We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Matchroom Country Club
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Reyesol(Fuengirola)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Agur(Fuengirola)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (219)
Filter reviews
219 results
Traveller rating
54
94
48
11
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
94
48
11
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursemijas golffull size snookerpool bar was not opengolf loversgreat apartment complexpaddle tennis courtnearest supermarketsauna and jacuzzispent a weektaxi eurossnooker roomno liftsitting on the balconycoach triptee timeswould recommend a visit
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 219 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Been going to Mijas for 20 years. This resort has a great location and the grounds are immaculate. We were upgraded, which was delightful. The restaurant and bar were very good and we ate there a lot. However, the sales people are too obvious. Paying for Internet is annoying. Closing the bar and restaurant on a "party" night (Friday's in low season) and not publicising it well, is scandalous and shows poor business judgement. They go out of their way to highlight the Flamenco evening and other revenue earning items. Waiters and reception staff are very good. Check-out was not good as reception did not open until 09.00 so our "goodbye" was rubbish compared to our "hello". Focus on the guest experience and the revenue will increase. We had noisy neighbours in apartment 42 who showed no consideration for others.

Room Tip: Book a one bed and get upgraded to a two in low season.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nickmBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageResorts30, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Matchroom Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

We are really pleased to read that you’ve had a lovely time at Heritage Resorts & Hotels – thank you for your review! We really hope that you’ll consider us for future visits to Spain, and we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The 2nd time we have stayed at this resort. The reception staff are very friendly, welcoming and efficient. The gardens and pool area are magnificently kept. The views overlooking Mijas Golf course are superb.
Unfortunately the apartments are now a bit dated, think plastic pastel coloured bathroom suites, the towels rather thin, old square televisions, ceiling mounted heaters/airconditioners that don't appear to work but the views in the morning and the friendliness of the staff make up for these shortcomings.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Canary175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageResorts30, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Matchroom Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

We are really pleased to read that you’ve had a lovely time at Heritage Resorts & Hotels – thank you for your review! We would like to apologize for any issues you may have encountered during your stay
We really hope that you’ll consider us for future visits to Spain, and we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Great time and Beautiful grounds! Staff very professional and helpful. These ladies always with helpful advice. Perfect weather this past October! 80's everyday! Perfect for a vacation. This resort is a 5 star as far as the grounds go, but the apartments are somewhat tired. But clean! the spanish housekeepers where wonderful, cleaned thoroughly every 3 day with sheets and towels changed. The pools are heated and large and deep. But No poolside service and no music at this time of year. This was a disappointment. As a matter of fact, no flamenco music at all in the area. The food was good everywhere we visited. The Spanish people are very hard working and lovely people! English is spoken everywhere. Lots of Brits! and I never met another American! For us it was a great value, I got 2 weeks to my 1 for my exchange in Florida.

Room Tip: the apartments are very clean but the furniture is tired. But this did not bother us because it was clean with our ladies coming every other day for a full apartment cleanup with sheets and towels replaced.The ladies at the front desk were invaluable! Great attitude and totally professional and helpful. I also felt very safe at this resort. Gates and security code changes weekly. You will be in fuengorola in 10 minutes and very convenient to ap7 & a7. We stayed for 2 weeks and never met another American couple. Mostly retired Brits! which I felt stayed to theirselves. We are very friendly people but it was mostly on our own initiative to engage in any kind of conversation. The spanish people are very gracious and friendly when encouraged to conversant.English spoken everywhere. If we didnt want to speak spanish it would not have been a problem. The resort is very convent to shopping, restaurants and beaches. Went to Ronda on 2nd day and it was wonderful, but 500 turns up the mountains can be intimidating. Mijas puebla is a must see in the mountains up top from the resort. Gibraltar was our highlight considering it was a trip to connect with family and family history. Walk over to Gibraltar, we spent 4 hours on the day we decided to take the car in. The spanish are giving the return trip to spain a real hassle. Loved the food and the coffee to never forget. Would love to go back. But this resort in just beyond residential areas into the Golf areas.15 minutres to the beautiful beaches.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anniec1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageResorts30, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Matchroom Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

We are really pleased to read that you’ve had a lovely time at Heritage Resorts & Hotels – thank you for your review! We really hope that you’ll consider us for future visits to Spain, and we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Fabulous stay at Matchroom, check in was friendly and very efficient. Apartment was great and well equipped overlooking the beautifully maintained gardens and smaller pool. The apartment was spotless and the beds were great, I never manage to sleep whilst away but I slept like a baby. The resort is away from the coast but this is why I chose it as it gives you peace and there is a nice mix of nationalities. Yes you need a car but I find it hard to believe people who use timeshare do not hire a car, Fuengirola, restaurants & supermarkets/shops are only 7 minute's drive away.
The apartment is cleaned every two days which was above and beyond what is needed if you are a normal traveller and not OCD! There was ample towels and kitchen equipment, a flat screen TV in the lounge with ample channels and a TV in the double bedroom. Also it was nice to have air conditioning.
The pool was great and not at all crowded, one evening we were still swimming at 20:30, no pool towels are not provided but who would complain about this we ought some in town for €5 each a bargain that we left behind as we did not want to take them home.
I would recommend this resort to anybody who enjoys a peaceful location and high standards and is not hung up about having to hire a car. Our stay was perfect as were the staff, nice international fellow guests who are courteous and a good chance to practice your languages. The resort is free the loud loutish behaviour you get in some resorts on the Costa del Sol, I will be back!

Room Tip: All apartments are good we were in apartment 11.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageResorts30, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Matchroom Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

We are really pleased to read that you’ve had a lovely time at Heritage Resorts & Hotels – thank you for your review! We really hope that you’ll consider us for future visits to Spain, and we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We spent a week at Matchroom Country Club in a two bedroom apartment. We were on the top level with a roof top terrace. The view of the pool, golf course and hillsides was great. The pool was really nice and the restaurant was excellent. El Golf restaurant down the road is well worth a try as well. We did not rent a car so it was difficult getting around. The taxis are expensive and hard to find at the beach. The have a shuttle to the town but only on Mondays and Fridays from 10:00 to 1:00. We enjoyed our trip to Rhonda and Marbella. Expensive for taxi and tour but well worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageResorts30, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Matchroom Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

We are really glad to learn that you had a relaxing time here with us and enjoyed your stay in one of our spacious well appointed apartments. We hope to see you coming back with another visit soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews