We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 4 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Best Oasis Tropical
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Mojacar
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Whilst the hotel was clean, rooms were tired but fine, staff were very unfriendly, breakfast was chaotic although plenty of choice, overall experience not very good although very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: We booked a sea view which we did not get so we had to complain to be moved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aebromley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

269 - 275 of 1,405 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2011

Undoubtedly the worst foreign hotel I have ever stayed in and I have stayed in many.

This is certainly not a 4 star hotel. The family bedroom was far from fit for a family. Cramped and 2 double beds. It was totally unsuitable for one child of 8 and another of 16 to be sharing a bed. The beds themselves were cheap and uncomfortable. You get better at Butlins! The bathroom was tired, with a shower that kept falling off the wall and a bath that filled up when showering and took 20 minutes to drain away. Our complaints regarding these issues fell on deaf ears.

The majority of the bar staff were rude. I speak spanish and was well aware that some passed comment about serving the spanish first. I found this upsetting as I used to work in Spain and my experience of the spanish has never been as I found it at this hotel.

The bar only stays open until 11.30pm. What sort of a holiday is that?! In a country where the locals don't go out until 9pm omwards this struck me as bizarre.

If you want any peace and quiet on your holiday, this is not the place to go. Constant racket from dusk til dawn. The entertainment speakers boom so loud you can't even escape them on your balcony and I could even hear them from the beach across the road! There is no quiet space at all in this hotel.

The only saving grace was the food which was very good.

Fortunately I have family living in the area, which was the purpose of our 2 week stay. I stayed with my family for 5 nights in the end just to sleep in a decent bed and have some chill out time.

I have never been so glad to get home and begrudge every penny I spent on this holiday. We had spent months looking forward to it and even the youngest child was pleased to be leaving as we had all had enough.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Melissa-Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

went here for a wedding stayed for 5 days. we were the only english people here. the pool was always cold, just like the food in the restaurant. the entertainment was all spanish too. the reception did not even change money. although the hotel was fine, i have no intention of ever coming back here, Spain has much more to offer than Mojacar

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Dootch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Having booked this holiday as a last minute week away we didn't know what to expect having never heard of Mojacar, or Almeria for that matter! On arrival at the Hotel we were greeted by a friendly, English speaking receptionist who quickly checked us in and explained meal times etc to us. Our room was everything we could have wished for and we even found some complimentary drinks in the fridge. The room was cleaned without fail everyday and fresh towels given when required, all we had to do was leave the used towels we wanted changing in the bath and the maid would replace them. All 4 swimming pools were wonderfully kept with plenty of sunbeds available. The hotel entertainment team was very friendly and when doing day time activities they would make the effort to get you involved, even if their English was limited. The resort was mainly Spanish, but there was a good mix of English people too. The restaurant was always very clean and the food served was always very well presented and a decent selection of food was available. At times the food was 'warm' but microwaves were supplied in case the food wasn't hot enough for you. You could also approach the chef at the 'show cooking' station if you required fresher food, crispier bacon or your meat cooked a little further. The staff couldn't clear our plates quick enough, on one occasion we returned to our table to find the staff attempting to clear the whole table, even though we hadn't finished. The one thing we would strongly recommend (if like us an knew nothing of Mojacar) is to go to the 'Welcome meeting' (if on a Thomas Cook holiday) as we would have been completely lost without this. We know this is meant to be a review of the hotel, but we felt we had to mention the Mojacar area. The Mojacar resort is spread over 2-3 miles and using the local bus service came in very handy (told to us in the welcome meeting and was only €1 per trip) and it's a beautiful drive along a coastal road with gorgeous views. The bus goes up into the village of Mojacar (in the mountains) and this small little place was stunning, with cobbled streets and hidden alleyways leading to beautiful restaurants and shops, with the Indalo Man everywhere to be seen....and bought. Views over Almeria are lovely and if you get there for sunset the sights are breathtaking. The beach bars on the coastal roads are also a must, the decor is stunning and makes you feel like your in the Art Deco district of Miami. Overall we had an amazing holiday and were sad to return to England. If you're after a cheap holiday away with a lovely hotel, 4 great pools (only 85 steps to the beach), decent food, friendly staff and a safe environment then this is a must place to go. We'd definitely recommend it to friends of ours.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Benjamin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We spent a week in August and although the hotel was crowded, the organisation was very good. The pool is nice, the animation team was great with the children, there was a spa where children were allowed... Good food for dinner and pic-nic bags to take to the beach. There is one beach just in front. A confortable hotel to go with children.

Room Tip: Be careful with the noise of the night show
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cristina_Getxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

We stayed here for a week. We can't say enough about this hotel. Breakfast which was included in the price had the largest buffet we have ever seen outside of the states!
Food to suit every taste.....inc. kids. The lunchtime buffet was the same. 15 Euros was well worth it.
the hotel was clean and the staff very helpful. We will certainly have no hesitation is staying there again. For the price we paid it was excellent value. It worked out cheaper than a travel inn with so much more on offer!

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theark_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

From the moment we booked in the staff at the hotel were pleasant, courteous and explained all we needed to know. Whilst we do speak Spanish the staff at reception were able to speak English. Our room was spacious, clean and overlooked the pool and beach. The restaurant was excellent and staff attentive, the "hot" meals changed daily as did some of the "mixed salads".

We were slightly further away from the bars/restaurants than we thought we would be but these were within walking distance (a walk rather than stroll). Old town Mojacar is lovely and from here the views are excellent - definitely worth a visit.

It was a very pleasant experience staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank teevaughan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mojacar hotels
0.1 mi away
Servigroup Marina Playa
1.8 mi away
Parador de Mojacar
Parador de Mojacar
#2 of 24 in Mojacar
790 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Best Mojacar
Hotel Best Mojacar
#6 of 24 in Mojacar
1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Servigroup Marina Mar
Servigroup Marina Mar
#4 of 24 in Mojacar
831 reviews
0.4 mi away
ALEGRIA Palacio Mojacar
ALEGRIA Palacio Mojacar
#1 of 24 in Mojacar
775 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Best Indalo
Hotel Best Indalo
#5 of 24 in Mojacar
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Best Oasis Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Best Oasis Tropical

Address: Avda del Mar, 1 | Urb. Marina de la Torre, 04638 Mojacar, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Almeria > Mojacar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Mojacar
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mojacar
#7 Luxury Hotel in Mojacar
Price Range: £40 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Best Oasis Tropical 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Oasis Tropical Hotel is located just in front of the sea, in the sunny village of Mojácar, only a few metres from a golf course. Comfortable rooms with balcony, fully fitted bathroom with hairdryer, satellite TV, security door lock, telephone, fridge, heating, air conditioning and optional safedeposit box. Buffet restaurant with show cooking, national and international cuisine. Swimming pool for adults and children, children’s area, kid’s club, garden, snackbar, gym and an indoor swimming pool in winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Best Oasis Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Oasis Tropical Mojacar
Best Oasis Tropical Hotel Mojacar
Hotel Best Oasis Tropical Mojacar, Almeria, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing