We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great 'old school' spanish hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of TRH Mijas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
TRH Mijas
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Mijas
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great 'old school' spanish hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

Four of us stayed here for 5 nights. Pleasantly surprised that such a large hotel could be so quaint. Fitted into the whitewashed village perfectly. Our standard double rooms were on level 1 and we stepped out onto tiled terrace and lawned area facing the coastline. Bedroom and bathroom good size and kept very clean. Dark wood furniture totally in keeping with the Spanish feel and NOT 'old-fashioned' as described by some. Breakfast was fine, only the OJ not good. Lovely open pool area with plenty of beds and space. Took 5 minutes to walk into the village, be sure to call at Pampa tapa's bar on the left - the tomato & goats cheese salad was divine. The tapa at Bodega also very good and try the wine museum. Easy bus journey on the 122 to Fuengirola which has some lovely bars and restaurants. All in all a great base and we will return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Toontravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    507
    276
    79
    54
See reviews for
186
608
67
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Difficult to imagine a large hotel would fit in such a small pretty mountain village, but it does perfectly. Built into hillside so there are 5 terraced floors, a large pool, tennis court and secure underground parking. 5 min walk into centre of village. Hire a car and explore marbella, benalmadena pueblo, grenada etc. Superb buffet breakfast -cooked, breads, patisserie, fresh fruit. Rooms very clean and maid service is very quick and efficient so we never felt like we had to get out of her way. 1st floor are all terrace rooms, ours didn't have any view so we swapped for no extra charge to a 2nd floor with sea view balcony. As per another reviewer, the walls are pretty thin and we could hear our neighbours bathroom and their talking but then they could hear ours too but it's not exactly a party hotel so it wouldn't put us off another stay. Satellite tv for british is pretty limited to cnn or bbc news but didn't bother us much as we were out and about most of time. 2lifts in hotel, one of which goes straight to the pool area overlooking the mountains and sea. Plenty of sunbeds with classy umbrella canopies. The pool snack bar was closed for our visit end april but this was because the spanish consider this still out of season (despite being 24 degrees). We just popped over road to supermarket and bought baguette and serrano ham and made our own sandwiches in the lovely vine canopied poolside eating area. My only gripe about this visit was that the pool wasn't heated and was freezing. I'm sure this is not a problem in peak season but it would have been nice to have a dip in april. Had it not been for the satellite tv and the chilly pool this would have been a perfect score. Overall a superb hotel, superb facilities, excellent value and in a beautiful traditional village location.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kikimjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

Fantastic location. Very friendly staff in the reception. Bartender could use a smile course.
Rooms are small and old fashioned. You can have limited sea view for a fee.
Within walking distance to bars, cafes, restaurants and shopping. You can enjoy the great view down to the sea from the breakfast restaurant.
Hotel elevation is +400 msl.
Have stayed there several times and might come back despite the rooms, just because of the location.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy-Dandy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

We have just spent six nights in the above hotel, which for our purpose we found to be fine, the rooms were clean and functional, the hotel had lounges in which to sit and relax, the restaurant which served buffet style breakfast and eveneing meal was very good, with lots of choice, if one downside was mentioned it would have to be that sometimes the contents of the tureens were not always piping hot, but during our six days this only occurred to me twice with two items. The staff were polite and helpful, and the location was first class for anyone wishing to just enjoy a lazy break in Mijas itself and taking two or three day trips out to Granada, Ronda or Gibralter, I certainly recommend everyone to pick up the Mijas map in the tourist office in the town and follow the illustrated walk, and take in a bar or two while enjoying a lazy stroll around this lovely whitewashed village, during this stroll you will take in spectacular views, see and tour the old bull ring, and a must see is the little museum, (free admission) and visit the many little churches during the tour, of course what you will also see are the hidden gems not on the tourist trail, and a must visit is to the Calle San Sebastan (reputedly the most photographed street in Spain), when you see it you will discover why, and if you stay in the above hotel you will have a comfortable base from which to explore.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NG34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

The hotel is well placed to discover Mijas. Hotel rooms are adequate, buffet food very good and excellent value for money. Staff are few hence service can be slow in the bar. Would recommend staying bed and breakfast and use the hotel as a base to discover the wider costa del sol. Due to location and value for money will be booking again for September break.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed here from 4 to 6th April 2012. the hotel is adequate and well situated with some fantastic views from some rooms. We had a room on the bottome floor with a small patio but no view. The walls were paper thin and as the bed in your next door beighbour room is located adjacent to yours you can hear a lot - snoring, moving (you get my drift). Breakfast is a good buffet. Wifi is only available in reception area. The bar is expensive but has great views. Sucure parking is 10 Euros per day and this leads you to look elsewhere and this is where the real warning comes in... 2 guests parked on a spot of land to the rear of the hotel and at 0400 on 6 April had their cars torched!!! The fire and explosions from tyres and fuel tanks were only 10 metres from the hotel. Hotel reception seemed pretty unconcerned about it and it was only at 1100 when the owners went to their cars that they discovered to their horror what had happened. the hotel dodnt even offer to give them a lft to the police station and in my opinion they dropped a real clanger in terms of customer service. If you choose not to park your car securely be very, very wary about parking your car out of site of the main street. On a brighter note, best tapas bar is away from the tourist centre, close to the church, just before it on the left hand side 20 metres down an alley - great local atmosphere and cheap too!

Room Tip: Go for any room abouve level 1. Pool-side rooms get evening sun but not the best of views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mikebown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

good hotel quiet in the evenings. good breakfast but drinks at the bar a little expensive. Nice places to eat in mijas. Good local bus service.Excellent holiday

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mijas
1.2 mi away
Hacienda Puerta del Sol
8.2 mi away
El Oceano Beach Hotel
7.2 mi away
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
#3 of 4 in La Cala de Mijas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Eurostars Mijas Golf & Spa
2.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
6.2 mi away
Los Amigos Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRH Mijas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRH Mijas

Property: TRH Mijas
Address: Calle Tamisa 2, 29650, Mijas, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mijas
#4 Spa Hotel in Mijas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — TRH Mijas 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your TRH Mijas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trh Mijas Hotel Mijas
Trh Hotel Mijas
Mijas Trh Hotel
Hotel Mijas
TRH Mijas Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing