We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ILUNION Hacienda del Sol
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Mijas
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing holiday”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Where do I start? I've just been here on a family girls holiday and stayed here for 4 days, arrived early hours 26 April 2014. This was so much more than we expected, we stayed all inclusive and the food and drinks were fantastic! Buffet breakfast...amazing, buffet evening meal... never went hungry, the lunch was a set menu but 3 choices for all 3 courses plus a choice from the snack bar menu, burgers, chips, sandwiches, the list goes on..., we had 3 adults in our room and all wanted our own beds we had , 1 double bed, 2 singles, there was plenty of room! there were 2 or 3 plug sockets but we took a multi adapter and were fine. No kettle in he room but we took a travel one. The only problem I had was my matteress but within 10 minutes I had a new one! The staff are great!

Every where is so clean!! When we did stay by the pool for the day we were the only ones there, then the coach came late afternoon from the Riviera Tours and everyone was lovely.

The weather averaged 28 degrees, not a cloud in the sky!

You can get the bus to Mijas 15 mins or to Fuengirola 15 mins 1euro 55, buses are every 30 mins.

This is a beautiful hotel and a lot bigger than it looks.

I would like to thank all the staff at Hacienda for having us (and Veronica lol), can't wait to see you all next year! :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank claire m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    340
    187
    50
    41
See reviews for
188
404
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Izmir, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

the hotel was in the middle of nowhere so we had to stick with it. Although there was an outdoor swimming pool we were not allowed to swim before 10 am. breakfast & dinner were mediocre. Because it was too far to the centre we had to dine in in the evening. The weather was very nice and warm but dinning outside was banned. The room and bathroom were clean and there were toothbrushs, razers and shampoo etc in the bathroom. Actually ,this hotel was our first and the best accommodation compare to the rest -Hotel Don Paco in Seville and Hotel Corona in Granada- The meals should have to be improved. Briefly, The Riviera Tour was a bad choice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Raymond L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge UK
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed here for first night of tour. Hotel clean , staff friendly ,every thing worked. Good pool with great views.
Dinner buffet, meats so so, salads fine.
Bit noisy as lots of families.
Breakfast as you would expect.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhandlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I've stayed in Hacienda puerta del sol with a group.Its located on a slope over Mediteranean sea with great view.Rooms are big and clean.The staff is very helpful and the manager Jose Antonio is there to give solution to any problem.The restaurant is very good with many different choices of salads starters and at list three main dishes.Your man there is Raphael.Hola Rafa...The only think they have to correct is the coffe at the breakfast which is very good also especially churros.My espresso Rafa...Very nice swimming pool magical at the sunset.Recomented

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikolaos R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night at start if a guided tour. Hotel is good in a nice location. Our room was comfy, but a bit 'bog standard'. Wasn't too impressed with the bar menu food but that may be my choice - my wife enjoyed her mushroom omelet. Would I stay again? Yes, I think I would.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

In Spain for a quick 3 night property viewing trip. I chose this hotel as I thought how cheap it was for bed and breakfast in a 4 star hotel, even if it was beginning of April.
The downsides first - the buffet breakfast and the buffet evening meal, which was also reasonably priced, was not the best food you are going to find in Andalucia. No a la carte. No room service. The Air conditioning is not switched onto the cooling option until June apparently- if you suffer from mosquito bites as I do avoid opening the windows at night and don't forget to bring mosquito machines as I was bitten dreadfully on Friday night after the weather improved during the day. Short staffed as you would expect out of season. Trying to get a drink at the pool after a long day was impossible- no- one in sight- a trail back to the bar to order. The orange juice available with the free buffet breakfast is just awful - they have a natural orange juice machine in the bar area but it doesn't open until after breakfast closes- lost business opp there as I would have ordered and paid extra for the freshly squeezed orange juice as I expect most other patrons would have.

The positives- the staff are a joy- really helpful and pleasant. The room was a good size and the bed comfortable- a rarity for me so good nights sleep ( other than the mosquito attack ). Flat screen TV but really only any good if you want to listen to Sky & BBC world news or you are fluent in Spanish.

A large well presented hotel with a great deal going for it. I will use it again for certain if I have to book into a hotel locally.

tip: Look for it to the left, immediately off one of the roundabouts on the road from Fuengirola - Mijas Pueblo- just after the Valparaiso restaurant. Their sign is easily missed if travelling from the airport/ coast.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sooz18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

As other reviewers, we stayed for one night on a Riviera holiday. Really lovely hotel, comfortable rooms, great location with stunning view to the Med. Our room was at the ide of the hotel, overlooking some houses but peaceful all the same.
My only moan would be the food. Difficult to have a rolling buffet I know but very disappointing. Breakfast was ok with a wide range of fruit etc. but the "orange juice" should be avoided!!!!!!

Nice relaxing lounge area for after-meal drinks.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LollyYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mijas
1.2 mi away
TRH Mijas
TRH Mijas
#5 of 27 in Mijas
1,243 reviews
2.5 mi away
Eurostars Mijas Golf & Spa
6.1 mi away
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
#3 of 4 in La Cala de Mijas
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Muthu Grangefield Oasis Club
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
2.3 mi away
ILUNION Fuengirola
ILUNION Fuengirola
#8 of 37 in Fuengirola
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ILUNION Hacienda del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ILUNION Hacienda del Sol

Property: ILUNION Hacienda del Sol
Address: Carretera Fuengirola | Km 4, 29650, Mijas, Spain (Formerly Hacienda Puerta del Sol)
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mijas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — ILUNION Hacienda del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your ILUNION Hacienda del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Puerta Del Sol Hotel Mijas
Hacienda Puerta Del Sol Mijas
ILUNION Hacienda Del Sol Mijas, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing