We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relax and recharge” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macdonald La Ermita Holiday Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Macdonald La Ermita Holiday Resort
Ranked #4 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Mijas
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Relax and recharge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Went here in October 2013 with my family and was delighted with the accommodation. We stayed in a Dali apartment and it was spotlessly clean and comfortable. Our 2 bedroom was well equipped with all the amenities you could need for self catering. The views are simply stunning and are like nothing else I've seen in Spain. The hotel was quiet and the staff were all very helpful, the receptionist gave us directions on how to get to the coast and was very friendly. There were 2 outdoor swimming pools which we didn't venture into but the indoor pool and sauna/steam rooms were lovely. The bistro was nice but we felt the food could have been a bit better.
The town of mijas itself is one of the nicest places in Spain you can stay in. It's utterly charming and has a great selection of restaurants to eat in, lots of lovely shops and don't forget to check out the miniature museum! I have only one small gripe - it was that the floor/ceilings were quite thin and we could hear the family above us on the last few nights thumping and crashing about their apartment until the small hours, I know this is not the hotels fault but perhaps you should ask for a top floor apartment if you are very sensitive to noise. Overall I would definitely recommend for a quiet get away.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank JenWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    48
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
64
42
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

What a great location. Set into the hillside with great views over the surrounding countryside and all the way down to the coast this resort complex ticks all the right boxes. The apartment in the Goya block was superbly equipped with 2 bedrooms and 2 well appointed bathrooms making it ideal for a party of 3 or 4. Kitchen was very well equipped and included that greatest of inventions--the dishwasher, so cooking in when we wanted to was no problem.
Facilities within the complex were top flight with 2 outdoor pools (into which we ventured even though in October were beginning to verge on the chilly side) and a heated indoor pool with sauna ,steam room and aromatherapy shower was available for the cooler seasons.
Bathrobes and pool towels were also supplied helping to cut down on the luggage required and in addition the apartment was serviced during the week with all linen replaced.
Friendly helpful staff completed the picture and made for a great relaxing stay.
Ignore the previous contributors comments about 90 decibel insects--clearly the medication they were on was causing them to hallucinate!!
Mijas is a very pleasant village and once the hordes of day trippers leave the place becomes much quieter and more relaxed. Lots of inexpensive bistros/tapas bars around and very good public transport system makes getting around the area very easy.
Can't wait to go back!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Goya apartment block which was well equipped and recently refurbished.All apartment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NormW45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

My wife and I are both Macdonald Resort members and book into La Ermeta regularly to get away from the coast to enjoy the fabulous views from the resort in the village of Mijas. In our opinion the resort is five star and with a great location and facilities, the rooms are top class all with coast facing balconies and terraces. The staff are friendly and the resort never feels overcrowded, plenty sunbeds and two lovely outdoor pools and a kids pool.The indoor facilities are excellent with a large heated pool and a well equipped fitness room for the more enthusiastic and energetic.The eating and bar facilities are good and adequate but close around seven at night mainly due to the large number of excellent restaurants in the village.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent with no access problems as lifts service all floors. All rooms have A/C and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed in the new block, Goya apartments. First if all we arrived in the village about 9.30 pm at night and we could not find the resort. We were told by the receptionist that the signs to it had been taken down because of a row with the town hall. We spent around 2 hours driving up and down the narrow streets of the village, some so narrow we could hardly squeeze through. We had printed off Google maps and pics and had a sat nav. with the address entered into it but the resort is down a tiny cul de sac and almost impossible to find. It is disgraceful that MacDonald's do not provide people with appropriate directions: it was an unnecessarily negative start to our holiday and very disappointing. (We have had no reply to our written comments on this.) The apartment was very clean, well furnished and everything worked well. We had ordered a welcome package which was there as requested. However, the bed was solid. I have a medical condition which makes this very uncomfortable for me. They could not provide a softer mattress but did bring a mattress topper which was perhaps 3cm thick and did not really help very much but at least they tried to help me. The sofa bed was also extremely hard to sit on and not amenable to relaxation. There was a lovely view of the coast (in the distance) from the balcony but there was constant traffic noise from the road through the village which made it hard to relax and then about 10am, a very loud noise (90dB) started up and lasted till around 7pm. Using my best Google translate Spanish I asked the receptionist about it and he told me it was due to a certain type of insect and that there were probably only 2 of them making all that noise. A type of cicada I think but not the kind which makes a quiet chirping on warm summer nights. It unfortunately made it impossible to sit and enjoy the view from the balcony. There was very nice heated indoor pool with curved, mosaic covered heated loungers, which were very relaxing and fortunately they played relaxing music which drowned out the noise of the cicadas. We still managed to have a nice holiday despite the issues and of course they will not be issues at all for some people but if, like me you feel a bit below par, I think it is important to be forewarned of problems like hard beds which can really spoil precious holiday times. It is quite a steep walk up to the centre of the village but there is a lift in the multi-storey car park just beyond the resort which cuts the walk in half by taking you up 10 floors.

Room Tip: Goya apartments are newer and a higher standard than the others. A top floor apartment might be nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jean_Mad_Wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

La Ermita is a magnificent place to stay!!!! Location is perfect, views are spectacular, parking is free and safe and easy!!!! Staff is great!!!!! We had a two-bedroom unit with two full baths and beautiful balcony overlooking the Med!!!!! Down the street from center of town and close to the Sierra Mijas Mountain hiking trails. Loved every minute of the week long stay there. MacDonald resort Corporation should be pleased with this resort and pleased to call it one of their resorts!!!!!

This was actually the secong time I stayed there. The first time was only for two nites. Glad I came back!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harvey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

This place is beautiful and set in the most stunning location, the apartment we had was modern, clean and decorated and designed to a high standard. The staff are lovely although I must say not many of them, however this seams to be a trend now with Macdonald hotels. The village of Mijas is also quite lovely retaining much of its traditional Spanish character and charm.
Overall I have to say my expectations have been exceeded and I will certainly return, the only one constructive point I would make is that the bar or bistro is disappointing, it's set like cheep cafe and has no ambience at all, I understand that the catering outlets within the Spanish resorts are contracted out to another company but I think it's a shame as they could be so lovely, they could literally be transformed overnight with a little thought and attention detail, this said the number of delightful restaurants in the village means you don't lack choice for places to go. I will certainly be back to the La Ermita and thanks for a super stay.

Room Tip: Goya is a stunning location, not sure about the other two as we didn't see them but Goya is beau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hanshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

The Macdonald La Ermita was a beautiful resort with breathtaking views and gorgeous pools. I give 4 stars only because the wifi did not work in our room and we had to pay by the hour to use it in the office where a computer was set up for guests. The problem was that the busy staff could not help us and with all the codes needed, we ended up wasting most of our time. The second problem was with the AC. It was very hot in our condo on a higher floor and only the living room had AC. Even though we turned it up, there was no way it was going to reach the 2nd bedroom. Everything else about the resort was excellent.The rooms were modern and nicely appointed. All the staff were friendly and helpful. When we came back late one evening, the restaurant that was about to close, stayed open to serve us. So very nice. The small kitchen had everything we needed to make breakfast and late snacks. Small grocery stores were within walking distance. Everything we needed was within walking and we did not use our car except for day trips out of town. The sea is far away but the views of it were outstanding. Parking was difficult at the beach (Malaga) so we learned to take the bus back and forth with the locals.The little town certainly existed just off or for tourists but it was so quaint and lovely that it did not matter. It was full of a good variety of restaurants. One night there was a party in the square with Spanish dancers and music. All free - even snacks. There was a small very old church to visit and gradens to walk in. And the Mijas bull fight. Yes, we went in remembrance of Hemingway and yes it was brutal but with an open mind toward the history of bull fights, it was also an experience I would not have missed. Though the little Spanish boy seated infront of us was thrilled to receive the bull's ear, I would not take children who were not used to the experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haleabrams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mijas hotels
0.2 mi away
TRH Mijas
TRH Mijas
#7 of 28 in Mijas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hacienda Puerta del Sol
9.1 mi away
Macdonald Leila Playa Club
Macdonald Leila Playa Club
#1 of 3 in Sitio de Calahonda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
El Escudo de Mijas
El Escudo de Mijas
#2 of 15 in Mijas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Dona Lola Club
The Dona Lola Club
#1 of 4 in Sitio de Calahonda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
6.0 mi away
Los Amigos Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald La Ermita Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald La Ermita Holiday Resort

Property: Macdonald La Ermita Holiday Resort
Address: 29650, Mijas, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Mijas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Macdonald La Ermita Holiday Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Macdonald La Ermita Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald La Ermita Holiday Hotel Mijas
Macdonald La Ermita Holiday Resort Mijas, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing