We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5*? Needs a rethink”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Bobadilla, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Loja
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“5*? Needs a rethink”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

The location is amazing and we had a very peaceful and relaxed couple of days. The wifi works even around the pool, there are some incredible views of the surrounding countryside and they even have a Turtle Lake! BUT this hotel needs to brings itself up to date with the expectations of today's 5* customer. I'm happy to pay premium but I expect good value in return. A few pointers:
1) Don't provide me with a complimentary bottle of water on day one and then expect me to pay from the minibar for the rest of my stay, especially not at €2.50 a mouthful.
2) The buffet breakfast was fantastic but the room service equivalent was not. The eggs were 2* at most and you charged me for them, plus delivery? Learn how to scramble eggs and maybe invest the delivery charge in something to keep them warm.
3) I had a €40 pedicure. I did not expect miracles (and did have an incredibly relaxing experience) but I had hoped that my nails would be better finished than had I done them myself.
4) Don't tell me that a transfer from Antequera to the hotel will cost me €60 (before I arrive) and then when I leave the hotel that it will be €70 plus tax. A captive audience?
5) Welcome your guests! The front desk was lukewarm at best and it would have been really useful to be told about which restaurants and bars were open for lunch and dinner (given most of them were not when we stayed!)
The setting is great and the hotel buildings are beautiful. It may be a bit old skool 5* but the guests were not just pensioners or honeymooners - there was a good mix. I think you just need to understand that (and free wifi is a good example) you leave your customers much happier when we feel we are getting the value that we are paying for.

Room Tip: Ask for a good view as there must be some amazing ones somewhere in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antoniofiorucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bobadillaGranada, General Manager at La Bobadilla, a Royal Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. We will try to contact you personally to talk about all mentioned details.

We hope to see you again in La Bobadilla.

Yours sincerely,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    93
    40
    7
    9
See reviews for
159
343
5
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Loja
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

This hotel was all that we could have wished for - beautiful location, fine dining and all creature comforts. We enjoyed the combination of being away from the city, whilst having easy access for our visits to Granada.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank David I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bobadillaGranada, General Manager at La Bobadilla, a Royal Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. We all wish to welcome you to La Bobadilla again.

Yours sincerely,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouthshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Lovely, peaceful with very helpful attentive staff. suite was beautifully equipped with superb bed and excellent bathroom. Very nice private garden area and covered garden room just for us. Restaurant was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank granny6Monmouthshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bobadillaGranada, General Manager at La Bobadilla, a Royal Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. We all wish to welcome you again to La Bobadilla.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Fabulous hotel. Beautiful room, spacious, immaculately clean, great decor amazing staff but the food is very average and expensive for what it is. Such a shame as its one of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed at, super relaxing but food is not great

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank LuxseekerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bobadillaGranada, General Manager at La Bobadilla, a Royal Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. We all wish you to welcome to La Bobadilla again.

Yours sincerely,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The property is located up, up, up and away from the Costa del Sol. A long drive wends its way by stable and hunting grounds to reach a fabulous Moorish inspired building that houses the main parts of the hotel resort. The rooms are fabulous. Our junior suite was enormous and luxurious in every way: bath, bedding, furnishings, finishes. The views over the Andalusian countryside is alluring, and the generous terrace invited relaxation. The food is great. Breakfast in a modern pavilion is generous, varied and delicious. Dinner on the terrace of the old stable area is fantastic- and the wine list lives up to the menu. Pool is refreshing and pleasant. Not far from Granada or Malaga. We are planning our return visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drapeaued
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bobadillaGranada, General Manager at La Bobadilla, a Royal Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. We all wish to welcome you again to La Bobadilla.

Yours sincerely,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Fourth visit!
Food amazing, service impeccable . Silence and views to die for.
Junior suite one we stayed in last time, nice touch.
True it's not cheap but what expect to pay for 5 star hotel.
Only negative is have stopped poolside bar service. Quick walk to bar and it's sorted but bit annoying.
All in all another lovely relaxing 3 night stay. Be back nxt year!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank legalbegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bobadillaGranada, General Manager at La Bobadilla, a Royal Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you so much for your commments. We all wish you to welcome you again to La Bobadilla.

Yours sincerely,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

When you first see your room you will be blown away. It's lovely there.The service is impeccable. I literally saw someone who works there swoop in to light someone's cigarette.

It sounds like they pipe in bird chirping, but it's real. It just sounds really peaceful. I'm told there are a lot of rabbits on the grounds, too, but I didn't see them.

The views are sweet. Not elaborate, but very pleasant.

We had dinner in the chapel one night. That was different. It was pretty.

I'm American and the food was a little too exotic for me. Watermelon with teriyaki sauce as part of a main course, and spaghetti with soy sauce and veggies, stuff like that. Maybe that's fancy Spanish fusion, but it wasn't my bag.

This is the kind of place that's just going to have to be geographically convenient for you, because it's not very near to anything. It's about 45 minutes to the Malaga airport, so that's cool, but I didn't see anyone from another building during the three days I was there.

I thought they were super classy down to every detail and would highly recommend the place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslied2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bobadillaGranada, General Manager at La Bobadilla, a Royal Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. We will be very happy to welcome you to La Bobadilla again.

Yours sincerely,

GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loja
6.8 mi away
Hotel Caserio de Iznajar
6.7 mi away
Hotel Rural Llano Pina
20.5 mi away
Hotel Convento de la Magdalena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Parador de Antequera
Parador de Antequera
#1 of 15 in Antequera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Almazara
Hotel Almazara
#4 of 6 in Loja
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
18.5 mi away
Hotel Antequera
Hotel Antequera
#2 of 15 in Antequera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Bobadilla, a Royal Hideaway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bobadilla, a Royal Hideaway Hotel

Property: La Bobadilla, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Address: Agregado Ventas Salinas Km. 65.5 | Finca La Bobadilla, 18300 Loja, Spain (Formerly Barcelo La Bobadilla)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Loja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Loja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — La Bobadilla, a Royal Hideaway Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Barcelo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Bobadilla, a Royal Hideaway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo La Bobadilla Hotel Loja
Barcelo Hotel La Bobadilla
Barcelo Hotel Loja
La Bobadilla, a Royal Hideaway Hotel Spain/Loja, Andalucia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing