We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Punta del Cantal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Punta del Cantal Hotel
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Mojacar
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

This is a pleasant property for its star rating in a great location. Situated right on the beach and surrounded by bars and restaurants. This resort is not overly built up so there are not many noisy bars to worry about. The hotel is clean and pleasant with 2 lovely pool areas to use.
The staff are amongst the friendliest I have encountered in Spanish properties. The reception staff always had a smile on their faces and were ready to help with useful information etc.
The down side was our room, although clean and tidy was on the small side. The "balcony" couldnt even fit a chair. So when checking in beware of the few rooms that have these small balconies. I think if I had complained I would have probably been moved but we arrived late for a 5 night break and couldnt be bothered.
Would definately stay again.
The bar area in the sister hotel next door had lots of outside area.
Beds, unfortunately, very hard.

Room Tip: Room 218 is one of the rooms with postage stamp balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susi-of-london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    23
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
27
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

First question we asked ourselves when we encountered the quality of the rooms, food, service and friendliness of the staff was - Why only 3 star ? This hotel is hidden in plain sight. The location is fabulous only 2 minutes walk to the beach and 10 from the main promenade. Its as peaceful or busy as you want it to be. If you are looking for a clean, friendly, peaceful hotel with gorgeous food and handy location this is your haven to coin a phrase "we liked it so much 2 weeks in 2012 are already booked". This place is 4* all the way.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joules980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

We had a great stay in the hotel and staff were excellent in all respects, breakfast was really good with a super well stocked buffet, each morning - all nicely presented and fresh. The chef cooked eggs to order.
Dinner was taken in the sister hotel and was also excellent, here the Chef also cooked some items to order each night. service was consitantly good in both the Restaurant and Bar. The Bar had Live Music on most nights we were there.
Rooms are well equipped and new, with all the basics to hand. Clean and well maintained.
I can recommend the hotel to you and you are also in easy walking distance of the Beach.

Room Tip: Overlooking the Pool Area was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hornets55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glos UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

Stayed at this hotel as part of a deal to ride the circuit of Almeria. Very clean and tidy rooms with modern decor. Cleanliness very good, room size was good, breakfast was good with varied hot and cold food, staff were very friendly overall enjoyed my stay here.
Resort was open but very quiet as it was February but still plenty of places to eat.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lewielufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2009

We stayed here as part of a trip to spend 4 days on the (almost) local Circuito de Almeria.
The whole hotel was very clean and every part of the room was spotless. The hotel staff could not have been more friendly, even when we arrived and checked in at 01:30 am.
Everyone from the reception staff to the lady cleaning up the breakfast bowls was as polite and friendly as I have ever experienced.
The pool area is the central courtyard to the hotel and has great views out over the Mediterranean Sea.
Our room comprised of one lounge room, one bedroom and one bathroom. the Lounge had a sofa bed in it and I can honestly say that it was very comfortable to sleep on. There was a "pull out" bed underneath that too, so the room could easily have coped with parents and children.
The buffet breakfast was good with a selection of pastries, hot cooked food (bacon scrambled eggs, sausages, beans) & cereals and fruits. Coffee or tea was on hand to help you wake up.
The car park under the hotel was accessed with your room key but not make for real size cars. The amount of pillars down there make it quite hard to get your car round. Although they did not charge for it's use.
The prices at the bar in hotel meant that you didn't have to leave if you didn't want to, very reasonable compared to hotels in the UK.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TimsterC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2008

I got married in Mojacar in June and myself and 80 guests stayed in the Hotel Punta del Cantal. The whole experience from start to finish went very well. The staff were more than capable of handling us all checking at once and sorting out the bills etc. The rooms were very nice and very clean. All situated very close to the pool and pool/snack bar. The pool itself was perfect for all the guests staying with ample loungers and chairs. The hotel was very quite but that suited us as the town and playa area was where we spent most evenings.
Most of the guests opted for bed and breakfast and the food on offer was excellent, it even had a crepe bar to order from. The other bar and buffet areas were lovely and the staff were always very keen to assist.
All areas of the hotel were spotless and nicely decorated. Staying in this hotel allowed us to have a hassle free holiday and we didnt have to worry about our guests. On the actual day of the wedding (we had our reception at another location) the staff made sure that there was enough space in reception to hold the guests while the buses arrived and even provided cold drinks while they waited. I will definatley visist this hotel again, in fact I look forward to it.

  • Liked — Lovely hotel at a great price
  • Disliked — Buses could actually get up to the main door and older guests had to walk down a lot of steps.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DaisyChainDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mojacar hotels
2.6 mi away
Servigroup Marina Playa
2.7 mi away
Best Oasis Tropical
Best Oasis Tropical
#7 of 25 in Mojacar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Indalo
Best Indalo
#5 of 25 in Mojacar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Puntazo
Hotel El Puntazo
#10 of 25 in Mojacar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Mojacar
Best Mojacar
#6 of 25 in Mojacar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
0.9 mi away
Parador de Mojacar
Parador de Mojacar
#1 of 25 in Mojacar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punta del Cantal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punta del Cantal Hotel

Property: Punta del Cantal Hotel
Address: Paseo Mediterraneo 245C | Lomos del Cantal 1, 04638 Mojacar, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Almeria > Mojacar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Mojacar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Punta del Cantal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Punta del Cantal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Del Cantal Hotel Mojacar, Almeria, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing