We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great as always”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mijas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
CLC San Diego Suites
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Mijas
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great as always”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

We stay with friends who are CLC members and this year we had a 3 bedroom ground floor apartment with a garden area in Santa Cruz. As always the apartment has everything you need for your stay and is kept spotlessly clean by all the friendly staff. There is nothing nicer than having a nice relaxing soak in the jacuzzi at the start and end of the day. The California Beach Resort has all the facilities to make your stay a great one with pools, bars and restaurants(the Safari in particular is highly recommended and happy to cater for me as I require gluten free food).

There is a train to take you around the various parts of the complex but for those more agile a very nice walk(it is a bit hilly). Other restaurants are well within walking distance as is the lovely beach which can be accessed via a passageway under the main road.

The main town of Fuengirola is only a short distance away with all usual facilities and can also be reached easily on foot.

I would highly recommend this resort for a nice relaxing holiday or as a base to explore Andalusia.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLCWorld, Guest Relations Manager at CLC San Diego Suites, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for your review. An advantage of CLC membership is that it gives our members the chance to share their holiday experiences with family and friends and I am glad to see that you enjoyed your time with us. Our chefs do their best whenever possible to cater for individual eating requirements and I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your meals in our Safari restaurant. Thank you for recommending us, and we wish you well on your future holidays.
Resort Manager, Costa del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    40
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
59
59
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Little River, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The location is great and the resort is great. We didn't rent a car and found it very easy to get around because the public transportation is good and the resort does offer a shuttle to some of the area towns.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My wife and I have been CLC Members since the mid 2000s, and although we have stayed several other of the suites at the California Resorts four or five times, our recent stay there was the first in the San Diego Suite.

We both thought the apartment, pool, club house and staff were top notch, and can honestly say we had no cause to complain.

Our one bed apartment (we had 776) was situated on the second floor with our balcony overlooking the pool and a good view of the sea. What particularly impressed us this time is that Club la Costa have now installed Wifi in the apartments, whereas in the past, if I wanted to go online with my trusty laptop that I take everywhere, I have had to sit in the reception area.

As usual, we had the benefit of Fridge, Freezer, Washing Machine, Dishwasher, Microwave, Wide Screen TV with a good range of English Channels + Sky Sport, DVD player and another TV in the Bedroom.

Like many others on here, we agree that the Safari is the best restaurant (situated in the Santa Cruz Suite area), but must also state that the Sunrise Bar, poolside in San Diego was excellently manned by a Swedish barman named Jorgen, who was very friendly and made nice cocktails!

Many people have mentioned that the California Resort is a bit too far from Fuengirola; we tend to disagree, as, although we were fortunate to have a hired car in which we could get there in about 10 minutes, it really isn't a huge trek by foot, but that's only our opinion!

If I had any criticisms at all I can think of just two:-

i) The Bar prices are a bit steep,

ii) It would be a bonus if there were lifts to access the first and second floor apartments, as our knees suffered a bit!

Overall We give the Whole California resort, and the San Diego Suite in particular the thumbs up, and will definitely book there again soon.

Room Tip: This is pure down to personal choice: the higher-up rooms give a better sea view and sense of openne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rickymint1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLCWorld, Guest Relations Manager at CLC San Diego Suites, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review – we always like to hear from our members and guests as your feedback helps us to maintain our standards. I was glad to see that you enjoyed your first stay in San Diego Suites and that you were able to enjoy the benefit of Wi-Fi in your apartment! We have been exploring the best way to resolve technical issues so we can extend our internet footprint. Thank you so much for your kind comments about our staff, and we were pleased to see that Jorgen’s cocktails met with your approval! We look forward to welcoming you back.
Resort Manager, Costa del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Well we just returned from our 7th holiday and as always, the holiday was great, the weather good. The apartment was clean enough to satisfy any one. The staff were as always polite and helpfully. When ever we we go there we remind our selfs how glad we are to of joined. Thanks to all. I would recommend it to any one.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peteknight37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLCWorld, Guest Relations Manager at CLC San Diego Suites, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your latest holiday with us. We have been enjoying perfect weather and I hope you returned home refreshed and tanned! We hope to see you again, and thank you for feeling able to recommend holidaying with us.
Resort Manager, Costa del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We returned to San Diego Suites for another week this half term and as usual we had a great time. Our appartment was on the ground floor with a small jaccuzzi in the garden, close to the pool and the grand children had a great time. The beach is not far either, and the weather was exceptional for the end of October. We used daily the little train to move around the site as it is a bit hilly. Beautiful gardens, excellent service. We shall be back again.

Room Tip: Most ground floor flats have access to a garden, but for agood sea view you need to go higher. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLCWorld, Guest Relations Manager at CLC San Diego Suites, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thank you for your comments and I was glad to see that your stay coincided with our glorious weather! It was nice to see that your grandchildren enjoyed themselves and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Resort Manager, Costa del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

lovely place, spotlessly clean as expected - CLC standard. Beautiful gardens , very large complex and close to the beach, there is a trian running approx 1/2 houly to take around the complex.
Safari restaurant with superb food and excellent service.
we enjoyed a day trip to morocco, went with an organised tour.
We had a ground floor 1 bedroomed apartment with garden and hot tub on the terrace. fantastic sea views.
reccommend a car if you want to get out, Marbella only 30 mins away.
plenty of supermarkets for shopping.
Peaceful sunny week around 24 each day. 9th nov for 1 week.

Room Tip: ground floors have lovely gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alicebWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLCWorld, Guest Relations Manager at CLC San Diego Suites, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We work hard to maintain high standards on the resort and it is always nice to get such positive feedback. I am glad that you were able to enjoy a warm, sunny winter break with us.
Resort Manager, Costa del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed there from 28th till the 5th and had an amazing time lovely people and the complex is like a village so many thing to do in there would give it 10/10 on the whole stay absolut brilliant the restaurants were great safari had an amazing cook an only a short walk from beach an close to a lovely town and plenty of restaurants

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordan_-_9321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mijas
3.5 mi away
Eurostars Mijas Golf & Spa
3.6 mi away
El Oceano Beach Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
#1 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
TRH Mijas
TRH Mijas
#5 of 27 in Mijas
1,243 reviews
4.3 mi away
Muthu Grangefield Oasis Club
4.6 mi away
ILUNION Hacienda del Sol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CLC San Diego Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CLC San Diego Suites

Property: CLC San Diego Suites
Address: Carretera Cadiz km 206, 29649, Mijas, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Mijas
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ISO 9001:2008 Certified by BSI (Resort Management services) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
San Diego Suites/California Beach Hotel Mijas
CLC San Diego Suites Mijas, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing