We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find!!!”
Review of Finca la Serenidad

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bedar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Finca la Serenidad
Ranked #2 of 2 Bedar B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Set in a breathtaking valley just outside Bedar you'll find Jane&Terry's beautifull villa with B&B/appartment. Tranquility, privacy, very comfortable, good beds, spotless rooms and bathrooms, beautifull private outside terrace and last but not least; Jane's outstanding cooking. She puts hearth and sould in a variety of 'mundial' dishes. Don't miss it! We spend two weeks last January and have allready booked our next holiday. We advise you yo do the same!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnevanDeudekom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (12)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

Jane and Terry and the dogs were fantastic hosts. Very attentive, warm and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The location was so serene and tranquil. Fantastic breakfasts with home made jams and even were treated to home made cake. They went above and beyond. We enjoyed self catering in the evening using the summer kitchen as had a young family but Jane is a fantastic cook (experienced first hand) so eating with them is and option and would be recommended. The pool was perfect relief for the hot Spanish sunshine, and nearby towns great views down to the Mediterranean.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We (two adults and our teenage son) stayed at Finca la Serenidad for 3 nights this july and we enjoyed every minute of our stay.
The silence, the beauty of the nature and garden incl. the perfect pool + the warm way we were treated by the very kind hosts and their adorable dogs made a big impression and was just what we needed after a long drive and some hectic days of amongst other things visiting Alhambra and a couple of beautiful but crowded beaches.
We would very much like to return again soon to make Finca la Serenidad the perfect tranquile base for trips to Cabo De Gata Natural Park, Mojacar, hiking the exciting mineroutes etc. - there are lots of things to do and experience and after a buisy day do a retreat to this quiet, harmonic place.
The rooms are extremely clean and very high standard. The outdoor-cooking place has everything needed and even more:). And I have never cooked in a place with a better view! :)

NB: I you are afraid of driving in the mountains, this might not be the place for you.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilynge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Others have highlighted the genuine warmth and friendliness of Jane and Terry and Spooks the magificent dog.

Everything becomes a highlight: from the welcoming dinner, to the home-made breakfast produce (which is added to or changes by the day), to the wonder of seeing so much unspoilt countryside - where it has beeen burnt recently doesn't affect the main aspect looking south from the terraces and pool, which itself is 12+ metres long and almost evenly deep. Finishing with totally darkness at night without so much as a street light to be seen, let alone any cars. Retiring to bed at the end of the day in good bed and bathroom linen can only ever result in a good night's sleeep.

Attenton to detail for guests' comfort and convenience is in evidence everywhere.

Silence here is golden - but added to with the resonance of natural noises from the surounding land - much of it landscaped and magnificently tended by Terry. Aircraft noise is unusual and vapour trails a rarity.

Nearby the attractive white mountain village of Bedar makes few compromises to tourists and locally resident expatriates.

Local restaurants are more than adequate for anyone who isn't looking for 'fine dining' experiences. A car is essential. The ability to walk to a local cafe to while away a few hours with locals isn't a practical option especially when the road access between this serene spot and the real world requires undivided attention.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank normalguy2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We had a wonderful stay with Jane and Terry. The place is juwt perfect; living room, bedroom, bathroom, terras, 2 refrigerators, everything very clean and new. Evening dinner prepared with care and love and served beneath the marvelous (big) pool. The friendly dog was no problem, even for us as not-dog-owners. It's a perfect place to read a book, swim for a while and take a sunbath in a really quiet and peacefull environment. Thanks a lot for the great days we had with you !!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvan188671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Our hosts, Jane and Terry, provided us with a very warm welcome as well as a delicious dinner, prepared with local produce. (Jane also makes seriously good jams and chutneys). The location is delightfully tranquil with extensive mountain views, but is only a few minutes from the local village of Bedar with its restaurants and bars. The renowned Miner’s Walk through the quiet countryside passes their front door.
The bedrooms are spacious with air conditioning and comfortable beds, as well as the facility to prepare simple meals. The pool and the gardens are beautiful and very well-kept. All in all, a delightful place to stay.

Room Tip: Let them know what you want. I am sure they will try to provide it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

A wonderful place to enjoy the hinterland of Spain without being far off the beaten track. The accommodation is exactly as described with everything in immaculate condition, very clean, well-kept and all in full working order. Stunning views of the mountains near and distant.The area is very quiet with only the sounds of nature to break the silence. Evenings on the covered terrace, eating a sumptuous meal whilst watching the sun go down rounded off perfect days before a comfortable night's rest. Plenty of walking opportunities but the lovely pool and terraces are very tempting. The accommodation is to a very high standard, the food is excellent and we had a lovely warm welcome from our hosts. Highly recommended.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Delyth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Finca la Serenidad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca la Serenidad

Address: Paraje el Selvalico | Almeria, 04288 Bedar, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Almeria > Bedar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bedar
Price Range: £49 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca la Serenidad is an oasis of calm in the Sierra de Bedar with views of pine clad hills and the sound of buzzing of bees. The self countained apartment offers two bedrooms/bathrooms, a spacious sitting room and large shady, furnished terrace which includes a well equipped summer kitchen with everything you need for making a simple or not so simple meal. Although we don't cook breakfast we do supply home made breads and jams, butter, tea, coffee, milk etc for you to make your own at leisure. You are welcome to use our 12 metre pool and the surrounding terraces with stunning views at any time. From May to the end of September the minimum stay is one week and at other times 3 nights. The area is a paradise for walkers, particularly in the cooler months and you are welcome to bring your dog and/or to take Spooks on one of his favourite walks. Our pretty local village of Bedar, 2 kms away, has four bars/restaurants, plus a bank, chemist, baker and small supermarket. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing