We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
CLC Club La Costa World
Ranked #3 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Mijas
Alamogordo, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Vacation”
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Wonderful place to spend a week. The back yard of our apartment was literally right across the street from the Mediterranean Sea...gorgeous sunrises and sunsets sitting on our couch or on the deck. Service was outstanding. There are stairs and hills so if you don't like those things, don't stay. Plenty of places to eat on site but we didn't utilize any.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    410
    171
    75
    64
See reviews for
494
399
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

My husband and I were having our late sunny holiday in October, bit risky as it is Rainy season, but we lucked out. We have been to this resort 3 times and stayed at Castillo del Rey, 2 bed apartment for the first time. There were only 2 of us however it sleeps 6 people.

The view from our private balcony and our bedroom was of the beautiful ocean, we can see the sunrise each morning and we sat and enjoyed breakfast here each day.

These apartments come fully furnished with all kitchen equipment, anything you could think of, they had. They even provided us with a welcome box, containing all the usual tea, coffee, milk, bread, eggs, etc. which was good.

The facilities are excellent, as this is the Club La Costa head quarters. Lots of Activities for all ages, a lot to do for children too.

Has beautiful surroundings, with a sandy beach aprox 10mins walk from these apartments, longer if elsewhere. They do however have a train that takes you around this vast resort as it is quite a hilly walk, a picturesque one nonetheless.

We ate a few times in the restaurant at the resort, but we preferred to walk along the beach as there are many restaurants to choose from, something for everyone.

There is a shopping mall and supermarket all again in walking distance, has a good variety of shops and eateries.

This time around we did a lot of sight seeing, Ronda, Cordoba and Seville. All very beautiful, my favorite however was Seville , a lot more to see. But be warned, if you are catching the winter sun, take warm clothing when touring these places, especially Ronda, being high up in the mountains, it is COLD.

Money saving tip: we booked our excursions with a Travel agent based along the beach, as it works out much cheaper then booking with the resort.
Also from airport to resort is much cheaper if you jump on the train right outside the airport, it takes you to Fuengirola (last stop) then catch a taxi to the resort which is about €12.

I would highly recommend this resort, but they will try and sell you time shares and other bits and pieces to tie you in. We are trial members and it's coming to an end, but we have enjoyed our holidays to this resort.

Room Tip: Room with views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Falguni7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffs
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed for a week on the sales promotion deal of £99. The reception staff were nice & welcoming and the first impression of the resort is good, although very hilly.The small 2 storey house was reasonably well equiped and slighly better than I was expecting. The bathroom was quite new, but I can understand why people struggle with the ceramic hob & as mentioned previously, it did have the usual Spanish drain smell. Only the ground floor has heating. The sales rep did say that these were not as well maintained as the rented properties as they did not want to spend the members maintenance fee on the offer apartments. The grounds were well kept, except there was a lot of cat poo around from the many resort cats, this could be dangerous for children, expectant mums etc.

We went on the sales talk from 9.15 until 15.30. We started with a good breakfast at the Safari and the sales people were friendly and not pushy. We were given a tour of the various apartments, which are fab. We spent a long time, too long I think, going over what type of holidays we had, what type we wanted, where we wanted to stay in the future etc, etc. We were then offered a membership based on 900 points plus maintenance fee. If we agreed to sign up on the day, we got a few incentives, such as a free week. We didn't think the deal was bad, but we didn't want to sign up to such a big commitment on the day, without thinking about it first. We were one of the last couples to leave, but we were offered nothing else such as a trial memebership which other people mention on Trip Advisor. No one ever followed us up and offered to extend the incentives if we signed up before the end of the week for example. So again I'm not sure how people get better offers by walking away. For people who have the time and don't mind self catering, I think it is worth looking in to, but try to work out what holidays you want for the next 19 years (!) & how much they would cost before you go, as you will be expected to sign up there and then.

We hired a car for the week and spent most days off the resort. Ronda, Mijas & Nerja are worth a visit. Puerto Banus is a dump. Near to the resort is a large shopping mall & cinema complex & Fuengirola is about a 15 minute walk on a flat promenade, although we got a taxi back mainly because of the steep walk on the resort. Cale de Mijas is worth a visit for the bar in the old town hall on the beach, spend an hour eating 1 euro tapas & people watching, then go back for lunch.

All in all we had a good week and the staff were not at all pushy if that is your concern.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Valiantsat43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I have just returned from Sierra Marina as a trial member of CLC, stayed for 7 days at Castillo Del Ray one of several sites that make up the CLC complex here 16th to 23rd November 2013.
This is my third holiday with CLC this year so am getting used to their style of holidays .
My apartment in the Castillo Del Ray part of the complex was set out in the usual style kitchen flowing into living area with bedrooms and bathrooms in rooms to the side. Main Bedroom ensuite. A nice seated balcony with table chairs and sun loungers.Very neat and tidy gardens and a heated pool outside. Wonderful see views. Good weather for the time of year most days sunny and warm. No rain. The apartment is well equipped and we did a mixture of eating out and self catering. This worked for us.
The site is very quite at this time of year and suited us well. Most guests we 40+ and there were only a small number of well behaved children.
Site facilities are good with a number of eating areas and bars within the complex all in walking distance although there is a little train that runs round the site which is free as is the porter service who are happy to run you about.
Quality of food within the eating areas is variable, Zacs food is not good although nice as a bar for a drink and Safari is much nicer although expensive.
There is a shop on site which sells all the basics and the staff were friendly. We also booked a couple of trips with the site one to Gibraltar for the day and a buggy safari off roading in Sierra Mijas .Both were very enjoyable.
There is a bus transfer to and from the airport which we did not know about until we arrived which is cheap and runs at the weekend. If this is not available from Mallaga there is a train station next to the airport and Fengirolla is a 1/2 hr 4 euro train ride with a 5 minute taxi ride at the end.
Fengirolla is the local town and a 10 minute walk from the site it has a nice castle and is clean and tidy. I have been told the town is very lively in peak season July and August.
You will read other reviews from people who tell you horror stories about the time share salesmen on site. We chose to buy as we like the CLC brand, it works for us. But a word of caution if you pay to much for you time share, shame on you! walk away they will always come back with a better offer, we did and saved a packet. Don't say I didn't tell you.
I would recommend CLC holidays we have enjoyed ours to date and am looking forward to booking my next holiday soon

Room Tip: ask for an apartment with a sea view, there are many that do not overlook the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malcolm G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This is a lovely, clean and friendly resort. Everything is maintained to a very high standard. The resort restaurants are great and especially the ranch restaurant Establo el Castillo with the attached stables and the horse riding, was awesome

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barbarajv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I cannot understand some people. We all knew when we went on the "free" holiday that we'd have to sit-through a sales presentation and we all know the age-old sales tactics when we do.

Our "trial" membership has been great value for money (over the first 3 of the 6 weeks we bought, plus numerous discounted minibreaks), the standards are brilliant all over and the service has never been anything other than spot-on.

The resorts are spotless and the staff very helpful wherever we've been.

I do know many people who are full-blown members and wish we could join them but simply do not have the finances to at the present time, since only one of us is working just now.

All I can say to anybody buying the trial is stick to it and enjoy your holidays.

To anybody moaning about the "free" holiday and the sales presentations, get a grip. We knew what we were buying into and it is such a tiny portion of the overall great experience, it's simply not worth wingeing about is it?!

I guess some people just have to have something to complain about, even if they have to make it up in the end.

My recommendation. Go and find out how great these resorts are for yourself.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RaymondScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLCWorld, Guest Relations Manager at CLC Club La Costa World, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for kind comments. Our promotional holidays present an opportunity for people to find out more about holidaying with us during our informative and interesting presentations, and I was delighted to see that you have found your trial membership such good value for money. We do set high standards for our resorts and it is always good to get feedback from all our guests, including our members. We wish you and your family well on your future holidays with us.

Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed at the CLC from 3-10 November. The staff were very attentive; the grounds immaculate; the apartment clean, tidy, spacious and excellent views. We stayed in the Santa Cruz Suites in a two bedroomed apartment, which had was fabulous.. The complex is massive but made easier to get around by the small train which runs every half hour. There are plenty of places to eat and though the food is a little expensive it is of excellent quality and variety. The small supermarket on site is not too expensive which was a surprise. It has all you will need for everyday use. We went to Fuengirola market on Tuesday to buy fresh fruit, salad and vegetables. A taxi to Fuengirola costs 10-12 euros; though if you are relatively fit the walk into town is very pleasant along the promenade right into the centre of town. We also took a taxi at a cost of 14 euros to La Cala Mijas for the Saturday market. A great time was had by all of us over 60's!

Room Tip: Santa Cruz suites overlooking the Med. Room 822 was our room. Fabulous views of the November sunri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Viagga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mijas
3.4 mi away
Eurostars Mijas Golf & Spa
4.4 mi away
ILUNION Hacienda del Sol
4.6 mi away
Muthu Grangefield Oasis Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
#1 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,367 reviews
5.5 mi away
TRH Mijas
TRH Mijas
#5 of 27 in Mijas
1,243 reviews
0.9 mi away
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
#7 of 37 in Fuengirola
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CLC Club La Costa World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CLC Club La Costa World

Property: CLC Club La Costa World
Address: Carretera Cadiz Km 206, 29649, Mijas, Spain (Formerly Club La Costa)
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Mijas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — CLC Club La Costa World 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ISO 9001:2008 Certified by BSI (Resort Management services) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your CLC Club La Costa World reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club La Costa At Sierra Marina Hotel Mijas
CLC Club La Costa World Mijas, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing