We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy time”
Review of TRH Mijas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
TRH Mijas
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Mijas
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Stayed here over New Year as part of a Just You singles group from the UK. I absolutely loved the hotel, we could not have been made more welcome. Rooms are in traditional style, roomy and with nice terraces. The bar conservatory is an absolute joy with spectacular views over the coastline below. The food is what you get in Spanish hotels - buffet style with plenty of it and pleasingly - and not always the case in Spain - lots of different things from evening to evening. I actually really enjoyed it, especially the breakfasts. Its all about expectations.

Has lovely outdoor areas although too chilly for the pool in winter. I would be lovely in summer enjoying the sun above the crowds.

Mijas itself is lovely, Big enough to hold the interest, lots of tapas bars and restaurants and
better quality shops.

I'd definitely go back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

577 - 583 of 1,308 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2014

We spent 5 days at TRH Mijas last week, and had a wonderful time. The hotel is beautifully located on the way into Mijas Pueblo, a charming town in the mountains above Fuengirola and Benalmadena. Great walking area, and excellent local bus service running every 30 minutes to all nearby towns (the bus stop is outside the hotel entrance, couldn't be handier!). There is very good wifi coverage throughout the reception bar and lounge areas. I had read several reviews on here before booking, and was open minded about what to expect. We were very pleasantly surprised. We had a superior room with idyllic sea views, very comfortable and clean, furnished in a "shabby chic" antique style, and had no complaints whatsoever. If you like Ikea, this is not for you, but if you like character it certainly is. The food was varied and plentiful, surprisingly so for low season, the breakfasts are especially good. Every member of staff we had dealings with were extremely helpful, the waiters being particularly friendly, and unfailingly cheerful.I do speak Spanish quite fluently, but from what I overheard they all spoke reasonable English so communication should be no problem. To sum up, we will definitely be back next year, a delightful hotel for a peaceful low season break, and ridiculously good value. We paid €30 each a night for half board through Booking.com. Clean, comfortable and charming. If you want any criticism, bar prices were a little steep in comparison with other local businesses, and the blankets on the beds although immaculately clean, had seen better days. That I can certainly live with.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 5th floor near reception, we had room 40 which had a lovely terrace with sea v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Toni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed here end of December, a strong and very nasty wind blew us almost from the hill. The bus couldn't arrive at the front door so we had to walk down and later up hill, struggling with our suitcase. The hotel is okay, wifi only in the lobby. Rooms small, mattress VERY hard, not comfortable, no extra pillow in the room. The sunshades very cheap, rattling to pieces in the storm, on the outside of the window, had to be pulled up to let some light into the room.
Buffet restaurant average. Wine not for sale by the glass, only whole bottles, a reason not to drink wine that night.
A beautiful view on the Mediterranean Sea.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank julaHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Were suposed to stay for a week in this hotel but only managed 3 nights, The place is tatty and the amenities advertised ie Spar etc are all closed down. The hotel is extreemly short staffed never a barman in attendance and the food is utterly disgusting particularly the breakfast. Only one member of staff to clear and set all the tables resulted in sitting in a sea of filthy plates.Settining this aside the quality of the food was extreemly poor.Having stayed in other 4* hotels in Mijas this hotel doesnt even deserve 2*
Customer service is non existant and be very careful of your bar bill as serveral guests had caused to complain about 'discrepancies' Main guest clientel seems to be Northern coach trips on a budget which may explain the poor subtandard facilities and food.
In addition to above the walls between rooms are paper thin and you can hear snorring and other guests using the bathrooms.
This is the worst hotel I have stayed in Spain

Room Tip: Not sure there is a good room in this hotel but be advised if you ask for a Superior double room you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rigsbytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Very nice hotel in superb location. Staff variable, cleanliness ok - but avoid the ground floor rooms unless you don't mind giant cockroaches.
Breakfast ok but stroll into the town or drive elsewhere for your evening meal - this hotel's dinner is bland, boring and I would only eat dinner there again if I was immobilised.

Pool area good, but pool bar closes far too early.

This hotel could be so much better than it is.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmeraldIsla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I can only concur 100% with the comments about poor breakfast/dinner quality and the exorbitant parking charge. But above all this is the argument just held with the 'management' (and I use that with great irony) at midnight December 30th about the lack of respect allowed by other guests I.e. near feral children running riot around the bar area up to midnight and causing great disruption to the othet guests. The only 'tool' used by the staff was to close the bar!
The subsequent complaint to the manager was treated with near derision.
We have another 6 days of this to go. There are better if not as well located hotels nearby and it is not necessary to stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Prodigalpops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
563felixr, Gerente at TRH Mijas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear guest . thank you for your opinion.
We are sorry that our breakfast and buffet dinners did not fulfilled your expectations. We try to improve our services, and know that it´s impossible to satisfy all needs.
You did not tell the management about this issue. When complaining on time we do our utmost to solve the problems immediately.
Regarding the garage , the rate is 10,00 € per day which is similar to all other hotels in the Costa del sol.
Of course ,this is an extra that you can decide to use or not, as you have the possibility to park the car in the street just 20 meters far from the hotel entrance.
Regarding the disruption caused by children, this is an unusual situation . Our hotel is really quiet all year long, but during Christmas season we are fully booked and it´s natural that people enjoy these holidays time. Anyway, the bar close at 00:00. So , no noise from that hour on.
If you are so kind to give me your private mail address, maybe we can discuss this and other matters privately…
Thank you . Felix Reyes. Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

If you like all your breakfast drinks out of machines and of very poor quality 'TRH Mijas Hotel' may suit you? The breakfast seems to be made in one go at the start of the morning and gets to look steadily stale as time progresses, it seems that once an item has been eaten it is "finished" as the cook/chef? told me when I asked for a croissant. We tried the buffet evening meal for our first night but it was just like the breakfasts so eating out was our option for the rest of the weeks stay. A picnic breakfast on our last day sumed up the food standard - the orange (this is Spain remember) was seriously rotten on the outside skin and the apple was bad in its core! Oh, and be prepared to pay more for the car parking there than you may do for the car hire, all such a shame because it has so much potential with its excellent location and views but these alone don't entitle it to a 4* rating in my book.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hilguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mijas
1.2 mi away
ILUNION Hacienda del Sol
3.5 mi away
Eurostars Mijas Golf & Spa
7.2 mi away
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
#3 of 4 in La Cala de Mijas
1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
8.0 mi away
Muthu Grangefield Oasis Club
8.2 mi away
El Oceano Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRH Mijas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRH Mijas

Address: Calle Tamisa 2, 29650, Mijas, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mijas
#4 Spa Hotel in Mijas
Price Range: £45 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — TRH Mijas 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your TRH Mijas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trh Mijas Hotel Mijas
Trh Hotel Mijas
Mijas Trh Hotel
Hotel Mijas
TRH Mijas Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing