We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grangefield Oasis Club
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Mijas
Fairford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely Resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Just come back from our 2 week stay at Grangefield....2 adults and 2 children.....we enjoyed the stay very much and would recommend and will probably stay again in the future. we booked through our RCI membership and stayed in a top floor 2 bed apt overlooking the top deeper pool!
Clean room which was cleaned regularly and sheets towels also changed twice a week.
Staff from cleaning to management were always happy and friendly and the pool and gardens were clened and tended to very regurlarly. The restaurant staff are great and friendly especially Sergio....thanks for the laughs!
You will need a car to drive to beach and shops if that's what you like to do no explore as we visited Nerja for the day also which is wonderful.

So to conclude a great resort with nice spacious clean comfortable apartments and also friendly staff and great pools as long as you are there at 10am when they open to get a bed ;-) good fun in a mini commonwealth games competition.

Thanks and we will hopefully see you again in the future.

Room Tip: Top floor 2 bed apts overlooking pools are M5, M6, L5,L6
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marc_pawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petchey L, Manager at Grangefield Oasis Club, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and you found us to be above average and recommendation worthy.

Your kind words will definitely be passed on to the staff team.

We wish to welcome you back very soon in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    192
    138
    76
    73
See reviews for
284
174
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Where do we start?

We booked our holiday through 'On The Beach' as we have done previously. The flights were booked and the hotel booked and paid for. This was our third time to the resort (and without doubt, our last). The resort is average, but exactly what you would expect from an inexpensive holiday. We travelled as a family, which included myself and my wife, our 2 girls aged 8 and 4 and my wife's parents.

At check-in came issue number 1! As mentioned, we were a family of 6, requiring at least 2 bedrooms. However, we arrived and been allocated a 1 bedroom apartment. Clearly, 6 people in one double bed would be slightly awkward, and extremely inappropriate. So, we managed to upgrade to a 2 bedroom apartment at a negligible cost (c£70 for the week). We could cope with that for the space we needed.

At point of check-in, you are given a charge card to put all your resort expenses on. In theory that is fine, just make sure you sign and check all receipts on check out!

The week went by with no real issues. The cleanliness is average, and the 'new' entertainers from a sister resort in Portugal were less than impressive. Evening 'entertainment' lasted approximately 25 minutes, and always started 30 minutes later than advertised. We could live with it though. If you are looking for a classy rendition of Flamenco dancing, or some talented musician to seranade you, you will be left very much disappointed.

Then, at departure came the moment which killed the holiday and experience for us. I am not sure the written word will do our experience and the appalling treatment justice, but I will try.

Check out time is 10am. At 09:45, all 6 of us went to reception to pay the balance from the charge cards. We were expecting a bill of around 450 euros from the week. To our suprise, we were presented with a bill of over 1000 euros. After a brief case of the sweats, we realised we had been charged over 500 euros for the accomodation. Not the upgrade however, the original accomodation. At first, we thought it was simple mistake and so advised the receptionist (who refused to give us her name - more of that later), that the holiday had been paid in full through 'On The Beach'. Her response was........no, our reservations team have said you haven't paid for your holiday. Cue raised eyebrows on our behalf! Please bear in mind that this discussion was in front of every other person checking out, and any other guest that happened to be in the reception area.

I politely advised the receptionist (who has to remain nameless), that the holiday was, and had to be paid for in full, otherwise we would not have been able to travel. We were asked to provide evidence that we had paid for it. We provided the booking confirmation. We were told that this was not enough, and the bill for the accomodation stood.

At this point, we became even more bemused. Obviously, we were not going to accept having to pay for the holiday again. So, after a lengthy discussion, the receptionist called the reservations department. Ironically, they don't open until 11am. We suggested that aligning the start time with check out time might be a positive step forward for the business!! So, we were told to wait until they could try and sort something out. An hour later, we had to approach the receptionist again to ask for the current status of our issue. We were told that we had to prove payment again. So, we did. A full cost and payment summary was sent to them via email.

On receipt of this, we found out the reason why they were demanding more money from us. The agency that 'On The Beach' had booked our accomodation through was 'On Holiday Group's trading partner Euro Rooms'. They had gone in to administration, without paying their bills and bookings. The receptionist was insistent that this was our problem as the resort could not afford to give us an apartment for 'free'. Please see link below;

http://www.travelweekly.co.uk/articles/2014/03/07/47191/on+holiday+group+enters+administration.html

Clearly, we did not believe this was our liability, and so refused to pay again. We tried to advise the reception 'team' that it was their issue, and not ours as a customer. Especially as we had already paid!!

At 11:30, an hour and a half after we started the check out process, we were finally told that they would remove the cost of the room from our bill. At last!! This wasn't the end of the matter sadly!

Due to our prolonged embarrasment, the applling way we were treated in public, we asked to speak to the manager. After another 20 minutes, we were told the manager was in all-day meetings and would not be available. Convenient. We then asked to speak with the Duty Manager to which we were told there wasn't one. Now, I am no Health and Safety professional, but, I do have significant experience of the sector. I suggested that there must be someone with a level of responsibility on site? Alas, there was not (apparently!). At no point were we, as the (proven) paying customers, treated with any courtesy. We were shouted at in front of other customers, no effort at agreeing this was a problem to be sorted between us all, and no apology after we proved that we had, indeed, paid in full. How much effort would it have tken to show us into the office and provide us with a coffee ad sypathetic smile while the issues were dealth with. No, all we deserved was to be ignored or treated with contempt for two hours in reception along with our vey young children and elderly parents. Shame on you nameless, and very rude reception staff!

I could write all day regarding this, and we have complained to the parent company, Petchy Leisure (or whoever the new owners now are).

We would advise you strongly not to book this place. There are hundreds of great resorts on the Costa Del Sol, where the customer experience is significantly better.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Ceekay2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mijas hotels

Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Just finished one week here and really had quite a good time. As an Infiniti member I was able to book a two bedroomed apartment on the first floor that was very nice indeed, but had no views whatsoever, The apartment was well furnished and clean with essential air conditioning units in each room. There is little at the hotel other than a pair of very busy swimming pools. It is good that the pool does not open until 10:00 so everyone has an equal chance of claiming a good sunny spot.
The problem that we found was not so much caused by the hotel but by some of the parents of smaller children who completely appear to abandon all sense of responsibility for their crying or screaming 3 - 4 year olds at 11:00 at night, by the pool or in the bar. I think the hotel could reasonably impose a rule to say no children under the age of, say 10 years, permitted after 9:00 pm in the restaurant or bars. These children spoiled aspects of my much needed holiday and brought an unwanted sense of responsibility to every evening's dining event. It was more tolerable at lunchtime but there is simply nowhere for anyone to "hide" from this perpetual onslaught - made significantly worse because the hotel has decided that it is a good thing to install a mini football game machine, right in the centre of the restaurant which of course all children find irresistible from breakfast onwards. It is great for the parents who sit ten metres away from the machine, eating in relative calm, whilst others have to tolerate their children!
The hotel claims to offer free WiFi to all Infiniti members but this is clearly not the case. We tried all things to get a signal in out block, but even the hotel engineer gave up and said that the hotel needs a signal booster or similar.
Finally, I will say that the staff at the Reception were terrific in every sense, from my dealings with them. They were pleasant and helpful to my daughter and I and made our holiday that little bit better. An unfortunate note was that there was no porter to help with any luggage from a first floor apartment before 08:00. Not good for anyone who might struggle with stairs!

Room Tip: Try to avoid a ground floor location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simmydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

As a family member of infinit we had a top floor 2 bed apartment that had everything you could want , very clean and had dish washer, washing machine etc, pool area very crowded as you had to be down at 10 otherwise you would not get a subbed for the whole day.

Car is a must as they do operate a mini van shuttle to cala mijas approx every hour in the morning but you have to book at least 2 days prior to wanting to use as only 7 seats.

We did not eat in the restaurant so can't comment.

Otherwise we enjoyed the holiday.

Room Tip: Block n great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nickie2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
263 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We had a one-bedroomed Infiniti apartment, supposedly of the highest standard. It was surprisingly small - the bedroom too small for a dressing table; a tiny shower room with no bath or bidet and where the shower door opening was restricted by the toilet. No dishwasher in the small kitchen area, and an oven and hob where the thermostats were unreliable. Cookware was inadequate for self-catering and old, and a wall mounted microwave was a danger when you stood at the sink.
Though described as "2, sleeps 4", the lack of any storage outside the bedroom and that the shower-room being accessed only from the bedroom, meant no - two people only. There was not even room to store suitcases.
The company claimed to have refurbished the apartment within the last 3 years, but use of poor quality materials shows badly. Cupboards were scruffy, plaster bubbling, outdoor table and chairs we so bad they supplied table cloths instead of the usual place mats.
The gardens at least were well-maintained, including our grassed balcony. The pool area seemed pleasant with sufficient space and beds only because so few people were staying.
The whole resort looks tired, even to the faded parasols. As club members we wonder what Petchey did with our maintenance fees. Our advice to the new owners would be not to refurbish, but to knock this place down and start again.

Room Tip: Infiniti apartments are the better standard, but not comparable with other more modern resorts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed for 7 nights on a half board. Previous reviews pretty much cover the pros and cons. Unless you intend to spend your days sun baking around the pools you definitely need a car to get around. Pool hours were 10am to 7pm. Plenty of great spots to visit if like us you prefer the outdoors. Be careful if you rely on google maps to find this place as it totally misled us so double check the address if you don't have a GPS. We ate in every night and although a la carte you do eventually find limitations on the menus. Having said that it does offer plenty of variety and the quality is fine.The service levels of the staff are better than I had expected albeit at a slower pace....it is Spain! There is an indoor pool and sauna which are worth trying, you do need to wear a cap in the indoor pool which can be purchased at Reception. The rooms are adequate and there are several English speaking stations to choose from on TV. Alternatively you can get a DVD player if needed. Wifi is also available. We had a top floor apartment which obviously meant climbing steps every time but it was worth it from a noise and privacy perspective. There was limited entertainment provided by the Hotel of a pretty reasonable standard. Overall good value for an establishment that is showing its age.

Room Tip: Don't rely on google maps to find this Hotel. Choose an upstairs apartment if you don't mind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

I am currently at the Grangefield and am sorry to report that the service has gone downhill in the last year (basically since Petchy Leisure has been bought out). It's still a nice place and the vast majority of the staff are very good. It housekeeping isn't as thorough as it once was, the restaurant food is not as good as it used to be, all in all, a bit of a disappointment, luckily we have a hire car so can visit restaurants off site with ease, it's not so good for those without transport. Oh, also, only 2 English channels on the TV system now (We are Infinity members and expect better), Sky new and True Movies1 (Showing ancient films) - no BBC1 or ITV !!

Room Tip: The Car Park side get more sun on the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mijas hotels
4.6 mi away
Eurostars Mijas Golf & Spa
0.9 mi away
Club Calahonda Crown Resort
0.6 mi away
Club Marbella/Regency Palms Crown Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ona Campanario
Ona Campanario
#11 of 28 in Mijas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.7 mi away
Club Delta Mar Crown Resort
Club Delta Mar Crown Resort
#2 of 3 in Sitio de Calahonda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
1.7 mi away
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
#3 of 4 in La Cala de Mijas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grangefield Oasis Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grangefield Oasis Club

Property: Grangefield Oasis Club
Address: Calle Topacio s/n | Urb. Riviera del Sol, 29649, Mijas, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Mijas
#9 Spa Hotel in Mijas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grangefield Oasis Club 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated between Fuengirola and Marbella, the Grangefield Oasis offers functional, self-catering apartments with furnished balconies.The complex features 2 outdoor swimming pools, an indoor swimming pool, a hot tub, sauna and gym. There is free internet access in reception.Each apartment in Grangefield Oasis has a fully-equipped kitchen and a comfortable lounge area with a sofa bed. They also include a TV with satellite channels.An entertainment and activity programme is offered for children at the resort. There are tennis courts and a mini golf course. The Miraflores Golf Course can be found next to Grangefield Oasis and the nearest beach is less than 2 km away.Guests can enjoy drinks, snacks and light meals at the cafeteria and bar. The La Hacienda restaurant serves regional and international cuisine all day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grangefield Oasis Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grangefield Oasis Club Hotel Mijas
Grangefield Oasis Hotel
Grangefield Oasis Mijas
Grangefield Oasis Club Mijas, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing