We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good & Central for the price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apartamentos Turisticos Canos de Meca
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very good & Central for the price!”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights in May 2011, we hired a car and drove from Seville. There was underground carparking, however we literally parked outside the apartments all 4 nights for free and had no issues. The apartments were nice for the price, however we moved from the first one as we were on the road and it was pretty noisy. There were shutters on the windows and they rattled when cars past. We moved further in on the second night and it was much better and we had a nice balcony. If you can request a pool view or garden apartment as these were the nicest.

The staff were really helpful and it was nice to have a pool and sun loungers.The apartments are less than a 5 minute walk from a really nice beach so we went there instead.

The location was really good, the pirata bar was about 5 minutes away and overlooking the beach which was really nice. I have a few photos which i will try and add later.

The Amelie bar and restaurant was really nice, probably about a 10 minute walk. It had a really nice vibe and the tapas and wine were really good. You could also get really good mojitos!
Castille joes was amazing, i'd really recommend it if you are treating yourself to a nice dinner! It was about a 10 minute walk in the opposite direction.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kate006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    38
    28
    11
    10
See reviews for
28
42
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

The location is great and the swimming pool is a bonus. There is also underground parking which is fantastic for those travelling by car. You can literally cross the road to get to the chill-out bars with Sheesha pipes and Mint teas... or down some steps to the beach. The rooms were relatively small and simple although they did lead up to a roof terrace which was very very impressive - the 360 views were excellent. Unfortunately the hotel manager was very rude, obnoxious and pedantic and we were on a well deserved holiday. We had a friend who decided to visit for the day but was not let into our room, or the hotel complex for that matter. It was only after letting him know that we were lawyers and we would not hesitate to file a complaint againt him (una denuncia) that he backed off... We will only stay there again as a last resort!

Room Tip: pick one with a roof terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnPaulGibraltar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Canos de Meca hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

Canos de Meca in April is very quiet and most of the apartments were empty which is great if you want some peace and quiet. Location right in front of the beach with pine forest covering the hillside behind. Apartments are quite basic but have everything you need. Only negative comment I could make is that the bed was uncomfortable. Very good value, pleasant staff, excellent location but you would need a car. Not much open either this time of year but we were happy to prepare our own meals and eat on the terrace each evening.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cricklewood_Cath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Just spent 4 days at these apartments in Canos de Meca-don't tell anyone about this resort,it has been my secret for the past 16 years! These apartments are simple but are clean and are equipped with everything you need and the reception staff are very helpful.

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tiddlesthecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicenza
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2011

We spent a whole week in the apartments in Canos de Meca. The position was really perfect, near to the sea and near to go to trainings maps and to Barbate. The apartments were great and the living there was perfect. From the reception to the director, Paco, where all really kind. The warm and sunny days and the wonderful surrounding areas completed a such a special week.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CosimoVicenza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarney
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2010

I found the apartments to be sufficient although a little draughty. Staff are very friendly and patient. There was quite along walk from the underground car park to our apartment and steps were unavoidable, elevators only serve certain levels. Dining table also seemed a little small but fine for three people. This place is located right beside Las Brenas National Park, with pine trees and sand dunes and plenty recreational areas. Also nearby is Trafalgar Cape lighthouse. There is wireless internet but it only works in about half the apartments - I had to leave the door open to get a signal.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashanti02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2009

This large, modern apartment complex is situated less than 100 metres from the main town beach of Canos De Meca. It delivers everything you would want for a self catering break in this lively Spanish resort - ample secure underground parking & well furnished & equipped apartments; including a very welcome washing machine. It makes a great base in the resort with the beach, bars & restaurants easily at hand. Unfortunately it is a little soulless & the modern concrete & tiled floor construction means that it can be noisy. Our party arrived on a monday & had 3 nites of undisturbed sleep, however Canos is the venue of choice for large groups of youngsters who come to PARTY at the weekend. Canos is very much a Spanish resort so don't expect to eat out before 10pm & be prepared for the partying to start after midnite & to continue until the early hours. Travelling with teenagers this can be a major advantage but only if they have truly immersed themselves in the timekeeping of their Spanish counterparts...On the Thursday nite a party of youngsters moved into the apartment upstairs & having partied on the beach until 3am thought it would be fun to continue until 5.30am in their apartment - this is when you truly get a picture of the soundproofing qualities of concrete block construction!! Unfortunately there are no phones in the apartments to ring the 24 hour reception staff so you are left to deal with rowdy revellers on your own. A word with the management the following day persuaded the other guests to "keep it down" until 4am & the following 2 nites were spent in much the same fashion with other large groups in the complex adding to the din! - checking out on Monday morning after approximately 10 hours sleep in the last 4 nites was a bad tempered affair. Many tourist destinations in the Uk have banned all male/female groups & I would suggest the management may want to consider this or at least warn families of the possibility of the problem at weekends in the high season. Monday to Thursday the resort is fantastic, predominantly populated with Spanish families with very few Brits discovering this part of the Spanish coast. Eating out all budgets are catered for from burgers to delicious tapas, to fine dining - check out the the bar at Hotel Madreselva, a quiet oasis with lovely staff & great tapas. There is also an excellent music scene here with many bars featuring live music. Adrenalin junkies can get their fix of fast & furious kite surfing at the lighthouse end of the beach where you will also find the "hippy/alternative/artistic" vibe that Canos is renowned for. Check out Casas Karen at this end of town for a truly eco stay. Come the weekend come the hordes & unfortunately the Spanish authorities don't seem to be able to keep on top of the street cleaning that sadly becomes a priority. There was a noticeable build up of bottles & cans overflowing from the dumpsters & bins & very sadly the main steps down to the beach become a public urinal - when teenagers notice the pong you know theres a problem!! This was my second visit to Canos & whilst I love the place & it's laid back vibe, the authorities & hotel management really need to get a handle on the weekend issues.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Newgemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Canos de Meca
0.7 mi away
Hotel Madreselva
Hotel Madreselva
#1 of 3 in Los Canos de Meca
132 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Mar de Frente
Hotel Mar de Frente
#2 of 3 in Los Canos de Meca
79 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Playa del Carmen
Hotel Playa del Carmen
#4 of 8 in Barbate
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
El Palomar de la Brena
El Palomar de la Brena
#2 of 8 in Barbate
141 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hostal Los Pinos
Hostal Los Pinos
#1 of 13 in Los Canos de Meca
218 reviews
0.8 mi away
Camping & Bungalows Canos de Meca
Camping & Bungalows Canos de Mec...
#2 of 14 in Los Canos de Meca
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Turisticos Canos de Meca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Turisticos Canos de Meca

Property: Apartamentos Turisticos Canos de Meca
Address: Lugar Canos de Meca 05, 11159 Los Canos de Meca, Barbate, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Barbate > Los Canos de Meca
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Los Canos de Meca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Turisticos Canos de Meca 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Los Canos de Meca, one of the most unique tourist destinations of the Spanish geography. The beauty of its landscapes, its environment and its fantastic and varied beaches not remain indifferent to the traveler, make it an ideal destination for the whole year. Los Canos de Meca Apartments are located at Cape Trafalgar. There are plenty in tourist attractions among which the Natural Park of La Brena and marshes of Barbate. Our complex consists of 97 Apartments (duplex apartments and penthouses). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apartamentos Turisticos Canos de Meca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing