We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gem of a property in Frigiliana”
other travellers have booked this property
Master Bedroom with Private Balcony and Ensuite
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Master Bedroom with Private Balcony and Ensuite
Ensuite with bath, shower, wc and bidet Large Communal Pool with sunbathing area, sun loungers, indoor and outdoor showers
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
Master Bedroom with Private Balcony and Ensuite
Ensuite with bath, shower, wc and bidet
Large Communal Pool with sunbathing area, sun loungers, indoor and outdoor showers
2nd Double Bedroom with sea views
Lounge
Lounge leading to Sun Terrace with sea views
Relax on the Sun Terrace
Beautiful views across the countryside to the ocean
Main Entrance Hallway leading to Kitchen and Dining area
Dining area
Dining table and six chairs
Fully equipped kitchen
Fully equipped kitchen includes washing machine, oven, hob, microwave, fridge
Fully equipped kitchen
Hallway leading to 2 double bedrooms and separate shower room
Separate Shower room
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom in the evening
Dining option on the Sun Terrace with sea views
Country and sea views
Frigiliana Village
Visit the Happy Mantra for your Holiday!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Frigiliana, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CiaoVenic...
Venice
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gem of a property in Frigiliana”
Reviewed 3 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017
3
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from staying at this super accommodation and do not recognise the review posted immediately below.
Our experience has been very different from the moment we were greeted by our hosts, Sharon & Debbie; they showed us around, gave us tips and advice about local amenities and were on hand to answer any questions.
The apartment itself is beautifully appointed and we can’t understand why anyone would think otherwise; the furniture, lighting and decorative artwork are all in excess of the ‘norm’ and contribute to a homely and relaxed ambience.
The swimming pool is a well-kept private facility, a short 50 metre walk away. It is a good size with sunbeds provided; suitable cushions and parasols are stored in the apartment – an added consideration for guests. From our own experience, and that of the other users of the pool, there was no evidence of the issues raised in the previous review.
We agree that parking can be hit and miss but, given that it is free and in such a beautiful location, we are not surprised it can be at a premium in peak times; it is nothing that a little patience and maybe a short walk cannot rectify.
Some street noise does exist but given that we are in the heart of a vibrant village community it is not intolerable. Also, this has to be balanced against the stunning views from the balcony / bedrooms so we thought some isolated ‘noise’ was a price worth paying.
I would urge people to look beyond the last review and take note of the others posted here; these demonstrate that by far the majority of visitors rate this property very highly and, in our opinion, rightly so.
Thank you both for a wonderful stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2017
Dear Amanda & Geoff,

Firstly, thank you both so much for taking the time to provide a considered, accurate, honest and very positive review, as this really does assist our future potential guests by giving a TRUE reflection of our apartment, which, incidentally, matches the numerous comments in both the Guest Book and many other online reviews. We also thank you for your unbiased opinion of the location and high quality furnishings within the apartment, it's beautiful sea views and the wonderful and very clean communal pool and sunbathing area.

It was a real pleasure to meet you both and we are so pleased that you enjoyed everything the apartment has to offer, so much so, that you have already placed a reservation for your holiday, at the same apartment, next year. Thank you!!!

We very much look forward to seeing you both again next year, and we would always welcome you both at our properties in the future!

Our very best wishes & thanks
Debbie & Sharon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morten L
København, Danmark
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Avoid this: noise, taggy and dead worms”
Reviewed 30 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

The impersonal apartment is located right on a noisy highway, making it impossible to use the tiny terrace during the day.

Avoid this place if you dream of peace and quiet and beautiful views, like many places offer in Frigiliana.

We have been here regularly over the past 15 years and this is by far the worst place we have stayed.

Due to traffic noise from the road just outside the windows, and the apartment's interior, it is certainly not a good place for families with children.

The place, in no way, lives up to the 'luxuries' that the owner promises!

Instead, the apartment appears with its cheap furniture deciderably tacky and impersonal. The 'finest' were bought in IKEA...Sometimes there was a slight smell of sewage in the hall.

The price is thus far too high compared to what else you can get in Frigiliana.

The swimming pool is located in a building a piece away from the apartment.

You have to go out on the road to get there. The pool is not heated and is therefore cold. Worst of all: The pool had obviously not been cleaned for a long time and it flooded with large insects and dead worms in the water! We tried to clean it ourselves. But the net used for cleaning was (also) broken.

In short, the pool was useless.

It is extremely difficult to find parking near the apartment as the local sports center is directly opposite and also gives even more noise.

Never rent this place. There are plenty of other options in Frigiliana.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2017
Dear Morten & Liz,

We view all constructive feedback as a "gift" as it assists the business owner enormously when making improvements.

Thank you for making the time to review the apartment which you both complimented very positively upon your arrival at 02.20am on the morning after your scheduled arrival date.

We understand that you were clearly furious at having to meet our clearly advertised Late Arrival Fee (we charged you 30 euros when we met the following day) but we did not at all understand, nor welcome, your extreme level of physical and verbal aggression, when we politely and professionally brought to your attention the three areas of unreported (and also photographed) damage caused in the apartment during your stay, on your day of departure when we performed the Check Out.

The broken window blind, the cigarette burns in the two sofa cushions (please be reminded that this is a non smoking apartment) and the numerous samples of human nasal excrement we found on the bedroom furniture and bed linen, each required our immediate attention at cost for item replacements and thorough cleaning of and redecoration (repainting) of the bedroom furniture.

Despite your wife offering to clean the bedroom furniture when we brought the particularly unpleasant issue to your attention, this was an extremely unwelcome issue for us to find and task for us to completely remedy, particularly as we supply both kitchen roll tissue and plenty of toilet rolls in the apartment.

We expected a calm, professional discussion about the reasonable costs to remediate the damage. Unfortunately, your extremely negative reaction to the damage and your very aggressive stance and constant loud expletives left us with no option but to firstly request that you please leave the apartment (we were concerned that you may cause further damage) and then, as you remained shouting in the hallway (as witnessed by our neighbours) we called Law Enforcement for our own safety/security purposes.

Whilst your parents, living at the top of the village, had offered to collect the keys at 15.30pm on your scheduled day of arrival, when we met with them, they wrapped the keys in kitchen towel and, following our polite enquiry as to why, they advised that they "were going to find somewhere outside of the apartment building to hide them for you to collect upon your very late arrival in the early hours of the next morning". We were not able to agree to this plan for obvious security reasons and we emailed you to advise that we would meet you upon your arrival, ensuring that you would not have any concerns regarding your immediate access to the apartment.

We ourselves used the large communal pool every day during your stay and experienced a very clean pool (it is cleaned, maintained and secured each day by staff employed directly by the Development) therefore we do not recognise your comments, nor have we ever received such feedback in the past. However, if you have any photos of such issues, please do send these to us without delay as we would welcome them, for escalation purposes. If indeed you had witnessed such issues with the pool and informed us during your stay we would have been in a position to respond immediately.

We also do not understand your comment regarding smells in the hallway as there are none, and ourselves and our lovely neighbours would certainly have addressed such an issue had it been present!

The apartment advertisement clearly advises that the apartment is situated within the village and not in the campo (Spanish countryside). As Frigiliana is a local working village, some noise from the local roads are to be expected, as you will appreciate during your previous visits to your parents.

The apartment was completely refurbished upon purchase and there is one small white table on the main terrace and some kitchen utensils and cups indeed purchased at the well known and successful Scandinavian retailer you mentioned, however, almost every other item within the apartment, with the exception of the two double beds, was carefully selected in the well known Spanish Department Store or purchased and shipped from London stores therefore we do not recognise your comments to the contrary.

We constantly review our pricing to ensure it reflects competively, based on the quality furnishings within the apartment, the convenient walking distance location to restaurants, shops and bars, the large communal pool located one minutes' walk from the apartment, the unlimited free wifi and the considerable range of tv channels including all Sky Sports, designed to suit all our guests' requirements.

We also met you in the hallway during your stay and on your morning of departure (prior to our identifying the damage caused but not reported by yourselves) and you did not mention any such issues as stated in your review, when we asked if all was well, you replied very positively in all respects. Therefore we are assured that, as per your parting comment that you would "destroy our business via a bad review" it was no surprise that you provided such a poor review.

We have been very fortunate during the past three years to have welcomed wonderful guests, many of whom return year on year and recommend to their families and colleagues, as they repeatedly comment that the apartment is "one of the best they have seen in Frigiliana" and that "the photos don't do it justice".

Unfortunately, we are sorry to advise that this is the first time we would not be able to recommend yourselves as past guests, under any circumstances, as guests in the future, not simply for our apartment, but to any holiday rental owner.

Kind Regards
HCT Rentals
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol T
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Remarkable, home from home apartment”
Reviewed 10 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Friendly welcome with a cool drink after a long hot day of travelling. Welcome pack to greet us so we didn't have to shop until the next day. Marvellous! Very comfortable with everything thought of - a real home from home. Owners helpful and knowledgeable of local amenities, etc and have thought of everything a visitor could possibly require. Lots of ambience and history in the beautiful white historic village - highly recommended and would look to stay again in the future. Location good and central for access to village. Pool lovely and nearby. A great choice of restaurants to choose from and would recommend El Mirador for views and great food. Hosts very welcoming and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommended :-)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2017
Hi Carol,
Many thanks for your lovely positive review of our apartment in Frigiliana. We are pleased that you enjoyed the complimentary refreshments on your arrival and that you enjoyed all that the apartment and the large communal pool have to offer. We agree with your comments about the variety of restaurants and bars within walking distance as the apartment is conveniently close to all amenities. El Mirador is a wonderful choice for fine dining with fabulous views to the ocean!

We very much look forward to welcoming you both to the apartment in 2018!

With very best wishes & thanks!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richardhu...
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So comfortable, the pictures don't do it justice”
Reviewed 1 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017
3
people found this review helpful

Ideal location, only minutes walk from anywhere in Frigiliana, Loved that it was only 13 steps up from the road, made access so much easier.
Nothing was missing from the apartment , it had everything you might want, even a hair dryer.
The owners were very welcoming, showed us everything that we needed, information of shops, restaurants and bars, left us with a welcome pack which was very kind, didn't need to go to the shop for the first day.
Will be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Feb 2017
Hi Richard & Mary,

Many thanks for your lovely review and also for your wonderful comments in our Guest Book! It was a pleasure to meet you both and we are so pleased that you enjoyed yourselves so much during your recent stay in the Frigiliana apartment! We look forward to seeing you both again soon! Take Care.

Best Wishes & Thanks!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidlandsM...
Doha, Qatar
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Fab! Stay here!”
Reviewed 22 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I would not write anything but positive things about this apartment. It was perfect!
The apartment was spacious, well fitted and well furnished; the pictures didn't do it justice. The view from both balconies were beautiful.
Access to the shared pool was a short walk away. It had sun beds and was all very nice.
The location was central to frigliana and you only had to walk up more steps to be nestled in the beautiful streets of the old town.
The owner was quick to get in touch and we had no issues with correspondence.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2016
Hi Rebecca

Many thanks fir your review, we are glad that you had a wonderful stay.
Hope to see you again sometime.

Regards
Debbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrankDubl...
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location, if a bit noisy.”
Reviewed 1 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Apartment is great, airy and comfortable, although the balcony is noisy being just above the street. The pool is only a short walk away, along the street. The location is special, great view and so close to so many fabulous restaurants.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2016
Dear Frank,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review as our 'first guest' booking via the Trip Advisor site.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and particularly the beautiful sea views and the very convenient location of the apartment, within a short walking distance to all amenities and the large communal swimming pool!

We were also pleased to be able to accommodate your special request for an 8 hour later check out on your day of departure, at no extra cost, as our next guests were not due to arrive until the following day.

The apartment is located in the heart of the Frigiliana Village therefore, as in all Spanish villages, the normal (by no means excessive!) noise levels of the local villagers going about their daily life would be expected. We carefully selected and fully refurbished this delightful, spacious luxury apartment in mid 2015 with easy access to all amenities in mind, rather than the less accessible and quieter properties located in the Spanish 'Campo' (countryside), as we identified with the needs of holiday makers across the spectrum (e.g. couples or families of all ages) being able to enjoy the local amenities of the village within walking distance (and no steep hills to climb!) and with the ideally located parking adjacent to the property.

We do hope you enjoyed the complimentary bottle of Cava and other refreshments we provide for all our guests, upon your arrival! We thank you once again for choosing our apartment for your holiday and hope to welcome you both back in the future!

Best Wishes & Kind Regards
HCT Rentals
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing