We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Club La Costa luxury”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mijas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
CLC San Diego Suites
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Mijas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Roomy, comfortable and stylish accommodation, including a jacuzzi bath inside, his and hers wash basins, huge terrace and outdoor jacuzzi. Well equipped kitchen and beautifully kept gardens. With a car this is an excellent location to get up in the mountains to the White Villages, or to Granada to the Alhambra, Marbella, Ronda, etc. Our friends thought the quality of the resort was wonderful.

Room Tip: Rooms 805 and 806 in Santa Cruz Suites are both upstairs with huge balconies over 3 sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Uniquesally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2011

This holiday was organised through Club La Costa and as part of the promotion our accommodation as free, we just had to pay for flights and agree to attend a sales meeting during our holiday.
The accommodation and Club La Costa staff were all very good, the room we stayed in had two large balconies, two bedroom, one en suite and a full kitchen.
Everywhere was very clean and of good quality.
The sales meeting did go on a bit! Everyone was very nice though and we were looked after really well.
I would definitely recommend taking one of these promotional holidays, even if you say no to the holiday club its a really nice place and the free accommodation is worth the day with the salesmen

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Woodfordl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We travelled to Spain as our Club La Costa membership Prelude Holiday which we had to take before our son started school in September due to restricted travelling dates. Having assumed we would be in the San Diego or Santa Cruz Suites as per the website, we forked out for flights and went with our 4 and 18 month olds plus Grandparents to a '2 x bed apartment that sleeps 6' and were bowled over by the standard of the room when placed in the gated Malbu Mansions complex, room CO2.

As both myself and my husband work in the sales and related industries we were wise to the fact that they put us in this complex to sell the quality of the resort and Club La Costa experience but we didn't mind that in the slightest as the standard was extremely high, with a communal adult and child's pool on the upper level (with no more than 20 people in at one time - bliss!), welcome pack, fabulous master room with ensuite and balcony with our own hot tub. There was a garden for the children and all mod cons which was a god send.

We pretty much hibernated there for our week as we had everything we could need and the view from our balcony was stunning with the sea, Moorish castle and lights of Fuengirola in the distance. The Safari restaurant on the site was fabulous for breakfast and evening meals but not cheap. The only drawback was our 'obligatory' meeting with the rep during our stay which was hellish. We were given the hard sell for 6 hours after being told it would only be for 2 or 3 so we missed a whole day of playing with the children and instead being walked around the resort and 'talked at' with an hour of hard sell at the end of it. Finally we walked away, unable to make any informed decision due to the oppressive nature of the sell-in process. Very badly managed.

All in all a wonderful trip with the family however:
- the twin room single baeds were tiny - roll over and you fall out!
- the plumbing in the room ahead was so noisy it kept us awake
- any heels/chairs being moved above us were very noisy
- there was limited awning/roofing above the balcony which limited its use - a shame for a family wanting to eat outside
- the supermarket on site is very small andalthough reasonably priced, can be so busy you can't move let alone get a pram in!!! They need a larger supermarket on site
- a taxi back from the resort will cost you around 45 euros - budget it in

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank emsie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We have been with club la costa for 4 yrs now. Yes most places are abit away from the main towns but we like this. My hubby, daughter of 17, son and partner and our 2 grand children aged 13 and 7 stayed at the santa cruz suites. This is heaven on earth, 2 beautiful pools surrounded by oasis gardens. The appartment was a 3 bedroom 1 with a sofa bed in livivng room. The master bedroom had unsuite jacuzi bath and the second bedroom was on suite 2. The third bedroom and sofa bed shaired a bathroom and shower room. We were by the pool and also had a jacuzi in the garden. wot more could u want. the appartment was immaculate, well equiped and near the team marine childrens club for my youngest grandson. My other son and his girl friend both 21 stayed at the san diego suites just 2 minutes walk away. they stayed in a studio flat which was nice but had no sitting area and only 2 rings on a cooker and no oven. nice for some people but i prefer space. We cant fault club la costa, staff are always helpfull. The barman in san diego suites Darko is fantastic guy, so helpfull and friendly.

Room Tip: studio flats ok for young party people who eat out alot
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mytweetypie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

The Spanish coast is always a great place for a vacation so this time we decided to take a small children ( 8 & 6) to a vacation trip to Mijas Spain and we stayed at the San Diego Suites in the California Resort, a strange name for a resort outside of the States, in my opinion the name has to be changed.

The kids and us had a great time, and the weather was great, we had a one bedroom suite with a sofa bed in the living room which was enough for our family, the suite did have a kitchen that we used mainly for feeding the boys because they are a little fidgety when it comes to food, so breakfast and dinner for them in the room and a snack at naptime, (after a morning in the sun and water they need a little winding down in the afternoon).



The rest of the time we grownups used the restaurants and order dessert for the kids. We all loved the resort, and the pools and the activities are fun and entertaining.

The rooms were spacious and comfortable, clean and tidy and we requested clean towels and sheets more often than the regular guests, (children tend to get messy) they delivered them promptly and gladly, so we had great reports on the staff who was nice to our kids and us and they were patient and kind.

We will definitely go back to this resort any time because they are so good to families and they accommodate our different needs, we saw staff helping a family with their disabled relative, so we find this kind of service and friendliness good for traveling. I hope this review helps other decide to go on vacation to this lovely place. Enjoy your Spanish vacation!!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lollitrvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

A great place to stay well located, apartments excellent choice of pools fair gym excellent staff.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunrevb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

My huisband and I have been members with Club La Costa for 8 years and have had many wonderful holidays. This was our 4th visit to this resort and as usual the resort lived up to expectations. A wonderful apartment with excellent sea views and as much privavcy as we could have hoped for as a couple. Housekeeping cleaned the apartment every day and would replace towels and bedding anytime we required it - exactly what we had come to expect from CLC. However this time round one or two things let CLC down - badly !! Even though we have been Gold members for 8 years we were subjected to the hard sell, taking up the best part of a morning and when we told them in no uncertain terms we weren't interested we were treated like naughty school children. It was simply unnacceptable behaviour on their part and I have an official compaint pending ! Secondly we were diappointed to find that our favourite restaurant on the resort - the Sunset Restaurant - had been closed, however all of the literature and the signage on the resort advertised it as open ! Not good enough for the money we pay. We were pointed to teh Safari restaurant but it was simply not in the same class and we only ate there once. We do feel that CLC has lost some of its way here. We loved the resort so much because it was so out of the way, quiet and perfect for couples wanting a romantic break. It now seems to be catering to the mass's and has put families at the top of the list - I would imagine becasue they bring in more revenue. It has left a bit of a sour taste in our mouths - that said, because of the privacy the apartment afforded us we were still able to enjoy a most relaxing break in our private terrace and garden ( with jacuzzi ! ) area and of course the wonderful weather helped.

The staff were wonderful as usual, very helpful and always smiling and tehpool area was beautiful, quiet and relzing. There are other pools around the resort if you want something a bit more lively but this one suited us fine.

I hope CLC realises that with its curernt approach it may end up driving peoplke away from its resorts when it shoudl be trying to attract them, especially in the current climate ! and thats a shame as this resort is wonderful in almost every aspect apart from the CLC Sales approach

Room Tip: Book a Premier Plus apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kaspa41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mijas
4.3 mi away
Muthu Grangefield Oasis Club
3.5 mi away
Eurostars Mijas Golf & Spa
4.6 mi away
ILUNION Hacienda del Sol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
#1 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,483 reviews
3.6 mi away
El Oceano Beach Hotel
4.8 mi away
Crown Resorts Club Marbella / Club Regency Palms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CLC San Diego Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CLC San Diego Suites

Address: Carretera Cadiz km 206, 29649, Mijas, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Mijas
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ISO 9001:2008 Certified by BSI (Resort Management services) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
San Diego Suites/California Beach Hotel Mijas
CLC San Diego Suites Mijas, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing