We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Club Marbella/Regency Palms Crown Resort
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Mijas
paralimni
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great choice”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

we booked 8 days in November. could not fault the staff for service . including reception sports a pool staff and cleaners.the rooms were spotless.with all the tools required for cooking .washing ironing.there was a good selection of food for breakfast.both indoor and outdoor pool were heated. gym is small but adequate .not being able to book in till 4pm then having to be out of the room by 10 am was the only downside. Thank you crown we will be back

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trparalimni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    149
    93
    31
    18
See reviews for
203
85
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed in July for 2 weeks and had a great time. It was our first family holiday in Spain and were guested to this accommodation. The apartment was clean and well maintained and the staff very helpful.

My children loved the kids activities although some of the water activities became a bit boisterous with the older children dominating the games. The arts and crafts activities were well received and allowed an hour of child free time to enjoy the sun. The gym is good although can get busy.

Th only thing we didn't like was the poolside bar where we found the food to be poor so we opted to eat at the restaurants down the road.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeen
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Just back from club Marbella and yet again the staff have been excellent, they all remember us and make you feel very welcome. Apartment fine and pool clean as always, good value with the new buffet set up, never want to come home.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aberdeen040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here with my sister and elderly mother. My mother had stayed several years ago and was fully aware that there were lots of stairs within the complex!
The apartment was very spacious and extremely well equipped - 2 ensuite bedrooms, large sitting/dining room, very effective ceiling fans (although this was late Sep/early Oct and in the summer air conditioning might be preferable), quality pans and crockery, washing machine (although no instructions on which programme did what), efficient oven and hob, good sized fridge with freezer compartment. Sadly, no dishwasher.
The apartment was clean, but a little tired. We were on the second floor, at the back facing north, over looking Eucalyptus trees, which meant no sun at all on the balcony at any time of the day. However, it did mean that the balcony was very peaceful - I certainly wouldn't want to near the pool (very noisy)!
There are 3 main negatives:
1. We had to pay for electricity - flat rate on 28 euros per week. We thought this was outrageous - more than we spend on electricity at home.
2. Wi-fi was abysmal. You can log on during the day, for free, in Cafe Marbella, but being able to access it was hit and miss. Several people I spoke to had the same problem - sometimes you can get on and others you can't. Eventually, we decided to pay to have access in the apartment - it's not expensive at 2 euros a day - but it was painfully slow. I needed to skype someone at home and that wouldn't work. In this day and age, free, fast wi-fi should be available in a complex like this.
3. There seemed to be plenty of sunbeds in the pool area, however, this was out of season and the complex was not full. The problem with them is that the majority are fixed in the flat position, with only a few where the back can be raised. So, if you just want to lie flat, fine, if you want to read, it's a probem.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedworth Warwickshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Well would have given Club Marbella 5 rating if they had had air con, we managed without but would have been better with, well that said we did enjoy our week there a we have always done,will go back again next year. Staff all very good no problems at all. Driver of bus very nice and drove us to the beach and then collected us when he was asked to.

They now do buffet breakfast in morning, we booked for the week and had discount. No complaints at all, did not try any other meals here but they looked ok.

Our apartment 212 was ok 2 bedroom and 2 bathroom very clean furniture a bit dated but all clean and fresh. Balcony ok needs painting, but view ok over gardens and pleased it did not get any sun very nice to sit out.

Went to Bogarts restaurant twice Italian once Little Mexico once Slow Boat once all excellent value food really good. Won 2 bottles of carver at quiz at Bogarts.

Only negatives has said above, no.con, furniture a bit dated balcony needs painting, only other problem think towels should be changed more often.

We look forward to going back next year o sooner if we can get away.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandra w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Myself and my partner (20s) and parents (50s) stayed here last September, and there definitely are both positive and negative points to this place, it really depends what you what from your holiday to whether this will suit you.

Apartment positives:
- Very spacious and clean
- We had 2 twin rooms: 1 next to main bathroom and 1 with en suite toilet
- Living room/kitchen/diner area is plenty big enough with plenty of room to sit
- Kitchen well equipped
- TV (english channels mostly news though) and DVD player

Apartment negative:
- Our bedroom was at the front and first apartment on walkway from reception.. there are bars on window and plastic blind but it makes the room really dark to shut it completely but I had to as spanish boys/men would try peer through otherwise!
- We were on first floor so balcony view was a square of grass and a wall

Positives of resort:
- Staff really friendly
- Entertainment is a good enough laugh
- Free wifi in cafe/bar & can pick it up by the pool although is a bit temperamental
- Cafe/bar food good for something quick for a pool day or if you can't be bothered to go out for tea
- Only had breakfast once but good enough selection
- If you have small kids theres a baby pool down some stairs from the main pool and its always quiet with enough beds there
- Plenty of beds around the pool (despite what others have said - although we went the first week of school term so might be quieter than high season) and didn't need to reserve beds with towels like you do at some places

Negatives about resort:
- Pool is quite small and can get crowded
- When it says " on-site mini market with fresh bread" on the description its more of a bookcase in the bar that they put bread on in the morning.. or thats all I could find anyway!
- English people aren't always the majority in this resort.. Don't expect that everyone will speak english, there are a lot of spanish/portugese here. Everyone was really nice, but just remember some of entertainment etc is geared towards them too.
- A lot of steps!!!!! I would say don't come to the resort if you have mobility problems. I had just recovered from a serious foot injury and still used a wheelchair for long walks. The only slope was by the pool which I refused to go down in a wheelchair as it was so steep I'd be in the pool before I could stop at the bottom!

Positives about the area:
- Its a quiet area, can be a positive or negative depending on what you want
- Theres plenty of bars and places to eat if you dont want to get a taxi into marbella/other areas
- We had tapas at a tiny restaurant on the strip and it was fantastic, all home cooked and proper traditional tapas! He just kept bringing dish after dish out and all fantastic!
- The Loft is a great bar to have a few drinks in, the man who works there is the nicest man and they do every cocktail you could think of.
- Its a great base if you want to get out and see lots of the area

Negatives about the area:
- Be under no illusion that its "close" to Marbella just because it has Marbella in the name. We drove a few times into Marbella and its a 15 - 20 minute drive.
- The beach is a long walk, not really realistic to walk to for a day at the beach.. (I forgot the name but the bar at the beach is lovely and they do a lot of bbqs on the beach)
- There is a shop on the strip of bars/restaurants down the round but it was more expensive than the big supermarkets. Theres a really good cheap supermarket down the road but its too far to walk with all your shopping so you'll need a car if you want to go.
- Its right at the top of a hill, so for those with mobility problems it might not be the best. Also something you don't realise until you are in the position is that the curbs are really high! It's difficult to find somewhere to cross the road easily without having to go down a massive drop. I also found that spanish aren't as accepting of people with disabilities as we are in England. Gibraltar was the only place where I wasn't stared at like a monster for being in a wheelchair..

If you have a car theres so many places to explore from here: Gibraltar (be prepared, its quite a drive and you can be queuing for a while to get in and out), Torremolinos (theres a water park there), Marbella, Puerto Banus is lovely and great for people watching!! (you will not believe some of the boats and cars you'll see) I also wish we'd also had chance to go on the cable cars in Fuengirola, they looked amazing!

Overall, its a nice resort if you want a slow and quiet holiday, or a great base to explore from. If you're the type that likes lots of shops and bars to wander around, you'd be better off in Marbella itself, but its in a pretty good location for a timeshare.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coops93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed in apt 161 which was okay, a bit tired looking but generally clean and tidy. The weather was excellent and we sat on the balcony for breakfast and in the evenings following a meal outside the complex. The view was nothing special-the next block of apartments! The balcony is a sun trap and gets the sun in the afternoons.
The living area has far too much furniture in in in my opinion and could be better arranged, the kitchen is tiny not really big enough for 2 people to be in at one time.
The staff were helpful and spoke English well.
We made our way from the airport via the train to Fuengirola and them a taxi to the resort-however on the return journey we caught the bus to Fuengirola and then the train to the airport and it was remarkably cheap, 2 euros 30 for the train and 1 euro 55 for the bus as opposed to 53 euros by taxi. I would recommend this as the trains are so clean and spacious.
All in all it was a good holiday.

Room Tip: our 2 bed apt 161 was cramped and had a view of the next complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mijas hotels
0.3 mi away
Club Calahonda Crown Resort
0.7 mi away
Club Delta Mar Crown Resort
Club Delta Mar Crown Resort
#2 of 3 in Sitio de Calahonda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ona Campanario
Ona Campanario
#11 of 27 in Mijas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Muthu Grangefield Oasis Club
5.1 mi away
Eurostars Mijas Golf & Spa
2.2 mi away
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
#3 of 4 in La Cala de Mijas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Marbella/Regency Palms Crown Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Marbella/Regency Palms Crown Resort

Property: Club Marbella/Regency Palms Crown Resort
Address: Sitio De Calahonda s/n Calle Monte Paraiso | Sitio de Calahonda Mijas Costa, 29649, Mijas, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Mijas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Marbella/Regency Palms Crown Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Club Marbella/Regency Palms Crown Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Marbella/Regency Palms Crown Hotel Mijas
Hotel Marbella Regency Palms Crown
Club Marbella/Regency Palms Crown Resort Mijas, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing