We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great house with fantastic views”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of LA RESERVA

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Stunning views
Mountain views
Villa view
Cool and shady area
Tradiional and charming surroundings
Spectacular views
Breathtaking scenery
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Frigiliana, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dolorata
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Great house with fantastic views”
Reviewed 26 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

A lovely place, with lovely views of the countryside and the sea. Situated in an olive grove. The house is on the edge of the park. You walk in the park for great short or long walks. And in 10 minutes by car in Nerja. Javier and Rosala very welcoming. The house is fully equipped. The pool is a great place to enjoy the tranquility and the wonderful smells of nature. We definitely come back soon

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The silence and the vieuw
Travelling group: Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm P
Tenterden, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Position, position, position”
Reviewed 21 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

If you want a holiday away from the madding crowds, this is for you. Once you negotiate the winding roads, you sit on the top of the hill, surrounded by olives and avocados, looking across the valley to people tending their crops and animals, and all you hear is bird song or even silence, except a few walkers en route to the hills. Javier and Rosario are exceptional owners, and nothing is too much trouble, to the extent they have now become friends, we have been there so often!! Get used to the drive there, don't be afraid, it is easy when you know how, and it will be worth it!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The position
Liked least: Bad TV reception
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenB275...
Higham Ferrers, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous house with amazing views”
Reviewed 22 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

This was our first trip to Spain and our first holiday abroad for a number of years and we cannot wait to go back. The house was immaculate with all the things you would expect and more. The views were amazing, we did not get bored by them at all. We wanted a peaceful relaxing holiday and that is exactly what we got with the added bonus of watching Eagles souring overhead and deer galloping through the trees. You are surrounded by pine, olive and fruit trees with a mountain and sea view as a back drop "stunning". Javier and Rosario were really helpful both in the booking process and during our stay. They are and defiantly should be very proud of the standard of accommodation they offer for rental.

We will defiantly do a return visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert F
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wow ..... what a view!!”
Reviewed 4 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Fantastic location and a super holiday home for 4. The views from La Reserva were absolutely stunning, with views down the ravine, across to the sea in one direction and towards the town of Frigiliana the other way - seeing it in its glory on the top of the hill. We could have stayed sitting on the 'veranda' for hours just looking at the views.
Owners were fantastic.......meeting us part way from the airport to make sure we found the house. Also called in to change the linen and sort out the pool regularly. Javier and Rosario were able to speak English well, so we could have good conversations with them and by the end of the holiday we felt we got to know them quite well.
We are thinking about how we could visit one of the owner's villas again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: stunning views / local town
Liked least: roads were a little tricky
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2013
Dear family:
Thank you very much for a nice comment, and we are very happy your holidays pass perfect. When you decide again enjoy here in the Frigiliana mountains, you are welcome always.
All the best for you all, and take care

Rosario and Javier
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fdavidbs
Malaga, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful house in an incredible area”
Reviewed 16 April 2013 for a stay in April 2011

A group of friends spent a couple of days in this beautiful and perfectly equipped house, near Frigiliana, Nerja.

The views are incredible, as are the suroundings, you can just walk out the house and head for a great trekking.

Also, short distance to the village, and short drive to Nerjar..one of the most beautiful towns on the Costa del Sol with great beaches and restaurants.

The owners where really nice and helpful, I couldn´t ask for a more pleasant stay...

Will come back!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The situation of the house and the fireplace
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Con amigos
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm P
Tenterden, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Above average owners and accommodation”
Reviewed 2 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012

We have been visiting La Reserva for 6 years, and always look forward to going back. It has a lovely position overlooking the valley towards Nerja, situated on the edge of the National Park. It is "away from it all" and ideal for anyone appreciating total peace and quiet. The drive to the property is not for the faint-hearted, down a steep lane and across a river bed, but it is manageable and when you reach your destination you realise it is worth it. The owners are now friends of ours and you cannot fault their attention to detail, and are always on the end of the phone should any problem occur. Holiday there once, and we guarantee you will return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: No oven, only hob and microwave cooking. But this isn't a problem.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cordyline...
Wimbledon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Fabulous get away from it all villa with wonderful views”
Reviewed 16 October 2012 for a stay in June 2012

This is the first of two villas that I have stayed in belonging to Javier and Rosario (I stayed in Dachita in October 12). Both have their strong points: Dachita is easier to get to but La Reserva really allows you to get away from it all. The villa is situated on the opposite side of the river bed just outside the village of Frigiliana. The journey up to it is not for the faint hearted and I advise fully comp insurance and a reasonably powerful car (there is an easier route in from Nerja which Javier will show you) but boy is it worth it. You have the sun from mid morning right until it goes down over the next hill - so in Summer that means 9-10pm at night (great for those who don't come out from the shade until 4pm). As with all of Javier's villas it is spotlessly clean and incredibly well equipped: satelite TV, free wifi, DVD/CD player, library, dishwasher (v important), washing machine, hairdryer, iron etc. The welcome pack provided by Javier & Rosario is second to none: wine, beer, milk, bread, fruit, pate, cold meat, pastries, water, orange juice, chocolate mousse etc quite amazing. All towels are provided including pool towels. There are two bedrooms, one twin and one double & one bathroom with an enormous powerful shower. There is a barbecue and outside eating area and a small but clean pool. Our intention was to completely relax and we did. I think we only left the villa three times to go shopping - however there are plenty of beautiful walks nearby from the villa for those who are feeling more energetic. I can really recommend any of Javier's villas as he gave us a guided tour of a few others and my friend had stayed in the one in Frigiliana. Javier and Rosario are delightful and go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. They stay away and leave you alone if that is what you want but are there in a trice if you have a problem or concern. That even extends to getting two helpless females out of a mess when their car got stuck on a road. Delightful holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet, location and free wifi
Liked least: With solitude comes an slightly tricky journey
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$127
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing