We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely news and excellent bus route to the sea and hills...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ILUNION Hacienda del Sol
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Mijas
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
391 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 373 helpful votes
“Lovely news and excellent bus route to the sea and hills...”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I expect that most of the comments regarding this hotel (and a few others on the “Classical Spain” tour) will come from Riviera travellers. It's good starting point as the hotel wasn’t a long drive from Malaga Airport and is well situated on a hill with views down to the Mediterranean and on an excellent and frequent bus route to Fuengirola downhill and Mijas Pueblo uphill. The hotel has good public areas with lots of antique pieces including a grand piano which, I can assure you, from having tried to play some music on it, that it is there only for show. Shame… The bedroom was basic but comfortable and the buffet breakfast was fine. We experienced no other food in the hotel as we ate elsewhere. The views of the coastline are wonderful and the gardens better than the other hotels stayed in on this trip. The staff were helpful and obviously used to coachloads of English and Irish tourists. The photos give a fair idea of this hotel in mid-spring when the weather was pleasant and not too hot. The best hotel of this tour. Shame we were only there one night…

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank EximiousTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    329
    179
    44
    38
See reviews for
177
389
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Lovely hotel nicely decorated with many Spanish antiques to add to the atmospher. Beautiful pool with fanatstic veiws spotlessly clean . Great breakfast with variety of breads, fresh fruit, good coffee and good hot items. Would rate this the best Mijas hotel breakfast so far. Reception staff very helpful but not intrusive. Free parking and great location.
Do not get tempted to book in TRH hotel in Mijas village as this hotel is quite close by on an excellent bus route and well worth the slight incovience of a walk or bus ride. In addition you are walking distance from Valparasio restaurant another Mijas gem.
The rooms are comfortable, clean and bathrooms are good. I like this private hotel and the lay out it just has a nice feel . Lovely outdoor seating area to relax in the sunshine with veiws to the cost and the moutains.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rigsbytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed one night at this hotel as part of a Riviera Travel tour. Lovely setting, with a beautiful sitting out area at the back. We didn't swim, but the pool looked inviting. Our room was a bit shabby, but clean. The food, however, was terrible. We ate the evening buffet and the selection, though wide, was universally unpleasant. Something (possibly the cous-cous salad) tasted of nail-polish remover, which ruined the meal for me. The fish was tasteless, the meat like rubber. And I agree with others who have said the breakfast orange juice (in Andalucia!) was disgusting.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank teenymee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stopped here as part of a classic tour of Spain with Riviera travel. Our room was a good size, clean and had a lovely view over the countryside. Although we did not use the pool it looked inviting and the sitting area around it was clean and smart. The bar had a nice outside sitting out area with plenty of shade and reasonably good waiter service. Snacks as well as drinks could be ordered.

We had a nice evening meal in the restaurant in the evening and breakfast was good with a wide choice. Unfortunately like all these mass catering hotels the breakfast was not very warm, and we had to wait for a table to be cleared. Hence the 4 stars. The hotel is a distance from the nearest village but a bus did stop outside.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Retired_travellers12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

here for one night on touring vacation. Room fine shame no tea coffee facilities. Situation very attractive with very good views. Grounds nice too.
The breakfast would have been good as there was plenty of variety however, the hot breakfast was cold, not cool, but cold. When we complained to the tour rep the hotel microwaved my meal, so that was fine for me.
went to local village and ate there at place called pam pa the food was great, bit of a scary walk back tot he hotel though.
Would recommend this hotel if the breakfast had been hot.

Room Tip: our room was on ground floor and very quiet and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StaffordshireRayray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed for one night on our Riviera Tour of Classical Spain. The hotel is set over looking Malaga with great views but a little distance from Mijas itself. Our tour manager arranged for us to visit Mijas first, a lovely little town, well worth the visit. We ate there so I cannot comment about the evening meals offered by the hotel, the breakfast however was the usual buffet offered by most hotels,adequate, but the coffee and fruit juice were pretty awful!! Our room was very pleasant with lovely views and good facilities. A good starting point for our touring holiday.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CornishTraveller11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This was our first night introduction hotel for the Classical Spain tour with Riviera Travel. Lovely hotel, beautiful setting and would be a very peaceful place to stay to totally relax. The view from the side of the pool was amazing. The pool looked very inviting but as it was a little cold we did not venture in. The terrace in front of the pool was a lovely place to relax. The room was comfortable and we had a good nights sleep. We were lucky to get a trip into Mijas (up the hill) in the afternoon which we thoroughly enjoyed. We even considered getting a taxi up there again in the evening but having eaten well at lunch time, we opted for a tapas style snack instead in the hotel bar which was lovely.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anagram5249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mijas
1.2 mi away
TRH Mijas
TRH Mijas
#5 of 27 in Mijas
1,223 reviews
6.1 mi away
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
#3 of 4 in La Cala de Mijas
1,208 reviews
2.5 mi away
Eurostars Mijas Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
El Oceano Beach Hotel
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
7.0 mi away
Muthu Grangefield Oasis Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ILUNION Hacienda del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ILUNION Hacienda del Sol

Property: ILUNION Hacienda del Sol
Address: Carretera Fuengirola | KM 4, 29650, Mijas, Spain (Formerly Hacienda Puerta del Sol)
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mijas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — ILUNION Hacienda del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your ILUNION Hacienda del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Puerta Del Sol Hotel Mijas
Hacienda Puerta Del Sol Mijas
ILUNION Hacienda Del Sol Mijas, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing