We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to eat”
Review of Albir - CLOSED

Albir
Cuisines: Healthy, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Restaurante ALBIR/Hotel ALBIRICO has closed in October 2015 for ever because we have retired at the summit of success. The restaurant/hotel will open again under another name and other management in December 2015. We say GOODBYE and a big THANK YOU to all the clients who visited and supported us with their affection and admiration - given to us at the time or sent us via their wonderful Tripadvisor-reviews.
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Fab food, fab front of house. It's like going to a friends house for fab meals. Renata and just are priceless. Would not think of not going when in mojacar . Back again in September.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Fluffyduck121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 101 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

The restaurant is very basic some say it's homely but to me it lacks a little finnes it is small but you can not say it is has a intimate atmosphere.
The food is very good with a wide choice of meat and fish dishes but as is often the norm in Spain to was served on cold dishes which you then had to transfer to your cold plates which meant the food was cold.
Service was good and attentive but extremely slow it took three hours to get our three courses I Don't like being rushed but.
Good choice of wine,overall apart from my little moans and being a little pricey the restaurant is quite good a bit of attention to details would make it perfect.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Melvin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanyRenata, Propietario at Albir, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for having made the effort of writing a review about your restaurant visit but we are tempted to believe that you are confused with a visit to another restaurant because of a couple of important details which don't match us at all:
- our food never gets served on cold dishes and no client ever has a cold plate in front because all plates go directly from an electric plate-heater to the table, a detail which almost every single client who visits us first, mentions as an exception.
- Another observation is “the extremely slow” service:
Your table was the second on an evening where a sign outside told new clients that we were fully booked; so you had the full attention on your own because the first table was already served and the next table arrived much later, only the second bottle of wine needed a little reminder.
It is habit in our restaurant to not ask for dessert-orders right after the main course has been cleared away. We informed you kindly that we don’t use your table again during the same evening and that you were welcome to sit and enjoy/relax as long as you want.
So really and truly it doesn't take us 3 hours to serve a meal but very often clients stay 3 hours or more because they like to do so.
- And at last your description of the location: being “very basic”, lacking of homeliness and intimate atmosphere; with these words you are contradicting totally to the expressions of most of our clients independent of their nationality and age. Lots of “Special Occasions” like birthdays and anniversaries get celebrated in our restaurant because of its lovely atmosphere.
So is it really Albir you are describing or shell we keep it with the proverb: Each to their own?

But then yes: it seems to be us, and we are proud that you praise our wide range of meat and fish, the good and attentive service and the good choice of wines. As well matches that when you had ordered much later your desserts, the restaurant had got much busier and the mint tea got forgotten. But we don’t think that such a little event is a failure of 'attention to details'.
Anyhow, we had the impression that you all thoroughly enjoyed your evening and we look forward to your next visit.

We want to inform everybody that OUR RESTAURANT FROM NOW ON DURING THE WHOLE SUMMER WILL ONLY OPEN FOR DINNERS and that we will be CLOSED FOR 1 WEEK from 10th June AND WILL BE OPEN AGAIN on the 17th June FOR DINNERS. To be on the safe side please phone.
Renata and Juan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Gorgeous food in a really beautiful setting!!
Renata and Juan, very good and attentive service. A Gem!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pirkko65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

A hidden gem. Be sure to book as this small restaurant is quite small and intimate.
Lovely atmosphere and friendly and attentive service from the hosts.
First rate freshly cooked food, prepared to order.
Nothing really to add to previous reviews. You will not be disappointed if you eat here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank annteke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Renata and Juan made us so very welcome at their restaurant. As so often in Spain external appearance bears little relation to reality within. Within Albir lies a special and homely professional restaurant with excellent menu choice, wonderful fish, extensive meat choices and excellent wine choice prepared and presented with precision. Thank you for such a wonderful experience. We look forward to return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TechnoProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Albir also viewed

Mojacar, Province of Almeria
Mojacar, Province of Almeria
 
Mojacar, Province of Almeria
Mojacar, Province of Almeria
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing