We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ona Campanario
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in Mijas
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The desk staff were wonderful. The unit was large and 2 bedroom, 2 bath as described. All of the furniture and walls were yellow and orange (not attractive). Furniture was old and dated. The heat was plug in radiators. The rooms were cold and damp. The only exhaust fan in the bathroom was a window. The shower did not close all the was and so everything got wet. The unit was only cleaned twice during the week and they forgot things like toilet paper. The water was off for several hours one day. There was a jackhammer running under our room. If you stay in the area, get a car. You'll need one.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LuAnn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnaHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ona Campanario, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear guest,

First of all, let me thank you for the time you have spent on sharing your opinion of your stay at Ona Campanario.
It is thanks to these comments that we can detect our errors and therefore implement changes to improve our quality.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014

Stayed here for a week in Feb very spacious & clean. Did not use the pool as weather was not warm enough but it looked very nice. Wifi only works if you sit in reception & you get a code which was supplied free of charge. Plenty of free parking on the street or you can pay to use their garage. If you don't want to go sightseeing a car is not needed as there are plenty of bars, shops & restaurants within walking distance. Only down side was the energy charge which if the have to charge should have been included in the price of the apartment. I did not notice there was an energy charge until after l had booked on the Internet. Of course there was the usual noisy neighbours, what is it with people moving the furniture about in the middle of the night on tiled floors!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank lizzie4916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnaHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ona Campanario, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear guest,

From Ona Campanario we want to thank you for the time taken in posting your opinion in regard to your experience in our aparthotel.
Your comments and suggestions are highly appreciated.
On the other hand, electrical energy expenses are a requirement that only the "Central Exchange" establishes for its customers. We at reception make only the payment that you stipulate in your booking confirmation.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We did an Interval International exchange for this apartment over Christmas.
Although clean and very spacious, this apartment was very basic. The furniture was tired and kitchen equipment poor. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and attended quickly to the broken kettle!
A car is definitely needed, as this resort is in a suburban area off the A7 main road.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank westmanbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnaHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ona Campanario, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your time and for sharing your opinion with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our resort.
We are sure that all your suggestions will help other customers to enjoy their stay at Ona Campanario even more.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We arrived Monday lunchtime. We were shown straight to our apartment which was large, very clean and the kitchen was well equipped. We found the staff to be very helpful when required, although we hardly needed them. The apartment was cleaned regularly and fresh towels provided. I would recommend it for all in future and if I was to go back to the area in future would stay there again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank phoah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnaHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ona Campanario, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your warm comment, which is a great motivation for the whole team.
Ensuring that all our guests have a fabulous stay is our main objective and knowing that we have achieved it gives us pride.
We hope to host you again in your future visit.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Clean and spacious apartments, though sparcely furnished with few amenities (i.e., only a couch in the living room, minimal kitchen implements, but important basics like a coffee machine and washer). The beds were okay, though pillows could be upgraded. Air-conditioning worked well. Pools were clean and invigorating in October. Nearby restaurants catered mostly to British tastes (good fish/chips shop, yucky Indian & Chinese, but only one tapas place which was delicious but never busy). Lots of families with young children stayed here. You will need a car to stay here. Grocery stores nearby have everything you require. Malaga is 1/2 hour away on the highways. Scenic beaches are about 20 minutes away. Overall, it was an average experience, but no major complaints.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norman H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnaHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ona Campanario, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear guest,

First of all, let me thank you for the time you have spent on sharing your opinion of your stay at Ona Campanario.
It is thanks to these comments that we can detect our errors and therefore implement changes to improve our quality.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We wanted a week's break at half term and did an exchange to here with Interval International. We own in a premiere resort in Orlando and usually swap to a similar premiere resort. Last year we swapped to the Marriott Marbella Beach Resort. However this year we were too late to get any premiere resorts at half-term (last week of October) but were told by the II rep that this place was very nice, even if only 3 keys.

We found that the place has been nicely refurbished and everything was freshly painted. The two bedroom unit we were allocated was of a comfortable size and adequate for our needs but not luxurious. Others on this site have complained about the quality of kitchen equipment, which we can only confirm. We had two frying pans, both coated with the stickiest Teflon known to man. Everything burnt on as soon as it was placed on the hob. The stainless steel saucepans were little better. The whole lot needs throwing out and replacing.

The info said we should have had an electric kettle and we got one - halfway into the holiday and after asking three times!

The pool area was well kept but the pools are not heated - unlike the lovely warm pools in our home resort in Florida. There are sufficient sunbeds and no-one ever reserved any with towels. People even took their towels in when going in for lunch and coming back in an hour; good mannered guests make the holiday experience better for all. The weather was brilliant. 20C warmer than at home and wall-to-wall sunshine. We spend a lot of time laying by the pool. However the resort does not provide beach towels - that means overseas visitors have to use some of their baggage allowance on bringing their own towels with them.

Our home resort gives us itemised accounts with our maintenance fees. It clearly shows that we pay them $34 for electrical energy. However here we have to pay this resort €30 for power too. Not fair - we are being charged twice.

We asked to stay an extra night because extending our holiday by one day saved over £100 by going home a day later. We were charged €40 for an extra night. This is therefore a reasonably priced facility, at this price it is fair value for money. Not a good swap for a premiere resort though.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms on the ground floor have little gardens with access to the pool area. Top floor rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank budgey49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnaHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ona Campanario, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for the time spent in sharing your opinion through TripAdvisor.
We are sure that your comments will help other users to enjoy their stay with us even more.

The whole Ona Campanario team strives daily to fulfil the wishes of our guests and our ultimate reward is customer satisfaction.
On the other hand, electrical energy expenses are a requirement that only the "Central Exchange" establishes for its customers. We at reception make only the payment that you stipulate in your booking confirmation.

We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel on your next visit.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This was our second visit to this resort, as it is ideally located for exploring the surrounding area. There is an ongoing refurbishment programme throughout all the apartments and we were given a large ground floor duplex which was ideal for our stay. The resort is clean and adequately maintained with sufficient friendly staff. The resort restaurant was taken over by the company in August after a trial by an independent business; this offers a decent range of keenly priced food and drinks with a daily happy hour from 1700 - 1900. The staff in this area were particularly pleasant and welcoming during our visits. The breakfast choice was plentiful and very good value for money. Unfortunately the restaurant closes at the end of September for the winter, which is disappointing for guests during this period. The pool area is spacious with an abundance of sunbeds although a few could be replaced. Parking is also at a premium although an underground car park is available for a fee. In summary, this is a clean friendly resort which is ideal for both couples and families in a prime location to explore what the South of Spain has to offer.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank davymcd58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnaHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ona Campanario, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your warm comment, which is a great motivation for the whole team.
Ensuring that all our guests have a fabulous stay is our main objective and knowing that we have achieved it gives us pride.
We hope to host you again in your future visit.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mijas hotels
0.7 mi away
Muthu Grangefield Oasis Club
0.2 mi away
Crown Resorts Club Marbella / Club Regency Palms
5.2 mi away
Eurostars Mijas Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
#3 of 4 in La Cala de Mijas
1,328 reviews
0.9 mi away
Club Delta Mar Crown Resort
Club Delta Mar Crown Resort
#2 of 3 in Sitio de Calahonda
107 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crown Resorts Club Calahonda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ona Campanario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ona Campanario

Address: Avenida Espana de Calahonda 22 | Urbanizacion Sitio de Calahonda, 29649, Mijas, Spain (Formerly Atlantic Club Campanario de Calahonda)
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in Mijas
Price Range: £48 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ona Campanario 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ona Campanario is a fantastic holiday complex situated a 15-minute walk from Calahonda Beach, in Mijas - Costa. The apartment complex offers an outdoor pool, a hot tub and gym as well as a cafe with terrace, a perfect spot to start the journey with a tasty breakfast. For your comfort these apartments have a 24-hour reception. Ona Campanario offers 1 (55m2), 2 (75m2) and 3 (100m2) bedroom apartments equipped to make you feel at home. In that way, all of them have air-conditioning, a private balcony and satellite TV. Kitchens include a microwave, fridge and washing machine. The complex is located in Mijas Costa, between Marbella and Fuengirola. The supermarkets, bars and restaurants of Sitio de Calahonda are within a 5-minute walk. Puerto de Cabopino Port is one kilometre away, and La Siesta Golf Club is less than 3 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ona Campanario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vime Campanario De Calahonda Hotel Mijas
Vime Campanario De Calahonda Mijas
Ona Campanario Mijas, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing