We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”
Review of El Escudo de Mijas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Escudo de Mijas
Ranked #2 of 17 Mijas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This was our third year staying at Escudo and once again we were not disappointed.

The hotel is perfectly located in the center of the village and as usual our room was kept clean and tidy on a daily basis thanks to Marga and Marie (cleaning lady)

A special mention for Marga who on our visit this year who kindly made an appointment at her dentist for my husband who required emergency treatment on a damaged tooth.

Not only did Marga take the trouble to make the appointment for my husband but also came to the dentists surgery whilst we were there to see if everything was OK and was prepared to stay to interpretate if necessary.


We intend to visit again asap
Lynn & Steve Liverpool

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

Hi many thanks margarita for the warm welcome we received on our recent stay at the el escudo de mijas.I couldnt fault this property ideal for a relaxing break, spotlessly clean and comfortable accomodation already thinking of returning when we can and would reccomend to anyone. Malcolm and Angie Roberts

Room Tip: Top floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cazboo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Having been to Mijas on several previous occasions , we were looking forward to our first overnight stay and spending a bit more time in the beautiful village of Mijas .

We were also looking forward to staying at the Hostal El Escudo de Mijas as all the reviews suggested it would provide good quality authentic Spanish accommodation which is what we wanted. We arrived at around 3pm to check in , only to find the front door closed and nobody around to help us get inside the building and no information at the front door to advise what to do . We hung around for a while half expecting someone to return and open the hotel . Eventually we got a mobile phone working , called the hotel number and got a Spannish gentlemen on the line who remotely opened the front door and told us our keys were on the reception desk . So we found our keys , let ourselves into our rooms , and just had to make the best of it . At no stage did anyone ever come to see if everything was ok or to help out with problems we had with pillows , the safe , the ( slow ) internet , etc .

It was only at 9h30 the next morning did someone appear at reception to check us out and take payment , but still nobody apologised for not checking us in properly and nobody asked if we had enjoyed or stay .

Clearly the management dont care much about customer service.

The hostal is in a good central position . The room was basic , and there was a lack of decent pillows .

I wonder how long we would have been stuck outside the front door had we not had a roaming cellphone ?

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Our second visit to the beautiful village of Mijas. The Hostel was easy to find and we was welcomed by the lovely staff at the entrance. We walked from the 1€ per day car park to find Hostal El Escudo de Mijas up a small side street, very quaint and with beautiful veiws.
It is small but ideal for a short stay, the rooms were cosy and clean and we got a good nights sleep, which is all we needed really as we spent our time wondering around Mijas and visiting some of it's better Cafe-Bars and Restaurants. We would recomend a short stay there and will consider staying again if we go to Mijas again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Estabanf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

After a long trip, it was wonderful to arrive at this beautiful town and lovely hostel. We arrived by car and did find it a little difficult to find at first. We parked in the main public car park (1 euro per day), packed an overnight bag and walked to the hotel. The room was lovely with a balcony providing a great view of the coast. Close to shops/ restaurants, this hotel is a perfect place to stay. Whilst it does not serve breakfast, with so many cafes nearby, the hardest thing is to chose which one to dine at.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Somapesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Firstly, I would say don't be put off by my 3 star rating of this place. I have only given it 3 stars because it isn't really a hotel, it's more of a very comfortable hostel. However, as it doesn't offer some of the things you would expect in a hotel, such as breakfast, I have only rated it 3 stars.

It is situated right in the heart of Mijas, next to the small square. To reach it, you have to walk up some steps so bear this in mind if you have a pushchair or especially a wheelchair as there were no ramps in evidence. Also when you get to the hotel itself, there are a further 9 steps to walk up with no ramps.

Once inside the hotel, it is an oasis of calm. Decorated in Andalucian style, very cool and quiet. The room was comfortable and plenty big enough for a weekend trip which we were on. It had a large comfortable bed, air conditioning, a mini bar and plenty of wardrobe space. The bathroom was also well equipped and nicely decorated. The shower was over the bath - but the bath was a half size one that would require you to put your knees up to your chin in order to sit in it. The shower was very good although the warm water took a while to come through.

The staff were friendly although we didn't see much of them. They seem to be there to man the reception desk in the mornings and to clean the rooms.

When we arrived, our key was left on the reception desk for us as it was siesta time. You can come and go as you please and do't need to drive anywhere if you are intent on staying around Mijas.

There is no parking at the hotel, you can drop bags off at the bottom of the steps in the square but the car needs to be parked about 200m away in a public car park which is free - or 1€ if you want to park underground in the shade.

I really like this place. It's not trying to be anything other than a nice base to stay in Mijas. It isn't expensive but it delivers comfort and convenience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jerh48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed here for four nights as we were attending a family wedding in Calla Mijas. I reserved two double rooms via email and, after reading reviews here, requested rooms on the higher floors. The hotel is tucked away off a small square in the centre of Mijas, it's so peaceful but is within walking distance of bars and restaurants. We were allocated rooms 8 and 9, on the second floor. Both were beautifully decorated and spotless and had large balconies with a table, two chairs and a sun lounger. The bathrooms were stocked with toiletries and hairdryers and had good size bath tubs.The coffee machine on the ground floor was really handy and the mini bars in the rooms were well stocked and reasonably priced. The wifi at reception was fine for downloading newspapers etc. There's also a roof terrace with amazing views. The staff ordered a taxi to get us to the wedding and couldn't have done more to make our stay perfect. This hotel is amazing value, we'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor have larger balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sherrydarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mijas hotels
0.3 mi away
TRH Mijas
TRH Mijas
#4 of 27 in Mijas
1,316 reviews
0.9 mi away
ILUNION Hacienda del Sol
3.1 mi away
Eurostars Mijas Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
#3 of 4 in La Cala de Mijas
1,328 reviews
7.7 mi away
Muthu Grangefield Oasis Club
0.4 mi away
La Casa de la Iglesia
La Casa de la Iglesia
#1 of 1 in Mijas Pueblo
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Escudo de Mijas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Escudo de Mijas

Address: Pasaje Trocha de los Pescadores 7 | Por Plaza de la Constitución, 29650, Mijas, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Mijas
Price Range: £34 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — El Escudo de Mijas 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your El Escudo de Mijas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Escudo De Mijas Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing