We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ILUNION Hacienda del Sol
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Mijas
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Average at best”
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed in September,the location is away from all resorts and you can not walk to other resorts due to the roads which are dangerous in both directions. The hotel is at best a 3star and very tired looking the room was smelly due to drainage and the beds were really hard. We did not have a balcony , we asked to upgrade and were offered one at 50euros a night one room resembled a 70s porn star room and the other was worse than the one we were in. Entertainment was on for only 3nights and then nothing as they said the season had ended. NOw for the food with no disrespect it was repetitive and and extremly average ,we ate out most nights. The weather was excellent however and the pool due to being half empty was easy to get a sun bed . The staff on the whole were very pleasant although at the bar you were always second to the Spanish and had to wait. You can go to neighbouring towns on the bus which are cheap and frequent. Mijas is beautiful and well worth going too we had a wonderful meal at the secret garden in the middle of a carnival which really made up for some boring nights. On the opposite side is fuengerola which is Blackpool in the sun. In its hey day this hotel would have been a real gem but now it's tired reflection of its former glory and in need of refurbishment, I rarely feel the need to complain but I struggle to understand how this gets good ratings especially the food. this was a last minute holiday and if I had read the reviews properly I would have pieced together the flaws . Buyer beware

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank colinwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    337
    187
    50
    41
See reviews for
185
404
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed for one night, basically the first night of a tour.
Room was basic but had everything, was clean and quiet at night.
Plenty of tables on the terrace for a drink and snack and the hotel has a reasonable pool set in nice gardens with plenty of shade
Buffet style breakfast, plenty of choice available.
Just outside Mijas which is easy to get to on the local bus from stop near hotel.
Mijas set further up the hill and has lovely views, nice village.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JETHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Enjoyed staying in this hotel. It had a lovely terrace where you could have your drinks and a very nice swimming pool. Only there for one night but the breakfast was good and well organised. Only a five minute walk down the hill to the wonderful Val Paraiso restaurant. A treat not to be missed. Not too far from Mijas village by bus.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coppington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Nice place.
Nice location.
Nice backyard.

But: boring rooms, a lot of activities in the backyard that disrupts sleep, bad internett conection and really bad food.

I would not go back before they fix the negative things.
And they have some work to do.....

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tomrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed here in May with a large group, as my husband and I got married in the area. Originally we chose this hotel, as it was in close proximity to our reception venue and reasonably priced. Because we had invited so many people to a hotel we never knew much about, we were hoping/praying it was going to be good. In fact, it ended up being perfect for our stay and much better than anticipated! We had no reason to worry, as all of our guests thought it was great.

Hotel Grounds & Room - A lovely typical Spanish hotel, in a beautiful setting with picturesque views. The courtyard is very relaxing to sit out in the evening with a nice bottle of wine (wine on the all inclusive is very good). The poolside overlooks Fuengirola & Mijas with stunning views! Yes, the rooms are basic, but clean and modern, with good bathroom facilities & a nice shower.

Location - The hotel is situated half way up from the coast to Mijas Town Centre. Free car parking too. I recommend a car, as there is so much to do and see in Andalusia. If you don't want to drive, this hotel is perfect for a relaxing escape! Bus routes are good & taxis readily available (7 min to Funegirola....shops, beach, bars). Pro's & con's being out the way, but to be honest, I'd much prefer to stay in The Hacienda than in Fuengirola itself; it adds to the charm. You are as far or as close to mayhem as you so choose. You make your holiday your own!

Staff - The staff were great! All very friendly and the hotel manager was very accommodating. We feel the staff went over & beyond their hospitality for us, as did the kind señora on reception, who helped our wedding party with everything.

All inclusive - The all inclusive option is fantastic, there is none of this 'two drink per person' business, you get what you ask for. Bottles of wine, cava, jugs of sangria... service with a smile. The snack bar on the all inclusive is just what you'd expect from an all inclusive, only it's better here and also made to order; instead of sitting there in an oven warmer all day. Ham & cheese toasties, burgers, fries etc. The evening meals are good too. Traditional Spanish paella, meats, cheeses, hams, pasta, potatoes...something for everyone. Breakfast was good. The usual; cheeses, fried breakfast, cakes & pastries.

Entertainment - There was no entertainment, but as there was 40 or so of us, we made our own. We prefer to do our own thing on holiday anyway, so that really would not bother us. A few hotel guests who came in couples who went for a quiet time, all ended up joining in our fun. At midnight, it was time to hush a little, especially for those guests who came here for peace. The hotel manager quietened us down a couple of times, but was very fair! To our delight we were allowed on a couple of occasions to take our party inside after hours to finish our drinks & carry on our party. This was very kind. We would not hesitate booking here again, either as a couple or a large group. I hope it never changes!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kaytie28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed in the Hacienda at the end of May for a week in the run up to our wedding which was located near by. The hotel was perfect for our needs as we had friends and family arriving daily and the location of the Hacienda is perfect for a short journey up to Mijas for some food and sight seeing or a short drive/taxi down to Fuengirola for the beach and clubbing. The Hotel was quiet and relaxing with a lovely pool and children's pool which overlooks the costa del sol....a lovely setting.
The hotel staff where fantastic throughout our stay from the friendly ever helpfull receptionist's to the attentive resturant staff, everyone was friendly and smiling and kind. We where all inclusive and more than happy with the quality and varied choice available. The beer, wine and cava where as good as any all inclusive I've been to in the past and where served generously, ie we would ask for a glass and get a bottle which was a nice surprise.
The hotel rooms are basic but very clean we didnt spend much time there so it served our needs perfectly, the towels where changed daily and the room was cleaned daily to.
We upgraded on our wedding night to the suite which was a huge modern room, plus bedroom, plus jacuzzi bath for two, nice for a treat.
The evenings are quite quiet however as we where a large group we made our own entertainment, their is a choice of an indoor bar or the lovely setting of the courtyard which is fantastic to sit out at night. The bar does shut at midnight which allows the more reserved holiday gower a restfull night.
I've read some reviews stating this hotel is in the middle of no where and it compromised the holiday because of the location, I disagree. The hotel has a car park for a hired vehicle which I would recomend not so much because of where the hotel is located but because of the many places worth visiting nearby. There is a bus stop right outside the hotel which will take you to mijas or Fuengirola. And there are plenty of taxis for those who want to experience night life 7 mins down the road. If you book a hotel without doing a bit of research and knowing where it's located before you arrive then you only have yourself to blame if its slightly out the way.
All in all both I, my family and friends had a wonderful time and I wouldn't hesitate in booking again.

Room Tip: Go all inclusive it will save you a fortune"
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bluenose37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I have just returned from a week away with my wife at the Hacienda which was a surprise holiday from our son. I must admit with only two weeks to go before we were due to fly I was very apprehensive about going to the costa del sol especially after reading one of the reviews on trip adviser below. But what a lovely surprise when we got there, a four star hotel away from all the hustle of the main seaside areas set in the mountains. Yes it is set well away from the beach but you are only a short bus ride away (1.55 euros any distance) from the beach if you like that kind of thing or the lovely village of Mijas.

We were all inclusive at the hotel and the food was of a typical buffet standard with all local drinks being free albeit you only had one type of red but you could buy a better standard if needed. The main tip is to try something different from buffet every night instead of everything at once then you do not get bored.

The room was of a good standard with air conditioning,TV, hairdryer, fridge, safe (pay for) and toiletries. This was serviced every day and kept to a clean standard with fresh towels.

There was entertainment on every night, which was a bit cheesy but helped pass the night away.

Outside the pool was great and well maintaind with life guards on everyday for those of you with children. Sun beds were plentyful but again you got those who just like putting towels down and not using them. You can hire towels at the reception if you do not want to take them.

The staff are very friendly and helpful you just have to ask. Thanks to all them for making our stay so good.

It is a must that you visit Mijas it is a great village and full of bars and cafes and look out for the Aroma Cafe (The Secret Garden)

If walking is your bag behind the hotel is a mountain to explore, get a map and follow the coloured walks but beware some are very hard and you need to be careful.

All in all a great holiday and a fantastic hotel. The only one thing that I missed was going for a stroll after our meal as there was nowhere to go. Instead we were lucky to meet lots of people who made the holiday.

Room Tip: Try and avoid the rooms next to the lift. We were on the ground floor facing the the court yard whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LancashireRoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mijas
1.2 mi away
TRH Mijas
TRH Mijas
#5 of 27 in Mijas
1,240 reviews
2.5 mi away
Eurostars Mijas Golf & Spa
6.1 mi away
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
#3 of 4 in La Cala de Mijas
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Muthu Grangefield Oasis Club
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
2.3 mi away
ILUNION Fuengirola
ILUNION Fuengirola
#8 of 37 in Fuengirola
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ILUNION Hacienda del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ILUNION Hacienda del Sol

Property: ILUNION Hacienda del Sol
Address: Carretera Fuengirola | Km 4, 29650, Mijas, Spain (Formerly Hacienda Puerta del Sol)
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mijas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — ILUNION Hacienda del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your ILUNION Hacienda del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Puerta Del Sol Hotel Mijas
Hacienda Puerta Del Sol Mijas
ILUNION Hacienda Del Sol Mijas, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing