We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold and Dreary”
Review of Parador de Mojacar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parador de Mojacar
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Mojacar
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Cold and Dreary”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Stayed for two nights at the Parador in Mojacar and was glad to leave. Having booked a double bed the reception gave us twin beds and we had to return to ask for what we had already requested. Why ask someone if you are going to decide that they can't have it anyway? Bad start. The access to the room was along a freezing cold corridor half exposed to the cold wind. Here there was a scratched badly painted floor, the tile paint was coming off and it was very dated and shabby. There was no heating whatsoever in the long dark dreary hall..... so you had to negotiate an overheated reception, then a freezing corridor with no heating, then a room with barely any heating.whatsoever The bedroom had stains on the walls, napkins strategically placed on either side of the bed....what for I do not know. The room was barely warm with outdated furniture, cold floors and shabby rugs, and although clean with a comfortable bed and a sea view was tired, triste, dated and not what I expected. There was a wonderful fire in the central lounge, a real focal point as it was circular. It was not lit, EVER. Breakfast was adequate but nothing special. On both mornings staff seemed to be preparing for other meals and were moving tables and chattering constantly. I asked for tea and got three tea bags in a pot of tea for one. The tea was the cheapest brand from the local supermarket and was dreadful. The quality of the food was spoilt by a buffet of cold fried eggs, cheap bread, and other luke warm foods. Very missable. All in all I was so glad to leave, there was no attempt to welcome or to greet in anyway. I shall never visit a Parador again if this is what they think is hospitality. Worst hotel I have ever stayed in.
The resort of Mojacar is tired, boring and empty. It needs a complete overhaul as it presently has nothing whatsoever to offer anyone. I realise that February is not the best of months, but you could do better in the wake that tourism brings in money and we paid for this horrendous trip Never again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room without the freezing cold corridors with winds blowing down them. Check your room has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spookykenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    283
    74
    13
    14
See reviews for
163
402
16
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Troon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Mojacar is more a village rather than a town in my view and is very quiet in March when we visited. At that time there are not the same number of restaurants open so, as another reviewer said is better for a few days.
The parador is well furnished and I found the service to be first class at reception and in the bar.
We only ate in the restaurant once and felt it was pricey with a limited menu. What we had was very good and well cooked.
The position is excellent just across the road from the beach although not all rooms have a front facing view. We were in one of the new rooms which was very comfortable but sound travelled down from the room above, chairs moving etc scraped on the tiled floor.
With that minor downside we had an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the old part if you wish a view of the sea or are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank H2hhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
797 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 428 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Wrong soup delivered. Replacement muddy coloured fish soup with pieces of fish in it FROZEN solid; overcooked microwaved/reheated "fish pie" with watery sole and rubbery prawns, undercooked red rare pork reheated/recooked in microwave when error pointed out. Restaurant is dreary; low ceiling; canteen like appearance and decor. Waiting staff were lovely - trying to put on a brave face to compensate for the disastrous chef.. Avoid!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

I would highly recommend this hotel as its location, stlye and staff couldnt have been friendlier! Great food and great service.
Definately worth visiting the old town of mojacar which is a 3 minute drive away.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dolsbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida, USA
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

While the parador is modern, comfortable and just across from the beach, during non-beach months there really is nothing much to do and see. Most restaurants and shops were closed for the season, so staying for more than a day or two should probably be avoided. Our one previous visit was in July, and what a difference. The rooms closest to the beach are older, could use an update, but provide the best views and ambience. We didn't see the newer, more modern wing, but with no view it likely isn't worth it. We did have dinner one night, and it was excellent. Staff, in general, were friendlier and more helpful than one might expect at paradores.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharkFlorida_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
939 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 398 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2012

There are two "sections" to this hotel. One appears to be older and, quite frankly, a bit dingier. The room I was shown was almost below sea level with no view whatsoever and was very dark and smelled musty. The room I eventually stayed in for 6 days was in what appeared to be a newer section. It was nicely appointed with a huge bathroom. However, it had no view - just looked straight across at another row of rooms and I had to keep the curtains closed at all times because people across the way on their balconies could see straight in. I found the bed way too hard, but that seems to be the norm for European beds.

Having said that, the hotel itself seems very nice and if you get a room "con vista" then it would be a great place to stay. The pool area looked really nice and would be great for family stay. Breakfast was included and it was really nice and plenty of variety. I didn't have the buffet lunch but it did look good.

The location is good, being easy walking distance to the bars and restaurants in Mojacar, though the walk along the road can be treacherous when it is busy.

All in all I liked the hotel but wish I had had a room with a view. The staff on the front desk were really good and tried their best to get me moved to a better room, they all speak passable English as well. I think, however, it was a bit over priced.

Room Tip: Book well in advance and state that you want a room "con vista" when you make your booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrisCaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

This is the second time we have stayed here and find the standard and service to be excellent.
We were given an "upgrade" this time - a superb room with separate lounge and two balconies - one overlooking the sea. breakfast was very good, and we had one dinner there - also very good. Paradors may be a little expensive, but we feel they offer excellent comfort and standards.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be of a high standard, but we have only experience of two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RFG28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mojacar hotels
1.7 mi away
Servigroup Marina Mar
Servigroup Marina Mar
#4 of 24 in Mojacar
773 reviews
2.1 mi away
ALEGRIA Palacio Mojacar
ALEGRIA Palacio Mojacar
#2 of 24 in Mojacar
680 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Best Oasis Tropical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Servigroup Marina Playa
1.8 mi away
Hotel Best Mojacar
Hotel Best Mojacar
#6 of 24 in Mojacar
1,110 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Best Indalo
Hotel Best Indalo
#5 of 24 in Mojacar
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Mojacar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Mojacar

Property: Parador de Mojacar
Address: Paseo Mediterraneo 339, 04638 Mojacar, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Almeria > Mojacar
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mojacar
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mojacar
#3 Family Hotel in Mojacar
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mojacar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Mojacar 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Otel, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Parador de Mojacar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Mojacar Hotel Mojacar
Parador De Hotel Mojacar
Parador De Mojacar Almeria, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing