We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite possibly the nicest hotel on the costa del sol” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Oceano Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Oceano Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Mijas
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quite possibly the nicest hotel on the costa del sol”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

Brilliant hotel , could not find fault with anything,if you want something special then book it ! The staff where fantastic the views from the restaurant and terrace amazing and if your lucky enough (we were you might get a visit from the dolphins during dinner)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orlahoward1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    623
    107
    48
    19
    10
See reviews for
100
401
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

We've thought about buying a place on the coast in this part of Spain but, after our latest trip, have come to the conclusion that we've found all that we need at El Oceano! We have an extremely comfortable room with fabulous balcony and sea view, enormous sun bathing area, an amazing swim up bar with "servants" to do our drinks and cook and serve us delicious food when we want it, and top class entertainment 7 days a week. And all of these become good friends. All of this for no capital outlay, no holding or running costs when we're not there, and no ties to prevent us visiting other parts of the world when we feel like it.
On our last trip, highlights were the Full Moon Party with great food and entertainment from Johnny on the piano, Quike and his incredible electric violin and the fabulous Roberto on the Sax. Sunday lunch in the sunshine was top notch with the top quality trio, Monkey Tennis playing until 5pm, followed by fab Frankie B and his soul and modern classics afterwards - running in to the best pool party ever up to 9pm. Whyever would you want a place on your own when you can share this with people who become friends?
The only problem with this place is leaving it behind BUT it means you're now a day nearer to your next visit - and we've just squeezed in a swift Christmas booking before our next planned return in May! It's not cheap, but you certainly get what you pay for - and more. Once you try it, like us, you'll keep wanting to come back.

Can't wait!!

Neil & Christine

Room Tip: The sea views & balconies are well worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EGTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
244 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

For all of you, who like to be for yourselves or just with your partner (without children) and be lying beside the pool enjoying sunshine and doing nothing this is a very good hotel. Situated quite high above the Mediterranean Sea and just beside it, you have a fantastic view both from the restaurant and from the pool-garden as well as from some of the rooms. The rooms are big, bathrooms OK, staff friendly; restaurant cosy… But… The hotel is far from where things are happen and just in the middle of nowhere (or more correctly in the middle of kind of suburb) meaning that you need to go far from the hotel to find something to do except for lying in the sun. Some of the rooms are far below the street level facing a stone wall. The music from the restaurant is disturbing you in your room. The pool area is fantastic but the beach unsuitable for swimming. So, there are some flies in the ointment, but for you, who like to spend some days in a hotel hidden from the world, this is an excellent hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ola K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

My husband and I stayed recently for 4 nights, the service as usual was first class with all staff going out of their way to insure that our time in the hotel was relaxed and thoroughly enjoyable . We are looking forward to our next stay in April 2014.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms have wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

We had a wonderful long weekend at the El Oceano Hotel and can’t wait to go back!

We pushed the boat out and stayed in one of the Mini Suites which came with luxurious white bathrobes, slippers and Elemis toiletries.

The hotel has a wonderful “feel good” atmosphere about it. I would recommend incorporating a Sunday in your stay, as they have a great line-up.

The day starts with a delicious English breakfast followed by a few hours soaking up the rays on the gorgeous VIP sun loungers around the pool. Then it’s time to sample the delights of the restaurant while listening to a singer play the piano and sing some familiar mellow tunes. You can stroll down to the pool bar to watch the sun go down & listen, or strut your stuff, to the live singer; and, for anyone who is still standing the hotel bar is open for a little nightcap before heading off to bed.

Right, it’s back to reality, and the diet, for me!

We will definitely be heading back.

Sam

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammiejane501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Great hotel 20 minutes from Malaga airport, spent a weekend here with my husband and another couple who are dear friends. We were recommended this place by family and friends and we were not let down. The hotel has a beautiful setting next to the sea, we booked an ocean view room and it was worth every penny it felt like waking up in paradise each morning.
Breakfast lunch and dinner was excellent with excellent y friendly staff and service, the Sunday lunch was very special with the pianist and the singer who later moved down from the restaurant to the pool bar. The ambience was magical everybody there was so happy just dancing the day and night away in the sunset . A very happy relaxed place to be, in the process of booking for next year.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrsdobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

If you want to relax and be amongst friends then this is the place and you will not want to leave.
From the moment of booking with the offer of arranging your transport from the airport, to the day you leave, the same efficiency and smiles at El Oceano give a little piece of heaven.
A family run luxury hotel and spa, this wonderful place is friendly and buzzing but not overwhelming, and if you want to be by yourself in piece and quiet you can have that too.
And the food! WOW. If your watching your weight this is not the place for you, the gastronomic delights are plentiful and nothing is too much trouble.
I myself am returning again next year and I can't wait, I can feel the tensions of the world draining away as I type.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dive0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mijas
1.0 mi away
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
#3 of 4 in La Cala de Mijas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
11.8 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
7.1 mi away
Hacienda Puerta del Sol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
TRH Mijas
TRH Mijas
#7 of 28 in Mijas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
4.3 mi away
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
3.0 mi away
Los Amigos Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Oceano Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Oceano Beach Hotel

Property: El Oceano Beach Hotel
Address: Miraflores Playa, Torrenueva, 29649, Mijas, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Mijas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Oceano Beach Hotel is an oasis of laid-back luxury, privately owned and operated, where guest comfort and satisfaction is paramount. There are 40 impeccable rooms, most of which are ocean-front mini-suites offering mesmerizing views of this spectacular coastline.Plus a further 15 self contained studio apartments with kitchenette and full use of the hotel facilities.Enjoy the Polynesian Pool area with swim-up bar by day and the famous Waterfront terrace restaurant in the evenings...paradise really is closer than you think! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your El Oceano Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Oceano Beach málaga
El Oceano Hotel
Hotel El Oceano Beach
El Oceano Beach Hotel Mijas, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing