We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very special place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Joya de Cabo de Gata

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Joya de Cabo de Gata
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A very special place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

I stayed for three nights in this magical place; it is the realized vision of Charo - a one-time impressario in the Madrid entertainment scene who decided to say goodbye to that life and build this place in beautiful Agua Amarga. The setting is incredible - set in a few acres within the a protected park, you feel privileged to be there. The property is dotted with houses which provide enough privacy for guests while enjoying the grand views of the desert. (The infinity pool overlooks a desert valley floor where shepherds and their flock pass by - very cool and charming.)

It is not for those who want to stay in a generic five-star hotel. It is for those seeking a special experience in an idyllic setting. The Almeria region (especially this part within the nature reserve) is thankfully devoid of crass commercialism. Quaint fishing villages and beaches with restaurants and (quiet) bars are just minutes away for day trips.

Most highly recommended. Thank you Charo (the most interesting and lovely person anyone could meet).

Alan

Room Tip: There are different houses to suit different needs so be sure to check each one. I stayed in a small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadtoad2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Summer 2012, family trip to Almeria. As a family of 4 plus my boyfriend we rented Cala Enmedio at La Joya de Cabo de Gata. They charged us for the 5th person an insane amount of money and the worst thing is that my father slept in the sofa!!!!!! The house was only 2 bedroom plus a bathroom. The price was ridiculous for what they offered to us. Yes... peace, tranquility but nothing extraordinary. The only thing that I really liked is the amazing pool...
I wont come back Charo, thats for sure.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MeryAcevedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

After a horrible, wet and dismal summer.......that sort that England does so well......we felt that a pick-me-up was called for. We thought long and hard about where to go. We needed peace, tranquillity, sunshine, beaches, nature and simplicity, and somewhere kind of special to stay. We chose Andalucia and the wonderful Parque Natural de Cabo de Gata, we know it and we love it. And, where else to stay other than La Joya de Cabo de Gata (Charo's Houses). Readers of my earlier review will understand that this is a very special place. I can now testify to the fact that it gets better (even after 11 years). Charo's garden goes from strength to strength as she adds more artistic flourishes. This is a place of unparalleled happiness. If ever you feel down, depressed, a little fed up with the grind of everyday life......or even the weather.....the solution is at hand. Of course, you don't need to be all or any of down , depressed or fed up. You can go whenever you like. I promise Tripadvisor not to write about La Joya de Cabo de Gata ever again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rowland H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

Our first visit to La Joya was some ten or eleven years ago. We had no idea that this wonderful place was to become such an important part of our lives. Since that fateful and hugely happy fiest visit we have returned many, many times with family and friends. We have booked all of the 4 properties to celebrate notable wedding anniversaries and birthdays and our kids have even revised for their exams whilst enjoying the extreme serenity which pervades every nook and cranny of this nirvana. From the back door there is a walk across a couple of "campos" and then it's along a sandy track to two glorious calas where the water is crystal clear and the sand sparkles. Agua Amarga, the village is simple and warmly welcoming. We have watched Charo's (the owner) garden develop over the years into what is a veritable work of art. She has managed to compliment the semi desert landscape with imaginative planting and building. Our first visit was for but a few days...our minimum stay is four weeks, testament enough of our love for this place. Sorry to have written so much.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowland H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedella
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

We spent three nights at La Joya from 2nd until 4th March. From the moment we arrived we knew we had found a very special place. Charo the owner was very helpful and let it be known that she was available to help anytime. After that we were left in total privacy. The accomodation was very good with under floor heating. We stayed in the one bedroom casa la abuela. There are three letting houses/apartments plus a beautiful Moroccan tent set in 2 1/2 acres of land. A hot tub is available 24/7. This is perfect. I would highly recommend La Joya to anyone. The surrounding area is beautiful and mostly unspoilt.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 942sunnysedella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agua Amarga
0.9 mi away
La Almendra y El Gitano
La Almendra y El Gitano
#1 of 3 in Agua Amarga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel El Tio Kiko
Hotel El Tio Kiko
#2 of 3 in Agua Amarga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Senderos
Hotel Senderos
#3 of 3 in Agua Amarga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hotel Cala Grande
Hotel Cala Grande
#1 of 2 in Las Negras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hotel de Naturaleza Rodalquilar Spa Cabo de Gata
0.8 mi away
Real Agua Amarga La Joya
Real Agua Amarga La Joya
#1 of 6 in Agua Amarga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Joya de Cabo de Gata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Joya de Cabo de Gata

Property: La Joya de Cabo de Gata
Address: Paraje La Joya, 04149 Agua Amarga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Almeria > Agua Amarga
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Agua Amarga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A SENSUAL TREAT“LA JOYA DE CABO DE GATA” is a farm with two adjacent farmhouses and a “Haymah” (A Bedouin Tent): the best possible accommodation with all the charm of the village of Agua Amarga which is in the Conservation Area known as Cabo de Gata. This excellent accommodation offers the quality of service of a hotel along with all the warmth and charm of the best Country Cottage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your La Joya de Cabo de Gata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Joya De Cabo De Gata Agua Amarga, Spain - Almeria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing