We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Oceano Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Mijas
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very impressed”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Just back from this gem of a hotel. Fabulous staff, beautiful food. Comfy beds. Perfection. The sun loungers are like lying on feathers, free wifi. Didn't have time to go to spa but heard excellent reports from fellow guests.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murraymar1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    643
    112
    50
    19
    10
See reviews for
103
414
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Just returned from our latest pilgramage to El Oceano 5-10th April, including my wife's birthday. Our daughter joined us from London that day for an overnight stay as a surprise for Mum, and Glenn and all the staff kept the secret to ensure big surprise! The weather could've been warmer, but you're always assured of a warm & friendly welcome from everyone at El Oceano, it's our home from home, and the entertainment just gets better. Look out for the new band "Monkey Tennis" playing through the Sunday Lunch, they're every bit as good as the lunch - and that's amazing.
Can't wait until we're Back For More in September to enjoy this hotel and the friendly & extremely professional service you're sure to experience.
Neil & Chris Mackenzie

Room Tip: Don't miss out on the sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EGTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham City
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

If you are looking for platinum service, Michelin star food, tranquil environment, over looking the sea NO CHILDREN , this hotel you must visit,
We have just returned home after our Easter break, although we have our own holiday home in costa del sol, we visit this hotel usually daily , to be met Glen ( hotel manager) and his highly trained team of hotel staff, restaurant manager Antonio ensures your dining no matter what time of the day is nothing less than perfect, the chefs are to be highly commended for the presentation, balance of tastes, and portion size , no matter what time of the day you dine, highly recommend, chicken tikka , Thi green curry,scallops with Black pudding, tempura Prawns, mmmmmmm my mouth is watering.
Then relax by the pool on a poolside VIP bed , order you cocktail from Gregg who will bring it to your bed while you unwind relax and enjoy his choice of music.
We believe that thisFamily run hotel maintains its high standard due to owner John socialises with the guests while very discreetly and covertly observes the attention to finer detail , ensuring that your stay is nothing less than perfect.
My mother in law can highly recommend the Nail sculpting in the hotel Spa which shouts out - VIP :/)
See you all in August Calvin Moore & Andrew Bennett & parents

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew-Bennett37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ballymena
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

An awesome boutique hotel !
Run by a dedicated family who are totally tuned into what their clients expect and aspire to and strive to improve the facilities annually .....and wow !! they hit the mark!
If your into corporate style experience then this is not for ypu.... El Oceano has a unique ambience.... the sound and view of the sea is amazing..great food cocktails and wine.....superb service... top quality entertainers ..all go to making their evening galas unforgetable.!!
We hosted our sons wedding there 3 years ago and its still talked about..you simply wont get a better intimate, romantic venue !! And Glenn helped making all the arrangements in a foreign country soo easy..!
We had a Sunday lunch ...cocktails.....and VIP pool day on our last day of our hols..brilliant fun !!
Looking forward to getting back for some rays and five star good times in 2013 !!

Room Tip: Its worth paying a little more and getting a sea view...amazing unspolit vista !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ruthBallymena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Been here so many times ive lost count and every time i go it gets better, great swim up pool bar with great cocktails, fab location , great music scene and long term serving staff, menu is vast but food could be a bit more better executed - bit pub foody style for a great location , but great wine menu too, spa is fab

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welltravelledDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

: I do not know where to start about this place…… the location of the restaurant is on overlooking the sea and in the evening’s they dim the lights, open up the roof, and you can hear the sea just meters away from you.
The staff are superb, better than any other waiter / waitresses I have come across in other 5* star a la carte restaurants.
We have attended this restaurant a few times now on during different trips and is my fav place in the whole world.
For that 1 evening, with a candle lit diner, live music, exquisite food and top quality staff, you really do feel a million dollars!
I was afraid that in a place like this, that I would feel uncomfortable around the rich and snobbery, but actually you are made to feel very welcome.

To get a table next to the sea to have the perfect view, you need to book far in advance, as the restaurant offer this to their hotel residents first, then only if there is space, will they then offer to customers just visiting the restaurant.

There is always enough staff to ensure you drink is topped up, or if you would like anything, but not too many that they are standing over you, they really do have the perfect balance.

It is not cheap, but it is not too expensive for what it is, the evening is worth every penny.
For 2 people to enjoy a 3 course meal with a bottle of wine and a few other alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks, you should expect to spend around 100 – 150 euros.

I love this place so much and would recommend to anyone! It is a really romantic setting!

This place really is my paradise!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SLPOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We often use the restaurant at this hotel as it offers great food and service in a restaurant overlooking the sea. This year we chose to have our New Year's Eve dinner here. It did not disappoint. Great food, great service and a lovely atmosphere. Music and dancing all evening too.
Sunday lunch is also great at this restaurant. As well as a Sunday roast, a curry of the week is also offered and the Indian Chef always presents a great curry meal. Other items are also available.
We have never been disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonPersephone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mijas
1.0 mi away
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
#3 of 4 in La Cala de Mijas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
8.2 mi away
TRH Mijas
TRH Mijas
#7 of 27 in Mijas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
11.9 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
7.0 mi away
ILUNION Hacienda del Sol
4.2 mi away
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
#1 of 37 in Fuengirola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Oceano Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Oceano Beach Hotel

Property: El Oceano Beach Hotel
Address: Miraflores Playa, Torrenueva, 29649, Mijas, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Mijas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Oceano Beach Hotel is an oasis of laid-back luxury, privately owned and operated, where guest comfort and satisfaction is paramount. There are 40 impeccable rooms, most of which are ocean-front mini-suites offering mesmerizing views of this spectacular coastline.Plus a further 15 self contained studio apartments with kitchenette and full use of the hotel facilities.Enjoy the Polynesian Pool area with swim-up bar by day and the famous Waterfront terrace restaurant in the evenings...paradise really is closer than you think! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your El Oceano Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Oceano Beach málaga
El Oceano Hotel
Hotel El Oceano Beach
El Oceano Beach Hotel Mijas, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing