We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning views and beautiful food”

The Garden Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 59 Restaurants in Frigiliana
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Kids, View, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunning views and beautiful food”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We visited the Garden restaurant twice for dinner on our holiday in Frigiliana. The restaurant is at the top of the hill in the old part of the village, so the views are fantastic, and the menu was the most interesting and inventive food that we found during our visit. We had some delicious steak, a beautiful pulled pork salad, the best falafels we have ever tasted, delicious belly pork, and some other very tasty morsels. Highly recommended, especially if you are looking for something a bit different!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AB249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gimmond, Owner at The Garden Restaurant, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
thanks very much for the kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    115
    32
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“quality of food and views are worth every cent”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This was the best tapas lunch we had in Spain, even with rain falling from the sky. We ate at the bar with our 2 young children since the garden was too wet to sit outside. They loved the mini hamburger, and we loved all the other tapas we ordered...

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ilse G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gimmond, Owner at The Garden Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thanks for your comments. We´re normally shut on rainy days but occasionally when it starts half way through the day we all get caught up there. Glad you found a bit of shelter with us and enjoyed your lunch. Hope you visit again on a nicer day some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Downright inspiring!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

All our holidays (and most of our weekends) evolve around eating the best possible food. This includes finding great produce, home cooking and of course eating out. We discovered The Garden Restaurant on our first day in Frigiliana and have had lunch there three times since. We hope to have two more before we leave on Friday. By then the menu will have no more secrets for us. Having said that, we could eat there every day of the year. The food is simply very well-balanced, well-portioned and downright inspiring. And let's not forget front of house: very friendly, capable and knowledgeable.
Thank you for the consistently wonderful experience. See you tomorrow!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Serge G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gimmond, Owner at The Garden Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you so much for your repeated custom during your stay and your vey kind comments. Hope you will come and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerrykeel, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“devine food”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Our best meal in Spain. Quality local ingredients combined beautifully to create a gastronomic experience you wont forget. Light, fresh and passionate cooking is happening here in an amazing setting with great service. A true gem in amongst the normal tourist fare. If you like
Ottolenghi style food you will love this. In this kitchen there are true chefs at work creating inspirational food that is hard to find at such an affordable price in an area with a glut of restaurants. The Garden Restaurant you rock!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sharon l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gimmond, Owner at The Garden Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thanks very much for the review, was nice talking to you guys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welshie in yorkshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“WOW”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

What a lovely restaurant we found for lunch, right at the top of Frigiliana, the views were breath taking and the food was delicious and very good value for money, 2 of us had 5 Tapas dishes, a small bottle of Prosseco, a glass of red wine, 2 soft drinks and all for just 30 Euro and all with the most wonderful view and seated within a garden.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank welshie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gimmond, Owner at The Garden Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thanks for the comments, glad you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Garden Restaurant also viewed

Frigiliana, Province of Malaga
Frigiliana, Province of Malaga
 
Frigiliana, Province of Malaga
Frigiliana, Province of Malaga
 
Frigiliana, Province of Malaga
Frigiliana, Province of Malaga
 

Been to The Garden Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing