We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You don't get what the pictures promises”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Los Caracoles
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Frigiliana
Certificate of Excellence
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“You don't get what the pictures promises”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This hotel looks nice on the pictures and the location is indeed lovely high up in the hills overlooking Nerja.

When we arrived in february and entered on of the cottages also referd to as "Snail rooms" in other reviews we were facing the fact that it was very cold. Also the humidity in the rooms was very high so there was mould clearly visible in th ebath rooms generating a smell.

However the staff is very freindly and helpful so we were allowed to change to a normal room where there was a normal heating available.

Also the restaurant was far below average and it would benefit of only to offer eg an buffet during this time of the year due to the limited amount of guests.

The only good thing is the location and the very friendly staff!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter_Pe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    51
    21
    4
    9
See reviews for
25
111
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Absoluty love this quirky place!! Lovely, quirky rooms with beautiful views. Lovely grounds. Small pool which suits me. Good restaurant. I love the drive up to it from Torrox and down to Frigliana. So nice just to sit on the terrace with a drink taking in the view.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iloveaxarquia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leek, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed at Los Caracoles for 2 nights in October. The staff were extremely friendly, especially the male waiter who let us know about a good beach.

The "snail" shaped accommodation that we stayed in was fanastic and my 13 year old son thought it was great. Comfortable, spaceous accommodation with plenty of hot water and heating (if required).

The views are breathtaking of both the mountains and the sea.

We will definitely be returning and wished our stay could have been longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulesS71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We live just a few yards from the "Caracoles" and for many years it was more or less our "local". Then it changed hands a couple of times, and standards waivered. Now it is back on track, and you can be sure of a friendly welcome in the hills, together with good food and an interesting and slightly unusual menu. Sit out and enjoy one of the best views in southern Spain. (Remember it can be surprisingly cool at night at 1500ft) Be sure to leave room for one of the sweets..they are good, and reasonably priced! You will enjoy the experience of lunch or dinner at the very different Hotel los Caracoles

Room Tip: Pay a little more to have your own "snail" room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns Region, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

so we arrived back from this little hidden jem today and i would give my right arm to be back there now,
so it was easy to find as soon as we found frigiliana and yes the roads are rather windy but good concentration and a steady pace and there should be no problems.
we arrived at the hotel at around 11pm to be met by a very friendly male waiter, who was chatty and witty- great start, he showed us to our suite which was a snail shaped bungalow and we were instantly over the moon before we even stepped inside... our shell was away from the others and right by the pool so nice and private which we loved, it was dark when we arrived so we were given a torch to use to get to and from our room.
upon entering the room we were met by a fantastic smell of incence, the decor was brilliant, such a cosy romantic room! there was a tv and dvd player, a sofa, coffee table, little fridge, the bedroom had a double bed with mosquito net, large wardrobe full length mirror, and dressing table! the bathroom was soo cosy too with a huge bath big enough for two and a hairdryer and gorgeous basin.
the hotel was so quiet and peaceful perfect place for relaxation with amazing views :D
we ate at the resturant, highly recomend the steak, best steak iv ever had and only around 20euros for sirloin.
AMAZING BREAK! GET ME BACK THERE NOW!!!!

Room Tip: bungalow number 101 to be away from the others more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SOPHIEXKITTEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Location is lovely high up in the hills overlooking Nerja, however when we arrived we were told that the room we had booked and paid for in full would only be avalible for half our stay and we would then need to change rooms (we had booked one of the Snails) to one of the normal rooms which was a huge huge disspointment, staff to begin with were very unfreindly and didnt seem to care about the problem with the room and we had to ask for the a refund as they didnt even offer this though eventully they did offer us a free of charge meal, the resturant and food were excellent.

The snails are nice though a little tired, no pool to speak of when we were there as it was empty.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clarkeegriswold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goole
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

Beautiful place in the hills ahove frigiliana. Very unique. We went for a meal here, although did not stay at the Hotel. The food was lovely - very succulent steak. The waiter was so helpful and friendly. He even brought our shawls forth daughter and I in case we got cold later on in the evening. A place that you really must visit !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deboraheck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frigiliana
2.1 mi away
Hospederia el Caravansar
Hospederia el Caravansar
#3 of 4 in Frigiliana
31 reviews
2.1 mi away
Apartamentos Rosamarina
Apartamentos Rosamarina
#2 of 4 in Frigiliana
51 reviews
5.1 mi away
Iberostar Malaga Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#6 of 37 in Nerja
163 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Frigiliana
Hotel Villa Frigiliana
#3 of 7 in Frigiliana
196 reviews
3.3 mi away
Rural Hotel Almazara
Rural Hotel Almazara
#1 of 7 in Frigiliana
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Caracoles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Caracoles

Property: Hotel Los Caracoles
Address: Carretera Frigiliana Km 4,6, 29788 Frigiliana, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Frigiliana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Frigiliana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Los Caracoles 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Los Caracoles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing