We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent. Again.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Matchroom Country Club
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Mijas
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

We first visited the Matchroom resort a couple of years ago, and decided to return this year using our RCI exchange. I'm glad we did.

We arrived early, and had a couple of hours to wait before our unit could be ready - which was fair enough, we arrived at 11:30am and in our unit by 1:30pm. The unit was a 2 bedroom apartment, and it was a really good size.

In my last review I mentioned a few negatives, for example the golf course redevelopment and dated furnishings. I'm happy to say that the golf course is complete and looks fantastic, and the room had been upgraded with new sofas and flat screen TV. Still no air con in the main living area, but there is air con in the bedrooms. Kitchens are well equipped with hob, oven, microwave, fridge freezer, dishwasher and washing machine as well as a good selection of crockery and utensils.

Unfortunately, the timeshare sales guys are still there, preying on the RCI exchange guests to "give them feedback on the resort". We were caught out last time with a free breakfast and an attempted sales pitch so we cut them short this time and made it very clear we weren't interested. To be fair, they didn't bother any of the non-RCI guests as far as I could tell.

We ate in the bar a couple of times for lunch, and it was fine, although I really didn't like the burger. Service is always good.

No real negatives this time round - the resort is beautifully maintained with superb views over the golf course and hills. They started renovation of the poolside toilet block during the week of our stay which caused some noise and minor disruption but I'm sure this work won't take long to complete.

Stayed: May 2014
2  Thank Jonny_Wilko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageResorts30, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Matchroom Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

We are really glad to learn that you had a relaxing time here with us and enjoyed your stay in one of our spacious well appointed apartments. We hope to see you coming back with another visit soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

My husband and I have just returned from the Matchroom. This is our 3rd visit and again we had a great holiday. We exchanged through RCI. We had a ground floor 2 bed and 2bathroom apartment. We had a few steps from our apartment to the lovely heated outdoor pool, which enabled us to swim every morning. The apartments have everything you need including washing machine and dishwasher. Towels were changed 4times a week. The bar prices were good. As members of Heritage you were given a 10per cent discount card. You need a car as no shop on site and busy road to get to nearest one. Suzanne on reception really friendly and helpful. The down side is they close restaurant and bar on a Friday which makes no sense as checkout day is a Saturday so Friday your last night before leaving is when you want them to be open. Just a mention about the security guard who was so helpful. He even brought our cases to our hire car and put them in the boot for us. You don't get that kind of service often. We had 2 weeks of fantastic weather which made our holiday complete.

Room Tip: We like ground floor as there are no lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrissieEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageResorts30, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Matchroom Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

We are really glad to learn that you had a relaxing time here with us and enjoyed your stay in one of our spacious well appointed apartments. We hope to see you coming back with another visit soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The beauty of this resort is among the top we have been too in 30 years of traveling. IT IS MAGNIFICENT. Do not be deceived by the beauty of this resort.We were robbed while we slept. As stated in the March 2013 review, they come into the room, quickly go through the stuff and took credit cards and cash. Unlike the persons below who had everything taken, they did not bother with our phones, laptops, camera, or passports. We had NICE ROBBERS. We don't keep much cash in our wallets so they did not completely ruin our holiday. They quickly use the cards and purchase via the internet.

More ghastly was the nonchalant attitude. Comments such as "This happens in Spain." "They are very thorough and quite agile." We were on the third floor - 2nd in Europe. I have no clue how they could have scaled the building.

Actually believe they came through slider or the front door with access. The day after this happened, we had gone out and secured every door and window. We returned to find the slider unlocked. The maid had been in the room to change the linens. Why would she need to go to the terrace. There was nothing she needed to do out on the terrace. Coincidence? You decide. We had locked up everything.

Before you write this off as an unhappy American, we have traveled to Spain before. I have traveled extensively through the Middle East and Africa. I never felt unsafe in Beirut, Istanbul, Nairobi or Khartoum. I slept on the sofa for the remainder of the holiday whilst my wife and daughter tried to sleep for the remainder of the trip.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Lisa and Jerry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageResorts30, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Matchroom Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

We would like to apologize for the issue you have encountered during your stay. We strive to provide excellent service and every time and to every guest and we are hope that this has not left a lasting bad impression and that you had an overall pleasant stay. The theft suffered in your apartment is unusual, we inform all customers to close their balconies while they sleep even they stay on the third floor, the theft can be through the roof.
May I take this opportunity to once again apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you during your stay and I hope that despite this incident we can welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Visited as timeshare exchange guests during UK Easter school holidays, with friends and had a great time. Apartment overlooked the pool and golf course, onsite restaurant served great quality food at reasonable prices, the Flamenco Night was great fun. Weather was exceptional which probably helped. Very clean apartment, serviced twice during the week, very comfortable for four in the two bed, two bath rooms. Can't wait to go back again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Colincoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageResorts30, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Matchroom Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

We are really pleased to read that you’ve had a lovely time at Heritage Resorts & Hotels – thank you for your review! We really hope that you’ll consider us for future visits to Spain, and we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Been going to Mijas for 20 years. This resort has a great location and the grounds are immaculate. We were upgraded, which was delightful. The restaurant and bar were very good and we ate there a lot. However, the sales people are too obvious. Paying for Internet is annoying. Closing the bar and restaurant on a "party" night (Friday's in low season) and not publicising it well, is scandalous and shows poor business judgement. They go out of their way to highlight the Flamenco evening and other revenue earning items. Waiters and reception staff are very good. Check-out was not good as reception did not open until 09.00 so our "goodbye" was rubbish compared to our "hello". Focus on the guest experience and the revenue will increase. We had noisy neighbours in apartment 42 who showed no consideration for others.

Room Tip: Book a one bed and get upgraded to a two in low season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nickmBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageResorts30, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Matchroom Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

We are really pleased to read that you’ve had a lovely time at Heritage Resorts & Hotels – thank you for your review! We really hope that you’ll consider us for future visits to Spain, and we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The 2nd time we have stayed at this resort. The reception staff are very friendly, welcoming and efficient. The gardens and pool area are magnificently kept. The views overlooking Mijas Golf course are superb.
Unfortunately the apartments are now a bit dated, think plastic pastel coloured bathroom suites, the towels rather thin, old square televisions, ceiling mounted heaters/airconditioners that don't appear to work but the views in the morning and the friendliness of the staff make up for these shortcomings.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Canary175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageResorts30, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Matchroom Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

We are really pleased to read that you’ve had a lovely time at Heritage Resorts & Hotels – thank you for your review! We would like to apologize for any issues you may have encountered during your stay
We really hope that you’ll consider us for future visits to Spain, and we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Great time and Beautiful grounds! Staff very professional and helpful. These ladies always with helpful advice. Perfect weather this past October! 80's everyday! Perfect for a vacation. This resort is a 5 star as far as the grounds go, but the apartments are somewhat tired. But clean! the spanish housekeepers where wonderful, cleaned thoroughly every 3 day with sheets and towels changed. The pools are heated and large and deep. But No poolside service and no music at this time of year. This was a disappointment. As a matter of fact, no flamenco music at all in the area. The food was good everywhere we visited. The Spanish people are very hard working and lovely people! English is spoken everywhere. Lots of Brits! and I never met another American! For us it was a great value, I got 2 weeks to my 1 for my exchange in Florida.

Room Tip: the apartments are very clean but the furniture is tired. But this did not bother us because it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anniec1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeritageResorts30, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Matchroom Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

We are really pleased to read that you’ve had a lovely time at Heritage Resorts & Hotels – thank you for your review! We really hope that you’ll consider us for future visits to Spain, and we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mijas hotels
0.9 mi away
Eurostars Mijas Golf & Spa
5.1 mi away
Crown Resorts Club Marbella / Club Regency Palms
3.7 mi away
TRH Mijas
TRH Mijas
#4 of 27 in Mijas
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Muthu Grangefield Oasis Club
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tamisa Golf
Hotel Tamisa Golf
#10 of 27 in Mijas
238 reviews
2.5 mi away
ILUNION Hacienda del Sol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matchroom Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matchroom Country Club

Address: Urbanisation Mijas Golf, 29650, Mijas, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Mijas
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Matchroom Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matchroom Country Club Hotel Mijas
Matchroom Country Club Mijas, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing