We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food and location”

Restaurante El Mirlo Blanco
Ranked #38 of 501 Restaurants in Mijas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$29 - US$41
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: El Mirlo Blanco is located in a delightful setting in a traditional whitewashed building typical of the Malaga region in the centre of Mijas. The restaurant can seat 60 diners in two dining rooms that feature wonderful open fireplaces, although in the warmer months diners can eat on the terrace with its splendid views over the town and the nearby mountains. The restaurant offers traditional Basque cooking using the finest seasonal ingredients. Its extensive menu changes with the seasons with specialities that include beef stew, baby squid or excellent cod, among many others. There is also a long list of wines and spirits. El Mirlo Blanco is a great choice at any time of year, whether you choose to sit by the fire on cold days or on its wonderful terrace in summer.
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Mirlo blanco offered us all that we expected. Tasty food, beautiful location and friendly service. The restaurant locates in mijas village, that really is worth visiting or staying as we did for four lovely days

Thank Annentrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blas2012, Gerente at Restaurante El Mirlo Blanco, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Annentrip

Thank you so much for your recent review in Tripadvisor:

We are very happy to hear that you had such a nice dinner and your great experience in Mijas .

Thank you very much, once again, for your kind feedback, and we look forward to having you with us again in a near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 214 of 558 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

We had an enjoyable evening in this restaurant. The setting is excellent looking over the small square in Mijas Pueblo. The family running the restaurant are very welcoming. The food was good without being memorable. We could certainly have done with some more vegetables. The ordering was a bit chaotic with two orders arriving wrong.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Mijas is worth a visit: a very nice "pueblo" where you can stroll around to discover beautiful corners and great views.
El Mirlo Blanco has a beautiful terrace overlooking a very nice square where you can eat enjoying the view.
The food is good and also quite abundant. I made the mistake to order both an appetizer and a main course and at the end it was too much... I had to skip the dessert!
Price: about 40 euro each for an appetizer, a main course plus water and 2 glasses of wine... Maybe a little bit too much.

Thank gianlunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blas2012, Gerente at Restaurante El Mirlo Blanco, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Gianlunc ,

Thank you so much for your recent review in Tripadvisor:

We are very happy to hear that you had a nice dinner experience .

Thank you , once again, for your kind feedback, and we look forward to having you with us again in a near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Visited with the family for a birthday celebration.
We were a party of 5 and had 4 different appetizers and 5 different main courses.
I would highly recommend the sauteed artichokes with ham, as an entrée.
The main courses, beef stew, duck, veal cutlet with garlic sauce, trout with ham and baby squids were all superb.
This restaurant and the picturesque town of Mijas are definitely worth the 30 minute drive from Marbella.

Thank fromi2ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This very pretty and seemingly popular restaurant, was recommended by a friend and didn't disappoint. We were four guys on a golf trip and this was perfect for us. The owner Jon was a great host and very knowledgeable about all the wines on their extensive list. The service was delightful and great fun and we started with one of the speciality gin aperitifs.
We went for some of the local specialities and the Fish Bisque was excellent, followed by the spider crab. Although we were full to bursting we could not ignore the Grand Marnier soufflé which was grandly served by the chef and dramatically flambe'd at the table. Beware it may say for two people, but four of us all struggled to finish it. The desert wine was beautiful and we finished with coffee before the taxi home.
A thoroughly enjoyable evening.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank goodtrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blas2012, Gerente at Restaurante El Mirlo Blanco, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Goodtrees,

Thank you so much for your positive review in Tripadvisor:

We are very happy to hear that you had such a nice and enjoyable evening. .

Thank you very much, once again, for your kind feedback, and we look forward to having you with us again in a near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante El Mirlo Blanco also viewed

Mijas, Costa del Sol
Mijas Pueblo, Mijas
 
Mijas Pueblo, Mijas
Mijas Pueblo, Mijas
 

Been to Restaurante El Mirlo Blanco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing