We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and quiet”
Review of Miraflores Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Miraflores Resort
Ranked #23 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Mijas
Reviewed 16 September 2012

I used a timeshare week to visit Miraflores with two friends. I visited in May and the resort was extremely quiet.

The staff were very accommodating and extremely helpful. The local bus service is the best mode of transport for those who wish to get about and see more of Spain. Otherwise there is little to do in the area.

If you want a quiet and relaxing holiday in a clean and well kept resort then Miraflores is for you.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
5  Thank Warren O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2012

I have been travelling to and from Spain for some 20 yrs,
Miraflores is a Gem on the Costa Del Sol, I have stayed at this beautifully maintained complex over several years, I have never had a bad experience and have always found the employees of Miraflores to be polite and helpful.
its a perfect location to explore the fantastic local areas from Mijas to La Cala to Puerto Banus.
treat the apartment as you would any other place in the world and do not leave valuables laying about or on show.
would recomend this resort to any body without hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ring045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We stayed at the Miraflores Beach & Country Club for one week and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The resort was beautiful and our top floor unit provided us views of the Mediterranean Sea from the front and the mountains from the back. From check-in to check-out we received excellent service. There were no unexpected fees (there was an energy surcharge of 30 Euros but we had been informed of this in advance in the resort literature).

The resort had recommended the rental of a car (we arranged for one through Hertz that we picked up at the Malaga Airport and dropped off at the train station). We used the resort as our base as we took day trips to Gibraltar, Tangiers, Ronda and Granada, making use of the resort pools at the end of the day. On the remaining days we enjoyed the local beaches and the resort pools.

The room did not have A/C, but it was not necessary as there was a good breeze in the evening and as well the rooms had ceiling fans.

All-in-all a great stay and we would absolutely return!

Room Tip: We had a room on the top fllor at the top of the hill, giving great views, good sea breezes and a qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We stayed at LIFETIME VACATION CLUB AT MIRAFLORES, 29649 MIJAS-COSTA, MALAGA, SPAIN from Saturday 14-21 APRIL 2012 on an exchange through Interval International.

We completed the check-in procedures with no problem but had to pay €28.50 energy surcharge/electricity fees; €25 (including €10 deposit) for use of the safe for one week and €15 for an internet router as there is no wi-fi throughout the resort. So we were out of pocket €68.50 before we got into the unit. American and some other travellers may question the practice of charging fees for use of a safe (especially given all the reports of theft at this resort), although this has been commonplace in Spain for a great many years. Equally, in my view, all resorts should have free wi-fi throughout these days and, although the charge was not excessive, the service was poor.

(In order to recover the safe deposit it was necessary to return the activator pin thus disabling the safe, the night before we left, as the reception was not open before we were leaving in the morning.)

On returning to the unit after dinner on the first night, the internet router was installed but the Movistar system would not accept the password given by reception. A technician (who doubled as the minibus driver, or perhaps it was the other way around) was called and delivered a replacement router but this did not accept the password either. I knew more about routers and passwords than the so called technician. I was then supplied with a mobile internet stick “as a favour” by the resort staff (since the Lifetime Vacation Manager was not available until the Monday) which worked on the Saturday night and Sunday morning and then ceased to operate. To cut a long story short, I did not get a working internet facility until the Monday evening, which caused me a great deal of inconvenience with business and personal email. The speed during our stay was a somewhat less than lightening 0.82 Mb/s to 2.56 Mb/s but mostly under 1.50 Mb/s. I was still charged €10 for the 4.5 days use and no compensation for the inconvenience over the first weekend.

We were housed in Rancho Miraflores I, which was a considerable distance uphill from reception and apparently one of the first buildings on the extensive site, built approximately 25 years ago. Little, if anything, appears to have changed over that period.

The good news is that this third floor unit (310) has an excellent view along the coast to Gibraltar (see picture). The bad news is……

The bedroom had twin beds and a curious fitted headboard covered in (colour coordinated!) material which had not been dusted or cleaned in a long time (see picture). The bedside clock was covered in a thick layer of dust (otherwise the apartment was clean). There was ample hanging space but no drawers in the bedroom other than one small drawer in each bedside cabinet. However, there were four open wire shelves within the wardrobe unit which were adequate for our needs for a week’s stay. The beds were comfortable although each had an oblong, rounded pillow. There was a small balcony off the bedroom which had double glazed patio doors. We had to jam some kitchen roll at the top of these doors to prevent them from rattling (it was a bit windy during our stay).

The bathroom housed the washer/dryer; water tank; double wash hand unit; toilet and bath tub with shower over. The towels were very poor quality and two of those supplied had holes in them (see pictures). Some shampoo and bath gel was supplied but oddly no hand soap. After one person takes a shower it is necessary to wait approximately half-an-hour (according to reception) for the small water tank to refill sufficiently for a second person to take a shower at a high temperature. Failure to wait will mean that the second person finds the water temperature gradually reducing and, if the second person is a male, then the water after showering will not be warm enough to shave. If there are four people sharing the unit it would be necessary to stagger shower times or for two to shower at night and two in the morning. There is a curious open shower type hose on the wall to the side of the toilet – which may, at one point, have had a shower head on it as some type of bidet device (although without the normal sanitary ware that one would expect to accompany this type of system).

The kitchen and living room are on a split level (see picture). The kitchen was adequately supplied with the usual pots and pans, crockery and cutlery. The warning light on the oven temperature gauge was missing. The lid on the coffee machine was broken and the replacement coffee machine supplied had a metal jug which did not keep the coffee hot and had a stopper that did not have a pouring facility leading to a potentially dangerous accident. A third coffee machine was supplied, that did not have water level markings on the jug or the coffee unit itself. The turntable on the microwave did not revolve. There were inadequate sockets which led to us requesting an adaptor in order to use both the coffee machine and the kettle at the same time. We interchanged the toaster and the microwave plugs. There was a fold-down table but in our opinion if four people had been dining, space would have been at a considerable premium. The water did not drain from the (dual) sink when the shower in the bathroom was in use!

The furnishings in the living area were long overdue to be replaced (see pictures of faded chair/sofa arm-ends). There was a modern TV with an adequate number of channels in both English and Spanish. There was an ancient, bashed freestanding floor lamp.

In our opinion, this unit/resort does not warrant an Interval International Silver/Select rating and would only achieve such a rating if it had a complete refurb of all furnishings and equipment.

We did not use any of the clubhouse facilities, including the restaurant and bar. There are three restaurants approximately half-a-mile from the resort reception area (about a mile from the unit). We had a good meal and service in La Plaza (Ristorante Italiano) although it is a bit pricey and a perfectly adequate pizza in the much cheaper Mamma Nostra (Ristorante Pizzeria). We did not try the Chinese restaurant. There are two supermarkets in the same group of shops – Supermercados Mas is cheaper and has greater variety; but OpenCor is open longer hours. There are more restaurants at La Calla de Mijas at the next junction towards Malaga but traditional Spanish food is hard to find.

It is essential to have a hire car. We took day trips to Mijas Pueblo, nice but a bit touristy; Antequera, an historic town approximately 45 minutes inland; Estepona, which we found a bit disappointing; Malaga old town where the Picasso Museum may be worth a visit; and Benalmadena/Fuengirola which has a very pleasant paseo and good fish restaurants in the La Carihuela area – we ate in La Zoco and had a great mixed paella, postre casa (the usual flan type desert) a decent bottle of white Rioja (their house white, €8.90), coffee and a gratis local cream liqueur "orujo de galicia" as “un digestivo” for a total of a very reasonable €38.30. We can also recommend Restaurante Entrecote in Los Boliches-Fuengirola where we enjoyed the filet steak.

If you do not go with high expectations of the resort itself then you will not be disappointed with plenty to see and do within a short drive.

NB: Apparently not all the photos were uploaded.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank ashuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACOMIRAF, Gerente at Miraflores Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

There are several clubs within Miraflores Resort. You mention in your review that you stayed with Lifetime Vacation at Miraflores which has nothing to do with Miraflores Vacation Club. I have reported this to Trip Advisor.

We have in any case forwarded your complaint to Lifetime Vacation at Miraflores.

Resort Management
Miraflores Vacation Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We exchanged our time share week through Interval International in March 2012 at the Miraflores Resort. After reading the reviews, we were concerned; however, our stay there was very pleasant. We rented a car in Malaga after taking the train from Madrid and used it to visit attractions in nearby towns and villages, such as the Butterfly Park (Mariposario) in Benalmadena. We did use Julia Travels to go on day-trips to Granada, Seville, and Tangier, Morocco, and didn't find anything unusual upon return to our unit. Based on our experience, we would recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ala13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

My stay at Miraflores was fantastic i to looked at the revues and looked into it a bit more and it turns out that there is more than one Miraflores. like rancho and Miraflores beach club. Miraflores Resorts is by far the best in my book as i thought the staff and facilities were grate, clean and well kept, Please dont be confused with Lesser ones.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ruth t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenzoparra, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Miraflores Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

Thank you very much for your review. Your opinion is very important for us and will help us to continue providing our guests the best of our services. As you state, there are different Companies operating within the Resort and we, at Miraflores Resorts are very happy to receive your recognition.

We look forward to your next visit at Miraflores.

Kind Regards,


Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Stayed there for a week and our unit was broken into right on the first day. It seemed well orchestrated and the thief came in through a small bathroom window with 5 or 6 metal slats across that were carefully removed and put back. But I noticed it anyways, as one of the slats was not properly put in place and hand prints were all over. We thought it must have been a really small person or a child aided by adults to get through a small opening. The resort management seemed unmoved of what must be a common incident in the resort. We went to the local police and reported the incident.
I felt very uneasy in the resort the next few days and could not sleep well until the end of our stay.

Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
22  Thank TorontoEurotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mijas hotels
0.5 mi away
Club Delta Mar Crown Resort
Club Delta Mar Crown Resort
#2 of 3 in Sitio de Calahonda
107 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Oceano Beach Hotel
0.9 mi away
Muthu Grangefield Oasis Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Eurostars Mijas Golf & Spa
1.2 mi away
Crown Resorts Club Marbella / Club Regency Palms
8.1 mi away
TRH Mijas
TRH Mijas
#4 of 27 in Mijas
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miraflores Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miraflores Resort

Address: Calle Petunia | Urb. Miraflores, Ctra. De Cadiz, Km. 199, 29649, Mijas, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Mijas
Price Range: £37 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Miraflores Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miraflores is a vacation resort built in an Andalusian "pueblo" style with small groups of apartments and villas no more than 2 or 3 stories high. All apartments have beautiful views of the sea, the mountains, or the golf course, or a combination of all three, surrounded by sumptuous gardens with palm trees, flowers and tropical plants, all competing with each other in their beauty. You will be greeted by the Reception staff upon arrival and you will receive all the information needed during your stay. The Club House where the reception is situated includes a marvelous restaurant where you will be able to enjoy a breakfast, lunch or a gastronomic dinner and live entertainment surrounded by the exquisite gardens and water cascades. The resort includes a Sports Centre with newly built clay tennis courts, an 18 hole Golf Course and a number of services at your disposal. The number of Gardens, and their lushness create this very special atmosphere of privacy, an impression which is further reinforced by the presence of private swimming pools for each little group of apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, LateRooms, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Miraflores Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miraflores Vacation Club Hotel Mijas
Miraflores Resort Mijas, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing