We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Hotel El Tio Kiko

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel El Tio Kiko
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Agua Amarga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This hotel had excellent customer service, excellent breakfast, and clean and very comfortable rooms. It was one of my favorite hotels in all of Spain. I especially loved the balcony and large bathtub.

Room Tip: The room we stayed in (that didn't have a sea view) was still stunning and you could partially s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 893annew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

Not much to say about this hotel beyond "stay here"! The staff are friendly, helpful and efficient, the hotel and rooms are of a very high standard, and the whole experience of staying here was incredibly relaxed and easy. We had a room that was not designated as 'sea view', but we could certainly see the sea from our balcony. The breakfast was extensive, showcasing some fantastic food, in particular the carrot cake and freshly squeezed orange juice. The coffee is also great! (Go for coffee solo). As for location, the hotel is just far enough away to walk off a good dinner in town, but not so far that it is a chore to walk anywhere. I agree with an earlier review; this hotel is certainly 4*, if not 5* quality, but at a reasonable price. Would I stay here again? Yes! Without a shadow of a doubt.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wes_fras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Spent 4 days at El Tio Kiko and it is certainly a comfortable hotel equipped to a high standard. We liked the location, the beach, the pool and the spa bath. We weren’t happy with the sea view which should be described as partial and distant. It also appeared to be understaffed. To have aspirations of being a 5 star as described in reviews below it needs to start by looking at the small items such as fridge/water in the room.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dodgykipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Friendly and stylish hotel, excellent breakfasts with delicious orange juice and fresh fruit and small cooked dishes. Very quiet as out of season and no lunches or dinners but there are very good tapas bars and restaurants in and around the village. The hotel pool is fine for lazing around, town beach is wide and flat and a few minutes walk down hill, but best is Cala de Enmedio, about 40 mins fairly easy walk down the coast and accessible only on foot or by boat. Beautifully quiet and clean. Only gripe was that the pool is rather overchlorinated, but everything else was superb - better than its 3 stars suggest.

Room Tip: Sea views from the top floor are excellent, lower floors have more direct access to the pool. Ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fifer1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

This hotel is without a doubt more than 3 stars. Very personal and warm welcome. Large, spacious room with balcony with (partial) view of the sea. Bathroom with jacuzzi. Unfortunately no towels by the pool. Breakfast is served at the table and is sufficient. About 10 minutes walking distance from a sandy beach.
This hotel is located in a very small village that mainly consists of holiday homes/second homes nearby parque Cabo de Gata.. Not really something for a family with children. Rather ideal for a honeymoon trip or just for a few days away for two. Various hiking trails in the area. After a few days we felt we had seen it all. Of intrest are small cities nearby such as San Jose and Cabo Gata.
Unfortunately this hotel does not serve lunches or dinners. And restaurants nearby are limited. The best restaurant in the neighbourhood is located just outside the village on the road to Carboneres. Also the restaurant in the middle of the beach was good. We would not recommend (seen from the hotel) the last restaurant on the beach.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hansvink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We had a very pleasant 3 night stay at this lovely contemporary hotel. Our room was spotless with a view overlooking the pool and sea. It had a spa bathroom with lush white fluffy towels and designer toiletries. Breakfast for us was lovely and beautifully presented. Not a "free for all" or buffet in sight! Pool was warm. Our host was impeccable and unobtrusive. If it is a "get away from it all" break you are after then this is the place to go. Fantastic walks and scenery. I would say a car is necessary. Only thing missing for us was a fridge and tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

The three star rating is deceptive - this is a 5 star experience. Amazing views across the Mediterranean from rooms that are beautifully appointed, right down to the Bulgari toiletries.

Breakfast was absolute perfection - fresh fruit, toasted ciabatta, coddled eggs, miniature pastries, fabulous coffee (best coffee we had in Spain).

Delightful host, so obviously proud of his property. We were there out of season, so only one or two other couples staying - but we'd bet that the personalised attention is there even when it's busy. Perfect place for a romantic weekend away, but the village also offers much for the entertainment of families.

One night was definitely not enough - we will be back.

Room Tip: Best rooms are on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AHD68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agua Amarga
0.3 mi away
Hotel Senderos
Hotel Senderos
#3 of 3 in Agua Amarga
104 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Almendra y El Gitano
La Almendra y El Gitano
#2 of 3 in Agua Amarga
274 reviews
15.4 mi away
Hotel Boutique Mc San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hotel Spa Calagrande
Hotel Spa Calagrande
#1 of 2 in Las Negras
552 reviews
14.6 mi away
Parador de Mojacar
Parador de Mojacar
#1 of 24 in Mojacar
817 reviews
22.4 mi away
Barcelo Cabo de Gata
Barcelo Cabo de Gata
#1 of 4 in El Toyo
2,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Tio Kiko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Tio Kiko

Address: Calle Embarque 12, 04149 Agua Amarga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Almeria > Agua Amarga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Agua Amarga
Price Range: £107 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Tio Kiko 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel El Tio Kiko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Tio Kiko Hotel
Hotel El Tio Kiko Agua Amarga, Spain - Almeria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing