We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good promotional holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of CLC Club La Costa World

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
CLC Club La Costa World
Ranked #3 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Mijas
Certificate of Excellence
Midlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good promotional holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2009

We paid £318 for a family of four for the promotional holiday. We flew by EasyJet from Bristol - a convenient airport for us and the flights we were allocated worked well as we like arriving at our destination early. CLC booked a car for us to pick up from the airport which we thought ended up quite expensive as we had to upgrade in order to accomodate our luggage (extra 50 Euros for the week) and I don't feel that we overpack as we are always well within our baggage allowances.

Marina del Sol was not the sort of location that we would have chosen ourselves as it was off a busy road and Fuengirola is a much larger resort than we normally visit. However we had a most enjoyable holiday. The staff at the resort were really helpful - we were given a complimentary drink when we arrived and any questions that we had during the week were answered fully by the reception staff. The apartment we had was of a good standard and very well equipped including a welcome pack, washing machine, dishwasher and satelite TV. Lots of towels, toiletries etc in the bathroom. Everything was very clean. Not a huge amount to do on site but to be fair it was December. The heated pool by Zacs was nice and toasty and the children loved playing in it. The on site supermarket was useful when we did not feel like venturing into town to shop.

On the day of the sales presentation, we were lucky to have a lovely person called Frank who showed us around the site and also took us into Fuengirola to show us around there. The top end apartments that they show you are stunning - but make sure you do the sums to ensure that the package is a good deal for you and the way you like to holiday. We explained our reasons for not wanting to invest and these were accepted although we did have to sit through a sales spiel in the exhibition centre before we were allowed to leave. If you have already had to go to a presentation in the UK to claim your promotional holiday, be prepared for a lot of duplication at this point.

I would recommend the promotional holiday. I think that we were treated very fairly by CLC. Just don't sign up for club membership unless you are sure that you would use it enough to be of value to you.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aco9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    368
    159
    67
    58
See reviews for
439
357
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2009

We visited the above on a free weeks holiday to have a look at the resort after my wife "won" the holiday by completing details on facebook survey.

We were at first a little sceptiocal and went to a meeting in Milton Keynes where we got a brief and non pushy sales pitch which we said we were not interested in. We were then offered the Free trip to either Tenerife or Cost del Sol. We opted for Tenerife but when the tthing came through we were told none of the eight dates we gave were available for Tenerife, we had to pay flight taxes and reservation fee I guess it was about £200 in total.

We were still a bit sceptical but went along anyway.

On arrival we were allocated two bedroom apartment in Malibu Mansion, one of the best on the complex, complete with on suit bathroom, second bedroom and bath room, the apartments was all marble floors and equipped with Flat panel TV's in every room and the highest level of cooking and white appliances.

We even had a four person private Jacuzzi on the balcony.

Club La Costa itself was of the highest possible standard, although a bit quiet when we were there and half the restaurants were closed.

I could not fault the staff, with the exception of the person who showed us to our apartment who plainly hated his job despite being in Spain for five years.

The location itself is a bit disappointing to me personally, its seemed more English than some parts of the UK, Fish and chips everywhere and all day breakfast.

We ate on the complex twice and paid about £60 for a meal for two with drinks. We struggled to find nice restaurants out and about and even when visiting places out of Town like El Rancho we had very poor meals at about £100 for the two us and that was for Fish and Chips and Lamb and chips with a couple of drinks.

Club Le Costa gets a big thumbs up but this part of Spain is just not for me. I like my foreign travel to be foreign.

I was very impressed not to be given the hard sell at any point and when circumstances change may even consider becoming a member of the Cost del Sol club but not for this location.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adrianAylesbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2009

I dont usually add comments to websites like this but when a friend told me about all the negitive comments I felt the need to sign up and tell you about our experience briefly (as dont have as much time on my hands as some of these negitive people!!!)

Firstly, may I say how welcoming all the staff are at the resort. Very high standard of accommodation. The benifits the club can offer people whom enjoy, and want high class accommodation at reasonable prices, will find it fabulous and will definatley be for them!!

Contrary to other reviews, there was no pressure to buy into the club. It was very relaxed and well presented and will improve me and my familys future holidays. We were very surprized at the price as expected it to be double what it actually is!!!

My advice is to definatley go on a club la costa promotional holiday with an open mind, and even if it isnt for you you will no doubt have an enjoyable and memorable holiday.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IloveholidaysDOU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2009

we went to this resort because you have to if you want the free holiday which is not a free holiday as you have to pay for flights, taxis etc, most of the holiday is spent being hard sold to so it was no holiday, you waste time catching the mini train to get to anywhere or walking cos your so fed up of waiting!! Wetook our teenage son and neice, it was totally boring for them, the activities staff were useless, non existent and lasted an hour, this part of Spain and this resort resembled sardines in a can on a production line to get you to sign up to a lefetime of despair

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank libbyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2009

CLC is situated just outside of Fuengerola main town , just off a very busy main road. Although it overlooks the sea ,the closest walkable beach is accessed through a tunnel under the main road , and not that great. Resturants on site are good, but relatively expensive.Plenty of cabs on site - apparently the cab drivers "stopped" the bus stopping at the resort - local Spanish politics at work.
Accomodation that we saw was of a very high standard, but we were on a promotional trip, so maybe only shown the best. That said ,was a very clean resort , felt safe - but in half term week was full of British tourists.
We had the hard sell - with a veryu nice breakfast thrown in - but the overall pacakges were poor value, as the service charges are very high.
Not much there for teenagers , but if you want to relax by the pool with a bar very close by, can't be beaten.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2009

This will be a long review as I want to cover as much as possible.

Airline Experience. We flew with Easy Jet and although the experience was OK (no major problems with the flight or flight staff) there was one major problem. Because we were flying with a budget airline we paid nearly £80 for a lounge and arrived at Gatwick airport early. The Easy Jet staff would not let us airside early (though there was no problem at Malaga airport on the way home) and we actually only spent around 40 minutes in the lounge. £2 a minute is a lot of money to pay for the lounge and I will be complaining to Easy Jet about this.

Airport Transfers. Because we guessed we would be arriving fairly late at Malaga we took the easy but expensive option of a private taxi transfer (Economytransfers.com) which cost around £50. The cheaper options are to get a taxi when you arrive (about £40) or better still get the airport train to Fuengirola and get a local taxi out to Costa Mijas. Oddly enough the resort offers a 7 euro transfer (4 for children) back to the airport for the return flight but it only runs twice so you may be at the airport early for your flight home. Malaga airport is appalling price wise 2 euros and 90 cents for a 500ml Coke so don’t spend all your money on the holiday.

Site Experience. The checks in staff were very efficient and the porters took us to our room 234 on the oldest part of the resort. We were given a very Spanish feeling duplex apartment with a living/cooking area and outside patio with stunning sea views. Upstairs (accessed by tiled steps)were two bedrooms with a bathroom between them that was showing its age as there was no extractor fan despite there being no windows.... It was a nice apartment with a fully fitted kitchen with a full oven and hob, washing machine, microwave oven, toaster, kettle, coffee maker ,fridge and all the cutlery etc. you could want. There was an integral hair dryer, ironing board and iron. There is also a TV with Sky 1, BBC etc. And a CD player/radio. The smoke alarm was situated in the corner of the cooking area which meant it went off every time you had some toast which was very annoying. The apartment was set on the side of a steep hill (the whole resort is full of steps and slopes) with another set of apartments on the other side. All these overlooked the sea (though ours was on the shady side) but also the main dual carriageway into Fuengirola and there was also a service road between them. It was VERY noisy what with the Wally trolley /train,traffic noise, bins being emptied at around 4 am each morning and crickets ay night (which annoyed the wife) so I do suggest earplugs..... The afore mentioned service road leads down to a tunnel for access to the beach though it can also be done by a bridge a bit further down the road. The beach was clean and beautiful..
When you book in you will have access to around three pools only and only a limited number are heated. We used Zachary’s main pool (every day) as it was heated and not cold (my wife even swam and that is rare for her on holiday).There was also a life guard there all day.
The only meal we had on site was the free breakfast during the timeshare spiel (normal price 20 EUROS) because the prices were stupid in all the restaurants though we did eat in Fuengirola (and they were not cheap either)
The grounds were nice and well maintained (though given the service charge for members which I will discuss later they should be) but we have stayed in 3 star resorts with better grounds and they certainly bear no comparison to the 6 star resort we stayed in in Mexico. The same applies to the cleaning staff (only one clean mid-week) which was not up to our standards (e.g. hair was under the bed on arrival and was still there when we left).

The local shop was only slightly more expensive than the Spanish supermercados in town and so we used it quite a lot. British brands were expensive but then they were in town. If you like wine you will be in heaven as a litre of table wine can yours for 1 euro (cheaper in town) and good wine is really cheap as well. It is a shame the bars on site do not reflect this fact...3 drinks could be as high as 10 euros...
There are some cats around the resort which are fed by staff and if the ear has been clipped they have been neutuered. The ones with the unclipped ears will be caught by the staff and neutered ASAP.

Fuengirola. If you are not lazy people I suggest you walk into town. First you have to cross the A dual carriageway by the bridge or tunnel then walk about 200 yards down the side and the promenade veers off in front of you. We were pleasantly surprised by the walk and town itself especially a few roads back from the sea front. We had three meals out. 4 veggie paellas, 1 Large beer, 1 small beer and two soft drinks came to 46 Euros at Boccaccio’s, a reasonably priced snack at a French place on the front and on the last day we ate at Bikini Beach which is a lovely setting—3 large Spanish omelettes with side salad, one large hot dog and chips, 1 large beer, 1 small beer and two soft drinks came to 40 euros. The beach all along the front is blue flag and lovely.

Weather. Brilliant hot and sunny all week apart from Wednesday when we were shown around the resort on the timeshare spiel tour.

Trip. We only did one and that was the jeep safari on the Friday. They take you up to little mountain villages where you stop off and go little Tapas bars (try the Tapas at the second stop with the local sweet wine), take you through olive groves, almond groves, orange and lemon groves. One of the villages was being restored around an untarmaced road and was beautiful. The only thing that let the trip down was the basic meal included on the trip but apart from that it was a brilliant day out and we would recommend

Timeshare tour. We were lucky as we had a lovely guy called Frank show us around the market and resort and take us to breakfast. You still need to be firm and to be quite honest you will find it difficult when you are shown around the 4 and 5 star show apartments. They are stunning though there was nothing Spanishy about them and they could have been anywhere in the world. CLC own a lot of resorts and lease rooms from other top chains such as Radisson. Please be aware of the following facts—at the initial timeshare spiel in the UK they will try to get you to sign up to a short taster (around £2500 to £3000). One of the holidays will be here (whether you want it or not) as they will try to get you to upgrade to bronze or silver level and the taster money will be knocked off the price of the upgrade. We spoke to some people around the pool who had signed for the taster and were having lots of problems getting holidays when they wanted them and the standards not being as high as promised when they initially signed. They had lots of problems with the electric box “tripping”. They were advised at the meeting to go in at the silver level which would have cost them £280 a month with service charges which were not made fully clear (these can actually vary from £500 to £1000 dependent on the level you are at). I think this was over a 20 year period. Bear in mind that this price does not include flights and all it pays for is one “floating” week at CLCs resorts or you can pay transfer costs and move to RCI. You can book more than one week but extra weeks will cost you around £100 at their resorts (assuming you can book when you want and I would suggest two years in advance to have any chance whatsoever). If money is no object, only 4* apartments will do and you don’t mind being harassed every holiday you take to upgrade to the next level (you should be safe once you get to Platinum level, I guess.) then you could do worse than this company who are well established with a good reputation compared to some of the others out there. We met a handful of happy customers and quite a few unhappy ones as well. You will not always stay in luxury despite what you are told as can be seen from the review below (club la conmen) and availability IS an issue for everyone we spoke to but their new apartments are built to a very high standard. The actual pitch was fine (though it’s very interesting what they don’t tell you) and I didn’t need to use my own research to get away (and personal experiences of two people we know who have had dealings with CLC) These were my nuclear options if the pitch got too intense but we were allowed to walk away after 5 and bit hours of Franks lovely company with those still in my back pocket. To summarise do a lot of research before you attend either pitch and if you take the promotional holiday speak to the people around you by the pool. Most importantly do the sums before you sign up and decide if it’s right for you.

The holiday was lovely, the apartment was nice, the heated pool was great and on that basis I would say go along for the promotional holiday but please take care during the sales pitch and don’t get too carried away as you may regret it later..

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank mexico-lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wells.somerset
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2009

SORRY ITS A LONG ONE WITH LOTS OF INFO THAT NO ONE ELSE HAS WRITTEN:
I got a phone call to say I'd won a FREE HOLIDAY except I have to go along to collect my information , I wasn't stupid I knew what it was before I went but they told me I would get £25 in vouchers for going, so I dragged my husband along. After being in this office in Bristol for 3 hours saying we were not interested we got a bonus of £50 in vouchers and was told we could still go on the holiday.
The free holiday was not free £29.50 pp plus airport taxes so it came to £318 for 4 of us , thought ok thats not bad . Put down Tenerife didn't get it but instead got there head office in spain' what a surprise'.
Just before we were due to go started to read the review's of anyone who wasn't a member. Realised we would have to go through the presentation all again which we thought we had already done,
So when they rang I said want the presentation as early as possible in the holiday.
We arrived on the Sunday ,On the Monday the phone rang and I anwsered it, the lady said checking your appointment is ok for the Thursday , I was livid and told the lady what I had already asked for and she changed it to the Tuesday.
When she arrived at 10.15am she asked if we new what it was about and straight away we told her that we thought we had already done this in the uk and this was are FREE HOLIDAY, she said she was new and they are different companies and some people say NO in england because they can't see what they are buying.
Before she got the slightest bit interested in us , we told her she was waisting her time and then we told her something which is true except we do holiday. Told her that I have a life threatining illness and I live in hospital and have been on life support 4 times in 10 years which I have and its called Type 2 Brittle Asthma. ( All that is true ) , the bit that isn't is we don't go on holiday because of it. So I told a little white lie but sometimes I haven't been away because of my health and we can't get travel insurance so it doesn't suit us as we can only do last minute holidays.
Anyway we know from reading the review's that they have an anwser for everything and they are a bit like leaches so we were extra carefull and suggest you are too.
During the breakfast she spoke to her manager who said we still had to do the tour or pay for the holiday . So she showed us round 2 very quickly knowing we weren't interested got to the talk money room or holding room which is what it feels like,
Called the manager ,neither spoke money as new there was no point , then made me sign something to say my situation had changed and let us go , 2 hours later.
So go prepared what you are going to say , I was prepared and it helped.

There is lots of different types of accomidation . Some Excellent like San Deigo and Malibu Mansion. California suites are the best . The other accomidation is fine and where we were which was 163 , was great . Although you can be unlucky and have accomidation near the dual carrigeway or near the bars and clubs or reception which is noisy.

There are lots of pools each 20 houses have their own pool but they are freezing cold even the ones they say are heated are cold, not as cold but they are still cold.

Advice if you get any accomidation that isn't in San Deigo ,Malibu Mansion. California suites then your sun beds will be chained together and they are thin and not very comfortable. but if you use either San deigo or California beach pool the sun beds are all single and they come with comfortable cushions and the pool is nicer and no one checks whether you should be there or not.

There is no atmosphere , no one talks to anyone its all so separate. Its too big and commercial.

cheaper to use supermarket or camping shop off site.
Restaurants in town are cheaper and nicer walk takes 30 mins its not far walk along the beach front. Then when you are near the harbour , walk one street away from sea and then you will find streets of retaurants,
Bus comes every 20 mins and costs 1 euro 20 but you have to put your arm out , to get it to stop.
The only proper market is on Tuesday , the Saturday one they say is on is a car boot sale, we found out the hard way and missed the market.
You can go up the cable cars in the mountains they cost 13 euros each and there is a free bird show and great views. Get the bus to town then the train ro bendalema for 3 euos 50 return.
If you want to know anything else or ask me questions please contact me,

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank smpc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mijas
0.9 mi away
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
Myramar Fuengirola Hotel
#6 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
#1 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hacienda Puerta del Sol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Club Calahonda Crown Resort
2.9 mi away
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
#3 of 4 in La Cala de Mijas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
0.9 mi away
Los Amigos Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CLC Club La Costa World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CLC Club La Costa World

Property: CLC Club La Costa World
Address: Carretera de Cadiz Km 206, 29649, Mijas, Spain (Formerly Club La Costa)
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Mijas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — CLC Club La Costa World 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ISO 9001:2008 Certified by BSI (Resort Management services) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, LateRooms and Onthebeach so you can book your CLC Club La Costa World reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club La Costa At Sierra Marina Hotel Mijas
CLC Club La Costa World Mijas, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing