We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolute Bliss !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'escala Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mijas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
L'escala Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Mijas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portstewart, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Absolute Bliss !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

We have just returned from a short break In L'escala,having visited last summer with our kids, we returned as a couple this time looking for rest and relaxation.... within 10 minutes of arriving the relaxation had kicked in...the rest followed soon after. The hotel was just as perfect as it was on our first visit the only change was seasonal and that was to the fantastic gardens,bursting with colour...birds of paradise peeking out from the borders, geraniums cascading from pots and fruit trees laden with fruit. Our hosts were as amazing as ever and the company of the other guests was great. We are so looking forward to a return vist in July with our kids who have just about forgiven us for nipping off to L'escala without them! Thank you David and Les for a fantastic mini break.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wingding22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
115
138
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derry, N Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

Took a few days out to get a break away from it all and as you would expect from this wonderful location and setting it didnt disappoint. Very high standards off service and facilities.The attention to detail by Les and David is what makes Lescala so special don't tell everyone as there will not be enough days in the year to get a booking! The number of repeat bookings says it all

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doire2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

We stayed in the Eden Suite which was perfect for our family (2 adults & 2 teenagers). We celebrated my husband's 50th birthday here staying for a blissful 5 days to relax and recharge our batteries. The weather was glorious. Les and David are perfect hosts and are on hand should you need anything, without being intrusive. Beautifully furnished and well kept gardens/pool make this an ideal retreat. We enjoyed walks to the local village with a good choice of restaurants, to the beach and the local market. Supermarkets are a short walk away as is the local bus stop. Les provided the transfers to/from the airport and also gave us a guided tour of the area on the way which was very helpful. His local knowledge is extensive and well worth listening to. It was a pleasure to stay here and we too hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: The Eden Suite is perfect for families of 4 with a large private roof terrace, although all of the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Legalsec2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

Prior to booking the L'escala for 6 nights I studied previous comments that had been posted on Tripadvisor which nearly all gave 5 star ratings. I must admit I had my suspicions. However how wrong could I be. From the moment Les collected us from the airport to the moment we we were dropped off at the airport I knew we made the right decision. Les attitude towards his guests was amazing, Take note all you 5 star sole-less Hotels. I don't make this comment lightly, I have never been made to feel so welcome and his knowledge of the local area is first class. The Hotel has 8 beautiful rooms, the guest lounge and pool areas are just amazing.

Les co-produces a Flamenco show and we arranged with him to go along, cost 25 euros including transport and a drink. I know this is cheap as chips for Flamenco so I was a bit skeptical. How wrong could I be; the show was fantastic. Les can also arrange various trips for his guests, just wish i had more time. However their will be a next time, We are independent travelers and don't need much help when we are abroad but i would like to take the opportunity to thank Les,Dave all his staff for creating such a wonderful Hotel.

The area itself is not built up like the neighboring areas of Fuengirola and Marbella. It is very low key, however it was out of season. Their are some really nice restaurants a short walk from the Hotel. We walked to Fuengirola one day, easy walk along mainly the beach. Their is a bus stop 2 minute walk from the Hotel that goes in one direction to Marbella and the other to Fuengirola. If you want to get the bus to Mijas Pueblo the you get of the bus at the bus station in Fuengirola(last stop) and jump on the Mijas Pueblo bus, total cost was under 4 euros. Mijas Pueblo is gorgeous and well worth a visit or a couple of nights stay, we got a taxi back the the hotel 22 euros.

If you want to stay in a peaceful beautiful Hotel in a fantastic location then don't hesitate to visit the L'escala Hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms are first class
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamboEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

Visited over easter ,and had a brilliant chilled out week.
Les is the perfect host and nothing is too much trouble.
The local village is quaint and not over-commercialised
and the bars and shops are within easy walking distance.
The rooms are spacious and well equipped,and our suite had
a massive private balcony and super views.
Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in this area
and i hope to return again. thank you les and staff!!!!.

Room Tip: eden suite is supurb
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

So nice to visit a beautiful part of Spain away from the usual destinations. The hotel was lovely, so homely and welcoming. Les was so helpful. We would highly recommend the flamenco show. The little tour of the village on the way to the hotel provided us with lots of ideas to make our stay even better! Hope to return again to the hotel in the future. Thank you Les

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliemcv12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

Just a really beautiful, easy place to stay.
Les and David make sure their description of the place is in no way misleading and will go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable.
Lovely, stylish hotel in a great location. The beach really is a few minutes walk. Plenty of amenities near by and everything is just a bus ride away.
We've stayed twice so far and during those stays we've been to Gibralta, Morocco, Marbella and Malaga from the hotel either on a coach or by bus which stops at the end of the road. These places are really cheap and easy to get to from the hotel and after a long day out it's a truly beautiful place to come back to and relax.
Would advise anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gemmaquilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mijas
0.5 mi away
El Oceano Beach Hotel
10.7 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 71 in Marbella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
11.4 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
18.2 mi away
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
10.8 mi away
Hotel Claude Marbella
Hotel Claude Marbella
#1 of 71 in Marbella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'escala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'escala Hotel

Property: L'escala Hotel
Address: Ur Torrenueva 285 Calle San Fernando, 29649, Mijas, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Mijas
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to L'escala Boutique Hotel ,where holidays are designed to fulfill all your needs and personal requirements. Located on the Costa del sol between Marbella and Fuengirola you find the place you were dreaming about. Different suites for different occasions and lifestyles. Excellent location places us 5 minutes walk from an unspoiled beach,and close by to a great selection of restaurants/bars. Contact us for special last minute/ advanced booking deals. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
L'Escala Hotel Mijas, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing