We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, needs to focus on the guest experience to become good.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Matchroom Country Club
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Mijas
bedford
Level 6 Contributor
478 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Nice place, needs to focus on the guest experience to become good.”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Been going to Mijas for 20 years. This resort has a great location and the grounds are immaculate. We were upgraded, which was delightful. The restaurant and bar were very good and we ate there a lot. However, the sales people are too obvious. Paying for Internet is annoying. Closing the bar and restaurant on a "party" night (Friday's in low season) and not publicising it well, is scandalous and shows poor business judgement. They go out of their way to highlight the Flamenco evening and other revenue earning items. Waiters and reception staff are very good. Check-out was not good as reception did not open until 09.00 so our "goodbye" was rubbish compared to our "hello". Focus on the guest experience and the revenue will increase. We had noisy neighbours in apartment 42 who showed no consideration for others.

Room Tip: Book a one bed and get upgraded to a two in low season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickmBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageResorts30, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Matchroom Country Club, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
We are really pleased to read that you’ve had a lovely time at Heritage Resorts & Hotels – thank you for your review! We really hope that you’ll consider us for future visits to Spain, and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    85
    43
    11
    11
See reviews for
71
91
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The 2nd time we have stayed at this resort. The reception staff are very friendly, welcoming and efficient. The gardens and pool area are magnificently kept. The views overlooking Mijas Golf course are superb.
Unfortunately the apartments are now a bit dated, think plastic pastel coloured bathroom suites, the towels rather thin, old square televisions, ceiling mounted heaters/airconditioners that don't appear to work but the views in the morning and the friendliness of the staff make up for these shortcomings.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canary175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageResorts30, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Matchroom Country Club, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
We are really pleased to read that you’ve had a lovely time at Heritage Resorts & Hotels – thank you for your review! We would like to apologize for any issues you may have encountered during your stay
We really hope that you’ll consider us for future visits to Spain, and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whiting, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Great time and Beautiful grounds! Staff very professional and helpful. These ladies always with helpful advice. Perfect weather this past October! 80's everyday! Perfect for a vacation. This resort is a 5 star as far as the grounds go, but the apartments are somewhat tired. But clean! the spanish housekeepers where wonderful, cleaned thoroughly every 3 day with sheets and towels changed. The pools are heated and large and deep. But No poolside service and no music at this time of year. This was a disappointment. As a matter of fact, no flamenco music at all in the area. The food was good everywhere we visited. The Spanish people are very hard working and lovely people! English is spoken everywhere. Lots of Brits! and I never met another American! For us it was a great value, I got 2 weeks to my 1 for my exchange in Florida.

Room Tip: the apartments are very clean but the furniture is tired. But this did not bother us because it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anniec1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageResorts30, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Matchroom Country Club, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
We are really pleased to read that you’ve had a lovely time at Heritage Resorts & Hotels – thank you for your review! We really hope that you’ll consider us for future visits to Spain, and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Fabulous stay at Matchroom, check in was friendly and very efficient. Apartment was great and well equipped overlooking the beautifully maintained gardens and smaller pool. The apartment was spotless and the beds were great, I never manage to sleep whilst away but I slept like a baby. The resort is away from the coast but this is why I chose it as it gives you peace and there is a nice mix of nationalities. Yes you need a car but I find it hard to believe people who use timeshare do not hire a car, Fuengirola, restaurants & supermarkets/shops are only 7 minute's drive away.
The apartment is cleaned every two days which was above and beyond what is needed if you are a normal traveller and not OCD! There was ample towels and kitchen equipment, a flat screen TV in the lounge with ample channels and a TV in the double bedroom. Also it was nice to have air conditioning.
The pool was great and not at all crowded, one evening we were still swimming at 20:30, no pool towels are not provided but who would complain about this we ought some in town for €5 each a bargain that we left behind as we did not want to take them home.
I would recommend this resort to anybody who enjoys a peaceful location and high standards and is not hung up about having to hire a car. Our stay was perfect as were the staff, nice international fellow guests who are courteous and a good chance to practice your languages. The resort is free the loud loutish behaviour you get in some resorts on the Costa del Sol, I will be back!

Room Tip: All apartments are good we were in apartment 11.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageResorts30, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Matchroom Country Club, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
We are really pleased to read that you’ve had a lovely time at Heritage Resorts & Hotels – thank you for your review! We really hope that you’ll consider us for future visits to Spain, and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We spent a week at Matchroom Country Club in a two bedroom apartment. We were on the top level with a roof top terrace. The view of the pool, golf course and hillsides was great. The pool was really nice and the restaurant was excellent. El Golf restaurant down the road is well worth a try as well. We did not rent a car so it was difficult getting around. The taxis are expensive and hard to find at the beach. The have a shuttle to the town but only on Mondays and Fridays from 10:00 to 1:00. We enjoyed our trip to Rhonda and Marbella. Expensive for taxi and tour but well worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageResorts30, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Matchroom Country Club, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
We are really glad to learn that you had a relaxing time here with us and enjoyed your stay in one of our spacious well appointed apartments. We hope to see you coming back with another visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxted, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Stayed in a superb apartment with lovely view over the newly refurbished golf course and pool. Looked like it had recently had a new kitchen. The resort was very welcoming and the staff helpful. They provided details of local markets and can provide tips on places to visit.

No organised activities which was fine as we wanted a quiet week sat round the pool reading. Really need a car to get to shops or to get around as the resort is quite isolated. About 5 mins to supermarkets in car.

Quiet bar and underused restaurant. Never crowded around the pool.

Got accommodation as timeshare exchange.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageResorts30, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Matchroom Country Club, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
We are really glad to learn that you had a relaxing time here with us and enjoyed your stay in one of our spacious well appointed apartments. We hope to see you coming back with another visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

General
- Lovely location for golfing and also as a base for discovering the Andalusian hills and villages. With Mijas (30 mins by car) and Ronda (100 mins) recommended as must see. If the idle rich and people watching is your thing then Puerto Banus (60 mins) is also a must.
- The resort is located approx 17 miles or 30 min drive from Malaga airport
- If you take a taxi from the airport then budget for around 60€ one way
- Quick note for anyone thinking of picking up a car at the airport. Allow up to 3 hours if you have booked through rentalcars.com or Gold Cars. Queues were unbelievable and unless you have an express check-in priority booking be prepared for the incomprehensible wait! It's the norm apparently. Also be prepared to pay for a full tank of fuel at airport prices and return the car empty. Total rip-off.

Resort Pros
- all of the staff from reception, bar and housekeeping were extremely friendly and accommodating
- the resort is good for young families with 3 pools but there are no lifeguards on duty
- the apartment was clean and well equipped. For RCI members the apartments would require updating to remain or retain a Gold Standard
- the room came with a complimentary safe

Resort Cons
- Apartment noise. Water flushing, people climbing steps and doors closing all echoed around the marble floored rooms Seems like there is no sound proofing at all in the building and you can assume a morning one up all up scenario for the duration
- TV facilities in the room had limited channels and at times poor reception
- Limited free wifi is available in the bar area. Or if you want to use in the apartment wifi is available but costs approx 8€ per 24hrs
- There is no shop on site or even in the near vicinity. The nearest shop is a 5 min drive or 20 min hike along a main road taking your life in your hands as there are no pavements
- The resort does not provide pool towels
- The resort possesses a nice poolside bar, but it is rarely open
- Restaurants on site had a rather limited menu and seemed overpriced. Recommend short 200m walk to the El Golf restaurant for better atmosphere, choice of food and value for money
- Access to a car is also a must when staying here. Underground secure parking is available and provides a challenge to the most experienced of drivers and the bigger the car the more fun you're likely to have.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mijas hotels
0.1 mi away
Eurostars Mijas Golf & Spa
5.0 mi away
Crown Resorts Club Marbella / Club Regency Palms
2.6 mi away
ILUNION Hacienda del Sol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
TRH Mijas
TRH Mijas
#5 of 27 in Mijas
1,243 reviews
5.4 mi away
Crown Resorts Club Calahonda
5.1 mi away
Ona Campanario
Ona Campanario
#11 of 27 in Mijas
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matchroom Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matchroom Country Club

Property: Matchroom Country Club
Address: Urbanisation Mijas Golf, 29650, Mijas, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Mijas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Matchroom Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matchroom Country Club Hotel Mijas
Matchroom Country Club Mijas, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing