We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxed, casual, great food and great fun.”
Review of La Cantina

La Cantina
Ranked #86 of 216 Restaurants in Mojacar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
1 review
“Relaxed, casual, great food and great fun.”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We ate at the cantina on a quiet Wednesday night in May. We are regulars at TITO'S for lunch and had visited the Cantina once before. We had a lovely evening, the service was great, our host was helpful and seemed keen to ensure we had a good night. Food was great, tasty and fresh, the atmosphere in the restaurant was lovely despite it being a quiet night. We will definitely come back on our next visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S2H0, Official Representative at La Cantina, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Hi Kate

Thank you for such a wonderful review of La Cantina and the plug for Tito's Beachbar....we are so pleased you have enjoyed your experience here and we look forward to seeing you in both venues again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    13
    5
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vera, Spain
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad food”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The service was perfect but the food is terrible! We ordered Guacamole and there were more tomatoe in than avocat!
We ordered also tacos... Bad idea. The cheese was disgusting and the meat didn't have flavour.
The restaurant is very cute, it was like being in Mexico.
I hope they change their chef because it could work pretty well if they offer better food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelesunh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Brilliant food & first class service”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This restaurant reflects everything that is great about Mojacar. An authentic Mexican meal of very high quality and excellent friendly service. This restaurant is owned by Tito & Barbara who own & run Tito's Chiringito, which is famous for being one of the best restaurants in Mojacar.

I would highly recommend La Cantina.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarlandClaire_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mojacar, Spain
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely food, warm colourfull atmosphere.”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We had never been to the "old Cantina" but seeing as La Cantina has recently come under new management, now run by none other than Tito del Amo and Barbara of "Tito's Beach Bar", we decided to go along for Friday lunch and found the food to be very nice and the atmosphere was delightful. They have done a really nice job of revamping the place. The colours are wonderful and the place has a great atmosphere.

I spent a good few months in the Yucatan area of Mexico when I was younger and am always highly critical of the mexican food I come across in Europe but the food here was every bit as good as I remember. Very tasty indeed. One word of advice though, it is quite small (which ads to the cosy atmosphere) so I its a good idea to book first, which is what we did. Would definitely go again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonio A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guadalest
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poor attitude, boring food”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This was the last night of our 4 day stay in Mojacar, having eaten at 3 fabulous places the previous nights. It was the end of the season, but being a Mexican restaurant, you would have thought they would have made sure that they didn´t run out of jalapinos! I had the chorizo and cheese, which should have contained jalapinos. It was really claggy and came with 4 tortillas, totally unnecessary! Very dry, and I only ate half. My husband had the onion rings, which he said were really good. Next, we both had the quesidillas, which should have contained cheese and jalapinos with crispy onions. The crispy onions were just scattered on top, out of a packet, and there were no jalapinos in the quesidillos so were really boring. When paying, (very overpriced at 35 euros), my husband told the waiter that we were disappointed as there were no jalapinos in the quesidillos, and he said that the cook had ´probably forgotten´ to put them in! He did apologise, but that was it. What a shame it being our last night too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jillyw55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Cantina also viewed

Mojacar, Province of Almeria
Mojacar, Province of Almeria
 
Mojacar, Province of Almeria
 
Mojacar, Province of Almeria
Mojacar, Province of Almeria
 

Been to La Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing