We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traveled with Just You” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of TRH Mijas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
TRH Mijas
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Mijas
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Traveled with Just You”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2008

Love Mijas been there 4 times First time I have stayed in this hotel though. The hotel is in a great position for views, easy short walk access up to the village. Facilities are very good though some have been withdrawn since the hotel was taken over recently [massage,hairdresser,gym, health and beauty ,sauna ect] Hotel and rooms always very clean and tidey. Would have like to have had tea making facilities and fridge in room.
Only down side was the food, buffet style for all meals. Not very good choice each day some of it looked as if it had been in the trays far to long. Bland and boring. The good side is you do not have far to go to get a good cheap meal. Do not always turn left up to the village but turn right and just down the road on the left hand side are three very good restaurants.
Go and enjoy Be lucky

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — No tea in room
  • Stayed June 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mijas2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    509
    276
    80
    54
See reviews for
187
610
67
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2008

Only read reviews after booking so a bit apprehensive. Beautiful hotel with breathtaking views within easy walk of all village ameneties.

Friendly receptionist with much better English than I have Spanish.

Room furnishing quite dated but spotlessley clean and comfortable and everything worked as expected.
We booked through a budget room website and got a room on the ground floor passage to the lifts to the new extension so it was probably noisy but as we learned many years ago to always travel with ear plugs I can't confirm this. Take a few coathangers.

Lovely pool area with view down to the coast. Adequate sun loungers for June but I doubt if the hotel was full - a lot of loungers are due for replacement. Large pool with separate pool for children, friendly lifeguard and bar with snack facilities.

Breakfast OK - bread rolls were fresh and plentiful, lots of fruit, yoghurts, a small selection of cereals, cheese & sliced meat and Danish pastries, usual selection of hot English stuff. Downside was the tea (tasteless, yes I did get the "English" type, not herbal), coffee (sweet and just yeugh!) and fruit juices (tasteless). I think that the staff in the restaurant at breakfast had next to no English/German/French etc. but they needed little interraction with guests as it was totally self service.

I would definitely stay there again if I decide to go back to Mijas - I don't like coffee at breakfast anyway and it's foolish to expect a decent cuppa in Spain anywhere other than an English bar. Have earplugs - will sleep soundly!

  • Liked — Location! Location! Location!
  • Disliked — Tea & coffee at breakfast
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sagacandidate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOUGHTON
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2008

This was a second, 7 day, visit following a superb earlier stay (two weeks in August 2004). The hotel is still lovely in many ways: stylish Andalusian building, rooms very clean and comfortable, wonderful views from the lounge terrace, sheltered sunny pool area. However, since our first visit, the hotel has become a TRH group hotel and with negative results. Formally it seemed to be family owned and run - at least that was the impression. This time, staff seemed "disengaged" with guests; not unfriendly but not smiling and welcoming. Examples: a request for a parasol for a hot and sunny terrace was met with "No - not available!" Extra pillows took four requests. Breakfasts were OK to good (as in other reports, bacon and eggs "swimming" in oil but laying on napkins on plate soaked this up! Evening meals at hotel-buffet only- looked very limited so didn't try them. On previous DBB stay the meals had been wonderful - all freshly cooked. The outside pool bar and restaurant were not in use (perhaps because it was April) and this was a big miss.

However, would we stay at this hotel again? Yes because we liked the very quiet, stylish facilities and lovely setting. It would be too quiet for many people (as might the lovely village of Mijas) but it was a wonderful week for us. We got an excellent deal on hotel through Octopus (with Nectar points) so only paid £250 for 7 nights B&B - remarkable value! Good bus connections right at the hotel entrance enables easy visits to Benalmadena, Fuengirola and onwards.

There are plenty of good or great restaurants withing a very short walk. In Particular El Pueta (consistently excellent food with a very lively owner - Leo. We ate there on 4 evenings in a row (which is unusual for us) and would have had a fifth but they are closed on Thursdays. Fiesta was excellent on one night, OK the next. It may be better to give Olivars a miss: food OK or just OK and service...well it's the first time we have not left a tip!

  • Liked — location, style
  • Disliked — no outside restuarant / bar pool staff (it was April but lpeople were using pool area)
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BMBandJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2008

I just got back from a week's holiday staying at the TRH Mijas hotel. On first impressions the hotel is lovely, beautiful surroundings and a wonderful swimming pool, but we made the mistake of booking half board and I have to say the food was awful. If you are happy with very bland and overcooked food then go half board but if not I reccomend bed and breakfast. The best thing about the dinner is the dessert which was clearly bought in and not cooked on the premises.

Secondly, we stayed overlooking the pool and the noise in the mornings from people leaving and arriving was awfulm the acoustics in the hotel are not very good and as a result I had a terrible nights sleep.

Finally, the hotel swimming pool which looks beautiful is freezing cold so enter at your peril.

On a good note, the hotel is in a nice location and is well maintained and reasonably priced.

  • Liked — views
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Londongirl0_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mijas hotels

cheshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2008

Having read scathing reviews after booking we were wary to say the least when we arrived .This was not helped when we could not be traced as booked on arrival ..The matter was soon sorted when it was discovered that my name was wrongly spelt. The rest of the week was good ,Food was good hotel food, self -service but plenty of variety.Staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Liked — situation of hotel
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kermit8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2008

Beautiful Hotel in a wonderful location. If only the evening meals were better! Had read reviews before I went, but thought maybe people were being over fussy. They weren't. The food looks OK
but is very bland and tastless. Breakfasts OK but would recommend eating out in the evening. There are plenty of good restaurants in Mijas. Try the Fiesta which is almost opposite the Hotel on the way out of the village. Good food, reasonable prices.
Found staff polite and helpful. Our party all had constant problems with door keys and safes. Very irritating as the problems were constant.

  • Liked — location and views
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed February 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank baguette-cut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2007

I like nice hotels with good quality up to date rooms. Unfortunately, this hotel was due a refurbishment about 10 years ago and never got one. I stayed here for the weekend, picked it due to amazing location in a very beautiful village with amazing views of the coast. The hotel is situated as you drive into Mijas (after the petrol station) on the left hand side. There is hotel parking at 9 euros per day and i can see in summer this would be a good thing. However, in winter time I can see no need to have to use this facility as there is parking literally 50 metres away in parking bays.
I arrived at 9,30 after a long day. I found the sign for hotel parking as i approached the hotel in my hire car. As i usually follow the hotels signage I drove into an underground car park. The gate was open so i drove through as one normally would if the sign says hotel parking. Unfortunately, cars were double parked all over the shop and the main access around the car park was partly blocked by an inconsiderate driver. This was not addressed by the hotel as frankly they do not understand the term "guest relations" or customer care. So I ended up scratching my hire car trying to get through the space. I ended up leaving the car and going to reception.
What happened next was an unbelievable welcome to the hotel. I approached reception explained i had just arrived and I had scratched my car due to one of their guests. A delightfully rude man called Antonio barked at me"your room number" I again explained that i had no room number as i had just arrived. I was clearly distressed as never before have i damaged a hire car. Did he care. Bluntly no.... He then barked at me"how did you get into the garage"so i explained i followed the sign and drove through an open gate. He began to rant at this point and i could not believe i had arrived at a place where the customer is treated in such a way. He did not offer to look in the car park at the offending car, he asked me to go and get the registration number. Unbelievable..... I then decided to check in and ask him for the manager. He replied "no manager here" i asked if he could contact me on arrival. He replied "no, you come and see him"Wow what customer care you have. I~ promptly asked for the complaints book as it was advertised on the wall. he began to rant at me. Before this i didnt believe the other reviews about rude staff. He actually frightened me and he should not be working in the hotel business with his appalling attitude.
The reception is nice lovely views over the coast and this is the selling point of the hotel. The rooms were old fashioned. They had old furniture*(bit musky), basic bedding, flowery curtains and the air conditioning was set on hot only. ~i have stayed in this sort of hotel in other areas but this hotel is in dire need of tlc. The bathroom had cracked and broken tiles, but the good news is it was clean. I was lucky as i travelled in winter so i had got a good deal. This hotel is the only in the village and I think they know this and treat customers like dogs. They ended my card to the room on the 2nd day and i visited reception. They validated my card without asking my name. I could of been anyone. Would i stay here again. yes after i have had a satisfactory response from TRH group about the customer service skills of their staff being addressed, The village was lovely with lots of great restaurants. I did not eat in the hotel as i had heard the food horror stories.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — staff attitude
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank charlie_dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mijas
1.2 mi away
Hacienda Puerta del Sol
8.2 mi away
El Oceano Beach Hotel
7.2 mi away
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
#3 of 4 in La Cala de Mijas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Eurostars Mijas Golf & Spa
2.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
6.2 mi away
Los Amigos Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRH Mijas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRH Mijas

Property: TRH Mijas
Address: Calle Tamisa 2, 29650, Mijas, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mijas
#4 Spa Hotel in Mijas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — TRH Mijas 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your TRH Mijas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trh Mijas Hotel Mijas
Trh Hotel Mijas
Mijas Trh Hotel
Hotel Mijas
TRH Mijas Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing