We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location !”
Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Continental
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Mojacar
Certificate of Excellence
Valencia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location !”
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We chose this Hotel for it's location, right on the beach, couldn't have asked for better.
It is a three star, family run (and all the better for it) spotlessly clean hotel at the Garrucha end of Mojacar Playa. The downside of the location is that there is not much in the way of restaurants/bars within easy walking distance, unless you are into five big TV screens all seemingly showing different football matches simultaneously, there are also two very basic Spanish style bars and a Pizzeria. For more than this you need to get the car out or be prepared for a long walk, there is a bus stop outside the hotel but it didn't seem to go where we wanted when we wanted too.Taxis are available but not cheap, we paid eight euro each way for a 2 km trip.
Our bedroom on the ground floor was very large, with an equally large en suite wet room, plus a good sized terrace right on the beach. It looked as if it may have been recently refurbished and was very good value for money.
The breakfast selection was excellent and, surprisigly, included UK style back bacon.
For the money, impossible to fault it.

Room Tip: We got the room we had by asking for a room with a walk in shower facility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hard-t-please
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    31
    10
    0
    3
See reviews for
15
38
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012 via mobile

Reception is spacious & clean and as you enter you look straight out to the beach which is impressive. breakfast is varied and adequate hot and cold selections, they make the best (and hottest) tea and coffee around. The staff are very helpful and friendly, the pool was clean and refreshing, some rooms have been renovated, ours hadn't but it was still clean but basic, the bed was very hard!, there are quite a few restaurant's around walking distance, we had food at the hotel and it was very reasonable and fresh. We stayed for a northern soul weekender and had the best time ever with some great people.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Healthyfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Can't beat the location -- our hotel room overlooked the ocean. Playa Mojacar was a sleepy little town in the off-season, and we had the beach largely to ourselves. Breakfast at the hotel was quite generous. The room was pretty basic, but very clean and comfortable. And falling asleep to the sound of ocean waves was just delightful.

Room Tip: So glad we had a room facing the ocean -- we fell asleep to the sound of waves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mare1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

a small hotel situated as close to the sea as you will get, very clean, and helpful staff.
we only stayed the one night but was impressed with the place , terrace door gave excellent view on beach and would be a nice place to sit and relax listening to the sea and sipping wine.......a very clean hotel and would recommend to anyone , room was narrow but ok,with two double beds and would be ok for family of four, bathroom very clean and water and cans of pop in fridge should you require them ....

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arboleas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2009

Take plenty of sun screen cos you are right on the beach and its hot hot hot. Take plenty of mosie spray because as you are right on the beach, they like to nibble on you.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank styrene45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
72 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2008

I drove from Almeria airport using a GPS which took me to the other side of town, when I called the hotel (it was late) the night porter just kept on saying "No, you're wrong" he didn't seem to be able to give me any sort of directions. I suggest you find exactly on a map where the hotel is BEFORE you drive off trying to find it. When I arrived the car park was full and I had to do some creative parking to get my hire car off the main road, the parking could be at least the double for size of this hotel. The room was adequate consisting of a small double and small single bed, bathroom also small but OK, the hairdryer didn't work. The hotel has the habit of turning off the airco during the day (from the recpetion) it took about half an hour before we realised we weren't doing anything wrong with the remote control !! Breakfast was good, good choice of meats, cheeses, breads, some eggs & bacon, good coffe, choice of teas, cereals etc. The hotel does run a kitchen during the day although last orders are early evening, best to get a dinner order in by 18.00pm, if you want to eat later no worries there are hoardes of eateries within spitting distance. The hotel is on the beach although the hotel doesn't really make much of that fact, perhaps some more work to make it THE feature of the hotel would make it a more attractive proposition. The beach itself is a tad scruffy the best beaches are further along the coast at Mojacar Playa and northwards. The staff were all friendly (except the night porter) although most didn't have a good grasp of English, we ended up speaking French most of the time. I found the hotel expensive for what it is, it is barely 3 star and will need some investment in its infrastructure in the coming years. Not a bad hotel, not our choice, we were using it as a base for an event so were pretty much obliged to stay there. We will hold the event again next year but I will comb the locality for comparisons before we book anything.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Small rooms
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank chris.lalor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2008

Our party of four, took two rooms for two nights, to use as a base for touring. The hotel is advertised on it's sign board as a 3 star, but I would rate it as a 4star. Right on the beach with a selection of restaurants close by and easy parking. We could have used it just to "chill-out" and may well do so sometime in the future.

  • Liked — nice and clean
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HIMANDHER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mojacar hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Best Oasis Tropical
0.9 mi away
Parador de Mojacar
Parador de Mojacar
#2 of 25 in Mojacar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
0.8 mi away
Servigroup Marina Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
ALEGRIA Palacio Mojacar
ALEGRIA Palacio Mojacar
#1 of 25 in Mojacar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel El Puntazo II
Hotel El Puntazo II
#10 of 25 in Mojacar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
2.0 mi away
Apartamentos Best Pueblo Indalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Property: Hotel Continental
Address: Paseo Mediterraneo 78, 04638 Mojacar, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Almeria > Mojacar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Mojacar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Continental 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Continental Mojacar, Almeria, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing