We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great week at Club Marbella!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crown Resorts Club Marbella / Club Regency Palms
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Mijas
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Another great week at Club Marbella!”
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We have owned a timeshare at Club Marbella for 15 years and have just returned from another great week's holiday. This resort never disappoints and again we had a lovely time with amazing weather. Many of the staff have worked at the resort for years, they are fantastic, very friendly and helpful and they always find the time to make us feel special by welcoming us back each time. From reception, porters, bar staff, life guards, minibus drivers to security guards everyone says 'hola' and are always happy to see you again. The staff can't do enough for you and work hard to make this resort special!

There have been a few changes around the resort since we last visited I'm happy to say all for the good. We had a lovely refurbished spacious apartment (251), which was very clean and comfortable. We were also pleased to see that more had been made of the seating area in the Orange Plaza, which is now a nice, relaxing place to spend an evening with a cocktail or a glass of sangria and that a welcome shaded seating area has now replaced the mini-bar up on the sundeck. The food in the restaurant Cafe Marbella is very good and the restaurant staff, Cristobel, Miguel, Paco, Carlos, Juan Luis and their colleagues are always very efficient, happy and friendly, good to see on-site meal options are now available in the restaurant too. Also a very good idea to now have a dedicated TV channel for the resort, showing just how much is on offer there and nearby.

The resort minibus takes you door to door to the beautiful Cabopino Beach (although each year there does seem to be an ever increasing number of 'lookie-lookie' men hovering round the sun loungers offering the usual bags, watches etc.)
The resort is in such a great location as there are a good choice of restaurants and bars 5 minutes walk down the road, offering a wide and varied range of great food, especially the 'Little Bistrot Suisse' and the new Asian restaurant 'Overseas'. If that's not enough there are many more bars and restaurants nearby in the El Zoco centre or at Puerto Cabopino so you really are spoilt for choice.

Pity we could only stay for a week this time. Can't wait to go back again soon!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KazandAndy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    153
    100
    32
    19
See reviews for
214
86
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Just back from a week at the Club Marbella resort. Total party included 4 adults & 1 child. We had a lovely time, enjoyed the resort (apart from the stairs!) & staff, but not wowed enough to go back again. Worth a visit if you get a good, cheap deal.

The Good Bits
Very clean all the way through the site, very helpful staff, great porter service, brilliant min-bus service, great pool tables in the indoor Billiard room, indoor pool lovely, mini-golf was challenging but great fun, apartment was a newly refurbished 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment was great for our party (4 adults + 1 child), there is a lovely courtyard area with tables, chairs & shade etc which is very pleasant, animation staff were great with the kids, good facilities available for free but hefty refundable deposits, excursions reasonably priced, good mix of nationalities

The Bad Bits
Lots of hills & stairs, more hills & stairs, main pool is a square pool without a shallow 'walk in' end (shallow end is 1mtr 10, the deepest 2mts), kids pool is very small & cold & away from the "main" action area, the kids club is not very well advertised/organised & only runs for a short period of time each day, no supermarket facility on site & the nearest shop is small, ill-equipped & has a significant incline on the hill walking back, hills & stairs, kids meals are typical spag bol & chicken nuggets, despite signage reserving sunbeds does happen (one day towels were down on sunbeds for 5 hours before anyone used them!), limited pool space for the number of apartments, oh & did I mention the hills & stairs!!

The Alright Bits
Restaurant food is good value, but a bit samey in food. Drinks were good value, ice-creams were limited in choice & expensive. Fish dish of the day options were lovely. The lifeguard staff are hit & miss - 1 day balls are allowed in the pool, the next they aren't. Outside the hotel/apartment facilities is very restrictive, balconies were a little small for the size of apartments, wi-fi was free in the Cafe/Bar/Restaurant area but hit & miss as to getting connected, wi-fi is available in the rooms but make sure your room is close enough before paying!!

Like I said at the beginning - for a cheap deal, its a good value, resort based type location. Perfectly bland :-)

Room Tip: Ask for a recently refurbished room on the ground or first floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ecj1905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narbonne, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We got a really good deal through Groupon and went the week after Easter. The apartment was only just big enough but had everything we needed. It was really nicely decorated. I would definitely recommend going out of season; the weather was nice, we had the indoor pool, jacuzzi, gym etc to ourselves. Also if you want to go to Gibraltar, the Alhambra etc going when it's quiet make it easy but you still need to book the Alhambra in advance which the receptionist kindly did for me).
We thought we could use pay the 30 € for the wifi but it didn't reach our apartment so we had to go to the restaurant/bar where wifi was available for free... but less convenient.
We didn't like the approach of the salesmen but they backed off after a while.
The rest of the staff were great. The kids club was only one hour a day but all three of the staff were wonderful and the children had a great time with them. We also enjoyed the Spanish and salsa lessons.
Do use the hair and beauty salon!! We got great hair cuts and I had a lovely pedicure too. The girls really know what they are doing and the prices are reasonable.
I'd go back in a flash.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kate c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We have owned a timeshare at Crown Resorts Club Marbella for app. 14 years, we have never wanted to join the RCI scheme as we love coming back to this site and area every year.

We have just returned from a weeks holiday and had the best weather yet.

We stayed in no 169, a two bedroomed/two bathroom with a good sized balcony but no sea view, the floor above us woild have a sea view.

Although a little bit dated the apartments are very well maintained and very clean, the kitchen is fully equipped with everything you may need for 6 people, (no dishwasher), has a washing machine, iron etc. The apartment is cleaned halfway through the week with a linen and towel change but I am sure you can request daily cleaning at a charge.

The reception staff, porter and security guards are all friendly and it is nice to see the same faces year after year.

The cafe/restaurant is also good with entertainment, the flamenco show is not to be missed.

There is an indoor pool complex with jacuzzi, sauna and good changing rooms, ideal if you have a later flight and need to get showered and changed.

The top pool is open air and heated, there are plenty of sunbeds but not much in the way of shade.

Apart from the odd maintenance problem which was quickly rectified we have never had cause for complaint.

We are there again later this year and will be back next year in our usual time slot.

Room Tip: depends weather you like a pool view or somewhere quiet,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank leslibee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We spent an extended weekend at the Crown Resort at Sitio de Calahonda. Spacious two bedroom with separate baths. Clean both outside and inside and well equipped. Service by professional and helpful reseptionists who spoke perfect english.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Rimfaxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Spent 1 week here over Easter. We had apartment 154. It has a reasonably large terrace but only the end 2' gets any sun for about 2 hours in the afternoon. This room is directly above the cafe/bar so expect to be woken every morning at 8 o'clock as they prepare for the day's trade (opening shutters etc).The apartment itself was quite well equipped and big enough for my wife and I and the 3 kids (5, 7 and 9 years old). The room gets cleaned only once a week and I think that this is too long to go without a change of towels. I thought the beds were very hard too.
The resort is OK but lacks a proper bar - there is just the Cafe Marbella cafe/bar but this is more for dining than having a few drinks and watching the entertainment. The entertainment is just OK too but finishes at 10:30 sharp each night. There are a few good bars just around the corner (Harp Irish bar and Rumors). For restaurants, the Chinese 'Slow Boat' was excellent.
The pools are good, however, and kept quite warm - around 27 degrees C for the outdoor pool with the indoor pool much warmer. The indoor pool is 1.4m deep throughout which was just too deep for the kids though - the outdoor pool has a shallow end at 1m. Bathing caps are required for the indoor pool - buy them at the local shops for around 3 Euros (much more expensive on site). We got ours in a little shop close to Lidl for €2.20 each. No problem at all getting a sunbed by the pool whatever the time of day. The sun terrace overlooking the pool appeared to be the area of choice for the sun-worshippers so probably a bit harder to get a lounger up there.
A hire car is highly recommended. We went to Gibraltar which was great (I recommend the Rock Tour- 1.5 hours guided tour by taxi at €25 each including entrance to the caves and Great Seige Tunnels - not to mention the monkeys) and Ronda which is an absolute 'must see'. It was one of the most beautiful and spectacular places I have ever visited - an old white-washed Spanish city perched perilously close to the sheer cliffs overlooking the Andalucian plains. It also has the oldest bull-ring in Spain. The Cabopina beach was also really nice.
In summary, the Club Marbella was OK as a base from which to explore, but 1 week was long enough.
Now my turn- the wives perspective!
There were a few lines of ants marching along the electric hob kettle area which was a little off putting, you are given ant spray but out of all the holidays I've had, I've never once had this problem. No sooner had you sprayed them they would be back!
The double bedroom had an infuriating noise like a nail on a wine glass which tapped irregularly throughout each night, I found stuffing a cushion behind the mattress stopped it. (We both had terrible nightmares each night, which was very odd). I'd often wake up with pins and needles as the mattress was so hard.
This place was not good for my children. The kids club started at 11 and they would be shipped off to another hotel, which they or I did not want. There was no mini disco, no poolside bar for lollies.
We were forced to go out of an evening and we would spend most evenings sitting in the Irish bar watching the golf or football, with me wishing I could try and have a go of the kids DS's!
You have to hire a car for this location, but beware, the slip roads joining the motorways are perilous.
There are Lidls everywhere and I kid you not, a bottle of wine 75C, bottle of vodka €4.00! But strangely things like yoghurts and jars of sauce for pasta well over £2.00!
After looking on trip advisor, we drove to Gibraltar, tolls being around £4.00 each time. Gibraltar is beautiful and very impressive. I was lead to believe that the monkeys were dangerous and thieving, but I found them friendly, holding and stroking them!
Ronda was one of the best places I have ever been too, even the journey there was magificent.
But maybe not if you have a child who likes to climb!
Overall, I was very dissappointed in the hotel, but okay for a base. one week was long enough.

Room Tip: Not too sure about the other rooms, but 154 has the largest terrace although gets no sun to speak of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HartlepoolMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We selected this resort by virtue of the reasonable reviews for a last minute timeshare booking with a limited choice.

The 2-bed accommodation (including 2 bathrooms) was fine - comfortable, clean and well equipped, but not luxurious; we were told that it had been recently refurbished. A kettle was provided immediately on request. Charges at the end of the week were €28 for utilities and €7 for the safe. The staff were helpful and efficient.

The location is in a fairly smart residential area. Two minutes walk around the corner is a selection of tourist bars and restaurants; amongst these is the La Siesta mini-market, which had all we needed for the week. The beach is about 25 minutes walk way where parking is difficult - on the way is a pleasant park with some very noisy frogs.

This is a high density resort - around 100 flats; given the location, we don’t think there would be spectacular views from any flat .The pool (outside pool temperature was 29 degrees in early March) and communal sunbathing area were fairly small - and we think would be overcrowded in high season. The bar/café area was also not that big. The food we had there was fine; and the café’s free wifi was excellent.

We enjoy going to Gibraltar -1 hr 30 mins drive from this resort, and quicker if you use the toll motorway (€4.55 each way for both toll sections) to avoid the drags through Estepona and Marbella. We have now learnt to avoid the expensive underground parking at La Linea - try meter parking (€5.40 for max 6 hrs) on the side street by the frontier McDonalds. Get an all-day bus rover ticket for £1.50 over the frontier, and also take the No 2 bus to Europa Point. Try to have adequate sterling with you to avoid the extortionate retail exchange rate for Euros - UK bank machines giving out UK notes are available. If you take a car onto the Rock, then expect to queue for about 20-30 mins to get back into Spain and watch for hirecar insurance coverage/surcharge. Free parking is available at the base of the cable car.

Beware the timeshare sales talk. The rep first called with a bottle of sparkling wine, then suggested lunch - which led into the usual 1 hr sales patter. The session concluded with an invitation (declined) to pay £3,600 up front to get out of the commitment to pay increasing maintenance fees till the end of our owned weeks’ leases; however, it was also useful to hear about other ways to use the timeshare system.

Chiringuito Servando - the blue beach café at Guadalmar - is worth a visit - on the coast immediately to the south of Malaga airport. Excellent fresh fish, but more importantly - this is where the Spanish locals go to eat.

In summary, this is perhaps a resort to use as a base rather than for a ‘go nowhere else’ holiday. For example, we saw plenty of people setting off for a day’s golf.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barrybloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mijas hotels
0.6 mi away
Muthu Grangefield Oasis Club
0.7 mi away
Club Delta Mar Crown Resort
Club Delta Mar Crown Resort
#2 of 3 in Sitio de Calahonda
97 reviews
5.1 mi away
Eurostars Mijas Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ona Campanario
Ona Campanario
#11 of 27 in Mijas
156 reviews
7.5 mi away
ILUNION Hacienda del Sol
2.2 mi away
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
#3 of 4 in La Cala de Mijas
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Resorts Club Marbella / Club Regency Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Resorts Club Marbella / Club Regency Palms

Property: Crown Resorts Club Marbella / Club Regency Palms
Address: C/Monte Paraiso 2 | Urb Sitio de Calahonda, 29649, Mijas, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Mijas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crown Resorts Club Marbella / Club Regency Palms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crown Resorts Club Marbella / Club Regency Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Marbella/Regency Palms Crown Hotel Mijas
Hotel Marbella Regency Palms Crown
Crown Resorts Club Marbella / Club Regency Palms Mijas, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing