & Wellness Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solverde Spa & Wellness Center

Address: Avenida de Liberdade 212 | São Félix da Marinha, Vila Nova de Gaia 4410-154, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Vila Nova de Gaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#3 Spa Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#4 Business Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#4 Family Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
Price Range: £79 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Solverde Spa & Wellness Center 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Solverde Spa & Wellness Center is one of the most attractive hotels of greater Porto. With a privileged location, 2 minutes from the city of Espinho and only 15 minutes from Porto, it stands on modern infrastructures providing a service of excellence and bringing together the ideal conditions for leisure and business tourism in the North of Portugal. Inside a 20,000 m2 complex and with direct access to the beach, it offers a pleasant atmosphere of relaxation enriched with the aroma of the salt spray, the magnificent view of the sea and the surrounding landscape. The cuisine is also one of the points of attraction of the first Solverde Hotel, offering a rich and varied range of the tastiest Northern delicacies. The Spa & Wellness Center is one of the most complete and modern in the country, providing the perfect symbiosis between body and mind and featuring exclusive treatments associated to the Thalgo and Terrake brands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Solverde Spa & Wellness Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solverde Hotel
Hotel Solverde Spa & Wellness Center Portugal/Vila Nova De Gaia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing