We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Club Calahonda Crown Resort
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Mijas
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Just back from a great week. Check in fast and friendly let us in to our apartment early. The grounds are kept really nice. Pool heated which im told in spain is not common. Apartment spotless. View over pool and from the kids room you could see the sea and tennis courts. A great roof top sunning area with fab views. A taverna serving drinks and snacks. A mini bus to take you to lovely cabopino or supermarkets etc free. The staff made it they were all great.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank janekd39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    61
    41
    5
    2
See reviews for
72
39
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stahe, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

We booked an apartment for 1 week through Booking.com two months in advance of our arrival date. Unfortunately for us, the day of departure a strike by Air Traffic Controllers in France cause our air carrier (Ryanair) to cancel our flight. The Ryanair ticket agent told us that the earliest we could re-book was 5 days later which would leave us with two days remaining on the original booking at Crown Resorts. For the next 24 hours we tried our best to find alternative flights to get to our destination. I contacted Chris Greengrass at Crown Resorts and explained the situation to him and he stated that he would be willing to adjust the dates but would, under no circumstances, refund any of the nearly 500 Euros cost of the apartment. I explained that I was in the military and did not know if I would be able to adjust the dates on my leave pass and that the cost of last minute air fare over the Easter weekend was looking to be quite costly and would it be possible to find some common ground to reduce the cost we would be billed. Chris was adamant that the full amount would be charged whether I showed up or not as per their refund guidelines. We went to a travel agent to see about finding flights as our experience online was not resulting in anything affordable. We met with the same results at the travel agency. I sent Chris another email explaining the situation again and did not receive a reply. I called Booking.com and explained the situation and they also called Chris while I was on hold to see if Chris would agree to reduce the price as it was certain that we would not be able to proceed to Crown Resorts. Apparently Chris told the Booking.com agent that he would not budge on the amount and would only be amicable to changing the dates of the reservation despite the fact that he knew that we could not make our way there. I can totally understand the need for Crown Resorts to have a policy in place for no-shows, but considering the extenuating circumstances, I was shocked that Chris was unwilling to make any gestures of goodwill and reduce the amount by any means, instead raking in the cash for 7 nights of an unoccupied apartment that they could conceivably re-book to latecomers. My family will not be booking any future vacations with Crown Resorts as a result of these circumstances that were beyond our control. As an aside, Chris snidely stated to me that: "With all due respect, Sir, that is what cancellation insurance is for...". Well, according to the travel agent, we could purchase cancellation insurance, but it was only applicable to being unable to travel due to sickness, that was supported with a Doctor's note...not for anything else such as flight cancellations, etc.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Shawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

Exvcellent apartments something for all ages, Car a great help. Services and staff brilliant plenty for teenagers in Fuengirola, plenty on site for others and at Cabo pino beach. Access to any where on the Costa from Mijas to Gibralter. Loads of families so all ages groups catered for, all made friends and had a great time. We have now been back fouryears running.

Room Tip: Ring direct and explain what you want. We normally have an ensuite but with three males I opted for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Midlands48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

We stayed at Club Calahonda for the first 2 weeks in October 2011 in a 2-bedroom apartment. Although the apartment standard was quite good, we really didn’t like the area it was in.

The apartment was well equipped and furnished and quite clean. Everything worked apart from one very small shower which had a badly broken door which the management didn’t seem bothered about fixing despite being repeatedly asked. One potential problem during the summer would be the lack of air-conditioning, which we understand is the norm in most other equivalent residences. To be fair the ceiling fans worked well in October, but in our experience they wouldn’t be enough in the peak season. Additionally, the site has obviously had a security problem; there were many security advice notices and leaflets left in the apartment; the site entrance is via coded gates (which some people continually left open!). There was a safe in our apartment, for which we were surprised at having to pay in the light of this!

The site is also good with two swimming pools - one heated, the other unheated. There were plenty of sun beds around - but not enough with a “sit-up back” for our liking! The grounds are well kept and the Palm Tree restaurant provided a reasonable selection of meals at a fair (= non rip-off) price. There are also two supermarkets and other restaurants within walking distance.


The location is NOT exactly where shown on the Tripadviser map - the “star” shown points to Club Marbella - Club Calahonda is closer to the sea between Urbanizacion Jarales de Alhamar, Calle del Conde de Jordania and Av de Espagne. The whole of the coastal strip is just now one long suburb, virtually continuous from what we can make out west from Malaga. We found that there was no real centre nearby, or anywhere nice for a walk after dinner in the evening. The coastal road - now a continuously day and night roaring dual carriageway - separates the area around Club Calahonda from the sea. The nearest reasonable beach is several km west by car/bus.

Club Calahonda is OK if you want to either stay in the grounds and relax, or use it as a base for visiting places (Granada, Gib + many others). However, it is not suitable if you want somewhere within walking distance of a decent beach with some local flavour without having to negotiate continual traffic.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Martin&Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

We stayed at two 2 -bedroom apartments. The apartments were lavishly furnished, tidy and had all the kitchen utensils and a washing machin, with washing powder. The stuff were very polite and helpful. The pool is not big but is sufficent for having fun. The beach is 5 minute walking distance, and there are two big supermarkets nearby, and lots of restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Niliti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

My wife and I visited this complex through our RCI Timeshare Points System..It was an excellent all round place to stay, All the staff were very pleasant and helpfull and spoke good English..The room we stayed in had 2 bedrooms/2 bathrooms looking over the tennis court which at about 4.00 pm the balcony was a great sun trap.. The rooms were kept immaculate has was the resort. The Palm Trees restraurant owner Antonio and all his staff were brilliant. advised to book a table on karaoke night its good.. if you smoke reserve a table outside... There is good entertainment on at the Palm Trees every night and the food is great,,About a five minute walk up the hill to the small strip there is more restrautants and would recommend The Far Isles first one on the left walking down.. We visited this resort in September 2011 weather was good all week..

Room Tip: If you want a little privacy ask for a room facing the tennis courts..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DeanoFry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

We stayed here the first week of August 2011 as part of an RCI exchange and I would definitely stay at Club Calahonda again.

The room itself had a kitchen which was well stocked with equipment, and a washing machine. Living room with sofa, television and dvd player, dining table and chairs for six, a large balcony with a table that sat 4 and had several sun loungers for use. One double bed in the bedroom was off the balcony, the second bedroom, with twin beds was opposite. Two bathrooms, of good size. All in all, a very nice room and spectacular view of the water. The resort charges 28 euros for electricity for the week - however, the room does not have air conditioning, it is for normal utility consumption. I was a bit surprised as I have regularly been charged an extra electric fee for air con, but never as an extra for normal consumption. However, I did regularly use the washing machine to wash sandy towels and clothes, so I am not complaining. They had a large clothes rack out on the balcony to dry the wet laundry and put swimsuits and such.

The room was clean and neat. A couple lightbulbs were burnt out, but we contacted the front desk and maintenance came within an hour to fix. Mid week they changed the linens on the beds and all the towels.

Also, security is a concern, with coded gates to enter the property, and signs in the room all instruct you to lock your valuables in the safe, and to lock your gates which slide across the glass doors if you take a nap and when you sleep. However, in order to use the safe, you must rent a pin from the front desk at 1 euro per day. I thought this might be overkill (all the gates and such) until we met a woman at a restaurant who was staying at a different property and had fallen asleep on her balcony during siestsa. Thieves apparently climbed the balcony and entered her room as she had not locked the gate. They stole her purse and all her credit cards/money etc. Again, this did not happen at this property, but it does happen often enough in the area that management places signs in your room to remind you.

The pool looked nice and had lots of loungers, however, the week we stayed it often looked like kid soup. Most of the guests were British or Spanish, and everyone seemed to have a good time. Our room faced the pool and it was noisy until around 11pm every night, but didn't bother us. This is a place for families. Our teenage daughter just didn't want to go as the kids were all much younger. Many times it too hot to sleep until well after midnight, so we shifted our schedules to more of a Spanish one (dinner around 10pm, bed around midnight, 1am, sleep until 8am), siesta around 2-3. The beach was not far and we took the shuttle once down and walked back. We also spent time exploring the coast and found several nice beaches and great restaurants.

The front desk offered us an arrival package for 20e which included eggs, bacon, bread, tea, sugar, milk, juice, coffee, thus allowing us to make breakfast in the morning. (The markets close early Sunday, and were thus closed by the time we arrived) It was very nice and unexpected.

I found the front desk to be very helpful and nice. The Little Palms Restaurant was ok foodwise - we ate there the first evening. Discovered other restaurants for breakfast/lunch which were much better.

There was plenty of parking, and a small elevator to use so we did not have to haul heavy suitcases up flights of stairs.

They do not have beach towels, so plan on bringing your own or buying some. The welcome packet had a comment that the front desk rents beach towels, but I didn't see it until after I bought a couple. Not sure what the price was. Loungers were available at every beach we went for 4e for the day and included an umbrella.

It was hard to find the first time, despite having a GPS. It is also a bit further from Malaga, Fuengiarola and other places than we realized.

If I was just staying to get a bit of sun, I might forgo renting a car. We had a car, as we had flown into Madrid and driven down (7 hours driving), and found we spent a lot of time driving around as we explored the rest of the coast.

Almost everything a guest may want was in walking distance or shuttle distance, and at the end of the trip I felt a bit exhausted from all the driving. The resort does offer tours to Grenada and Tangier and several other locations, but you must arrange several days in advance. Also, there is train service to Sevilla from Malaga, but it was expensive, so we chose to drive to Sevilla for the day, spent the night and then came back to Club Calahonda the next day. It was convenient to use as a base for exploration as this was our first trip to Spain and there was so much to see..

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank missiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mijas hotels
0.3 mi away
Club Marbella/Regency Palms Crown Resort
0.8 mi away
Club Delta Mar Crown Resort
Club Delta Mar Crown Resort
#2 of 3 in Sitio de Calahonda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ona Campanario
Ona Campanario
#11 of 28 in Mijas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
#3 of 4 in La Cala de Mijas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grangefield Oasis Club
Grangefield Oasis Club
#26 of 28 in Mijas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
1.6 mi away
El Oceano Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Calahonda Crown Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Calahonda Crown Resort

Property: Club Calahonda Crown Resort
Address: Ur Sitio De Calahonda, Ctra.cadiz Km.196,50, 29650, Mijas, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Mijas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Calahonda Crown Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Club Calahonda Crown Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Calahonda Crown Hotel Mijas
Hotel Calahonda Crown
Club Calahonda Crown Resort Mijas, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing