We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OBVIOUSLY HONESTY DOESN'T PAY ???”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
CLC Club La Costa World
Ranked #2 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Mijas
Skegness, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 464 helpful votes
“OBVIOUSLY HONESTY DOESN'T PAY ???”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This will be the 20+ time I have wrote an honest review about club la costa holidays hotels . but each time they keep getting taken off ?? so why have trip advisor when you cant be honest ??
we found the promo holidays a waste of time !! the cash you need to spend each year(£19,000) on club la costa holidays out weighs what you would pay on your normal holidays !! on paper it looks so good but in reality its not , you have to pay extra money for up keeping etc , half the hotels you want too book are never available !! so please be aware !!! the reps are very pushy ( obviously commission based ) the hotel staff are great

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank myfamilylincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLCWorld, Guest Relations Manager at CLC Club La Costa World, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
We find this review both very puzzling, as the reviewer appears to have been at two of our resorts at the same time, and entirely misleading. Our excellent value promotional holidays are designed to give our guests the opportunity to enjoy one of our resorts in the knowledge that they will spend a morning or afternoon with us finding out more about the different options we have to offer for those who enjoy holidaying in the UK and around the world. We set high standards for our sales team, who are expected to demonstrate courtesy and good manners at all times and our presentation aims to be both entertaining and informative. Our holiday products are designed for people who go on holiday, who will be spending money each year to do just that and who may be interested in holidaying in quality accommodation and enjoying a wide range of membership benefits. The assertion that this costs £19,000 a year is a wilful misunderstanding of what we offer and would appear to refer to our fractional product, which offers the flexibility of a holiday points system but with a Fraction in a property for a finite period. CLC World has nearly 30 years of offering holidays and many of our members have been with us since the beginning. Our members use their points to take holidays and can take advantage of a great choice of special offers, which mean they can holiday as much or as little as they choose each year at prices that compare very favourably with traditional package holidays, while enjoying the significant benefits available to members of CLC World, including a travel club and member services department that offers advice and help on how to make the most of membership. We recognise that our way of holidaying is not for everyone and while we ask people to give us some of their time, of course no-one is obliged to join or purchase anything.
Resort Manager, Club La Costa World
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    417
    173
    76
    64
See reviews for
504
403
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Having just returned from this resort I was in two minds as to whether to leave a review, as normally you hear only the bad side or when something is exceptionally good. In this case we are in the middle however this "middle ground" I felt was worth a review.

Our week (with my wife & two children) was a promotional week which cost under £200 and followed a phone call / email I'd received 6-8months ago - I knew it was linked to a time share presentation and decided to accept that as I had no intention to buy.

The resort is very clean, tidy & well maintained & on arrival we were put in a two bedroom apartment classed as "marketing accommodation". Again clean, tidy & above adequate with 3.5-4 star I'd say.

The complex is large & hilly & our location near reception / where circulating train leaves was good since it was central to most things (pools / shop / bar ) but other accommodation could be some distance from these due to resort size.

Some pools were classed as heated but were not warm enough to use in April but main pool at Zackarys bar was (albeit over crowded) very warm & Ok even if the pool looked a little murky on some days (pump / filtration may need some enhancing!)

Restaurants are OK if you use Safari & one next too reception but others are more for lunch/ snacks & in a 1 week stay we used 4 other restaurants close by or in Fuengirola which is a 25min walk at ave pace.

We changed the day of our presentation without problems & got a morning slot before we left. I was concerned it would be high pressure sales from the start however this was not the case but may have been down to the individual we had which was lucky for us. In principle the idea is good and could work for some people provided you get the level of accommodation they show you at a time you want it however if that is not the case then it won't work.

We chose not to take up the offer which was discounted 4K for a "sign today" and it was only on saying "No" that the female sales manager looked at me in a different way (disbelief) as they knew the opportunity was over for them.

In discussing with others at the resort in our remaining time we got the impression that the level of accommodation offered & availability of it, under fractional ownership, was not what CLC could deliver rather trying to concentrate on getting more people to sign up than facilitating those already signed.

Having heard this & researched more on web where this is echoed I made the right decision not to join but I can see for some people they may have a good experience so I would not dismiss it completely but if you are going to then do thorough research before you get into something you don't want to be in.

In holiday summary it was adequate to good for a week but for longer it could become boring for teenagers & parents alike.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GBkbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We have stayed at Club La Costa World a couple of times now and the apartments are always very clean and comfortable. Everything you need is in the apartments, some even have ovens and air conditioning.

The facilities on site are good but not the cheapest but it is a 20 minute walk or short bus ride into and out of the town centre.

Recommended for a nice quiet relaxing break.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank holidaylover055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We have been there for one week vacation. We initially had some problems just after checked in. They were solved once we reported them and staff were police and very helpful. It is a good location and lots of beaches near by.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DKMK2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Just got back from Sierra Marina which was our last trial week. The apartment was nice but definitely the worst of all the places we have stayed during our trialembership. Shower was so small could barely move but at least we had sun on balcony in the afternoon. Thanks to review from Kit S was prepared for the calls offering free breakfast which we avoided
We got several calls from CLC reps. Had to pay to hire pool towels and go on computer which used to be free. Could have stayed here for less by using Trip Adviser!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLCWorld, Guest Relations Manager at CLC Club La Costa World, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Trial Membership is designed to let families enjoy 5 weeks of quality holidays with a choice of 50 resorts worldwide, plus an initial Prelude holiday in Tenerife or the Costa del Sol. It means guests can sample the variety of holidays we can offer and at exceptional value. At the end of a trial membership we welcome the opportunity to introduce our trial members to any new products that have been introduced to explore whether any are of interest, but of course this is a matter of choice. Our members use their ownership to holiday at prices that compare very favourably with traditional package holidays and holidays at CLC World bought through other agents and in addition, they enjoy significant membership benefits including special offers that enhance their membership. I hope you enjoyed your stays with us, and we wish you well on your future holidays.

Resort Manager, Costa del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I stayed for the first time at Club La Costa and thought the place was great. It had bars and supermarkets on site all reasonably priced. The range of pool use was wonderful and the room was perfect. The place was very clean and tidy and the staff were extremely pleasant. We had everything we needed all on one complex and if we needed to go outside then a bus stop was just a 5 minute walk away or you could stroll along the beachfront for 10/15 minutes to Fuengirola.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

friendly staff could not make up for the fact the room was facing the wrong way around so the rear where we could chill out (literally) lost the sun early well before 12am.
Poor fundamental design leaves the unit we were in with the side facing the sun and the front door where we could not sit, in the sun, in the afternoon.

We were offered another room but the balcony sitting area was public which was not to my wifes liking..

Room Tip: get a room thats south facing, ours wasn't and it was freezing in the evening and at night, desp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WillyGDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mijas
4.6 mi away
Muthu Grangefield Oasis Club
3.4 mi away
Eurostars Mijas Golf & Spa
4.4 mi away
ILUNION Hacienda del Sol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
TRH Mijas
TRH Mijas
#4 of 27 in Mijas
1,262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
#1 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,413 reviews
1.0 mi away
Los Amigos Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CLC Club La Costa World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CLC Club La Costa World

Property: CLC Club La Costa World
Address: Carretera Cadiz Km 206, 29649, Mijas, Spain (Formerly Club La Costa)
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Mijas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — CLC Club La Costa World 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ISO 9001:2008 Certified by BSI (Resort Management services) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your CLC Club La Costa World reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club La Costa At Sierra Marina Hotel Mijas
CLC Club La Costa World Mijas, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing