We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with a view”
Review of TRH Mijas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
TRH Mijas
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Mijas
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Hotel is beautifully situated in pictureque village. It's convenient for public transport straight from the airport. Helpful service and reliable cleaning. Great choice for breakfast and penty in evenin though not very Spanish. Views best from upper floors where also Wifi available. Some smokey smells and thin walls only drawbacks.



Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank patan116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

600 - 606 of 1,341 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2014

Just back from a four night break at the TRH Mijas, after having visited for a week in September 2013. Couldn't wait to return. We just love this hotel. Were not allocated the room on top floor which we requested due to water damage, but the room we were given was fine, though being on a lower floor did not have such spectacular views. We prefer the 'old' original part of the hotel for character to the 'newer' part of the hotel. The food was plentiful and very good, both at breakfast and dinner. The hotel seems to cater mostly for tour parties. People seem to arrive and leave in large groups after a night or two, so always new faces. Lots of Chinese and Japanese clientele. Lovely to catch some early season sun around the pool and not have to fight for sunbeds. We had the whole pool area to ourselves. Bliss!! Mijas Pueblo itself was surprisingly busy for the time of the year. Still as lovely, with lots of bars, restaurants and shops open all year round. Plenty of buses down to the coast too for a change of scenery.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This is a good hotel with excellent facilities and in a good location the rooms are comfortable and of a reasonable size however the television was old and had no hdmi connection to connect a computer to it to play films or anything I had loaded on my computer so the only English programme was the news. The bed was comfortable but had only one pillow but when asked the maid provided a second pillow. The breakfast is buffet style with a good selection of hot and cold food.
There are several things however that let it down, everything has to be paid for extra after your b & b payment. If you want a mini bar in your room you have to ask for one and pay extra, if you want to use the safe in your room that is extra, the parking is extra but if you are there out of season there is plenty of free parking in the street at the rear of the hotel or on a piece of waste land at the side of the hotel. There is no wifi in the rooms which I think in this day and age is poor.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Stayed here over New Year as part of a Just You singles group from the UK. I absolutely loved the hotel, we could not have been made more welcome. Rooms are in traditional style, roomy and with nice terraces. The bar conservatory is an absolute joy with spectacular views over the coastline below. The food is what you get in Spanish hotels - buffet style with plenty of it and pleasingly - and not always the case in Spain - lots of different things from evening to evening. I actually really enjoyed it, especially the breakfasts. Its all about expectations.

Has lovely outdoor areas although too chilly for the pool in winter. I would be lovely in summer enjoying the sun above the crowds.

Mijas itself is lovely, Big enough to hold the interest, lots of tapas bars and restaurants and
better quality shops.

I'd definitely go back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We spent 5 days at TRH Mijas last week, and had a wonderful time. The hotel is beautifully located on the way into Mijas Pueblo, a charming town in the mountains above Fuengirola and Benalmadena. Great walking area, and excellent local bus service running every 30 minutes to all nearby towns (the bus stop is outside the hotel entrance, couldn't be handier!). There is very good wifi coverage throughout the reception bar and lounge areas. I had read several reviews on here before booking, and was open minded about what to expect. We were very pleasantly surprised. We had a superior room with idyllic sea views, very comfortable and clean, furnished in a "shabby chic" antique style, and had no complaints whatsoever. If you like Ikea, this is not for you, but if you like character it certainly is. The food was varied and plentiful, surprisingly so for low season, the breakfasts are especially good. Every member of staff we had dealings with were extremely helpful, the waiters being particularly friendly, and unfailingly cheerful.I do speak Spanish quite fluently, but from what I overheard they all spoke reasonable English so communication should be no problem. To sum up, we will definitely be back next year, a delightful hotel for a peaceful low season break, and ridiculously good value. We paid €30 each a night for half board through Booking.com. Clean, comfortable and charming. If you want any criticism, bar prices were a little steep in comparison with other local businesses, and the blankets on the beds although immaculately clean, had seen better days. That I can certainly live with.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 5th floor near reception, we had room 40 which had a lovely terrace with sea v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Toni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed here end of December, a strong and very nasty wind blew us almost from the hill. The bus couldn't arrive at the front door so we had to walk down and later up hill, struggling with our suitcase. The hotel is okay, wifi only in the lobby. Rooms small, mattress VERY hard, not comfortable, no extra pillow in the room. The sunshades very cheap, rattling to pieces in the storm, on the outside of the window, had to be pulled up to let some light into the room.
Buffet restaurant average. Wine not for sale by the glass, only whole bottles, a reason not to drink wine that night.
A beautiful view on the Mediterranean Sea.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank julaHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Were suposed to stay for a week in this hotel but only managed 3 nights, The place is tatty and the amenities advertised ie Spar etc are all closed down. The hotel is extreemly short staffed never a barman in attendance and the food is utterly disgusting particularly the breakfast. Only one member of staff to clear and set all the tables resulted in sitting in a sea of filthy plates.Settining this aside the quality of the food was extreemly poor.Having stayed in other 4* hotels in Mijas this hotel doesnt even deserve 2*
Customer service is non existant and be very careful of your bar bill as serveral guests had caused to complain about 'discrepancies' Main guest clientel seems to be Northern coach trips on a budget which may explain the poor subtandard facilities and food.
In addition to above the walls between rooms are paper thin and you can hear snorring and other guests using the bathrooms.
This is the worst hotel I have stayed in Spain

Room Tip: Not sure there is a good room in this hotel but be advised if you ask for a Superior double room you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rigsbytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mijas
1.2 mi away
ILUNION Hacienda del Sol
3.5 mi away
Eurostars Mijas Golf & Spa
7.2 mi away
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
#3 of 4 in La Cala de Mijas
1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
8.2 mi away
El Oceano Beach Hotel
6.8 mi away
Hotel Carmen
Hotel Carmen
#2 of 4 in La Cala de Mijas
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRH Mijas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRH Mijas

Address: Calle Tamisa 2, 29650, Mijas, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mijas
#4 Spa Hotel in Mijas
Price Range: £44 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — TRH Mijas 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your TRH Mijas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trh Mijas Hotel Mijas
Trh Hotel Mijas
Mijas Trh Hotel
Hotel Mijas
TRH Mijas Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing